We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, high prices compared to value”
Review of Cafe Noir - CLOSED

Cafe Noir
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Restaurant and vinoteque Café Noir is open to everyone to come and enjoy a cozy atmosphere, pleasant service, and savoury dishes and drinks. To guarantee a pleasant visit, we recommend to book a table if you want to come in the evening.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
288 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, high prices compared to value”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Considering the price list some work should be done on quality and food serving. We had lamb fillet which is not so often on Estonian restaurant menus and ten points for that! But fillet was not well cleaned off tissues, so hard to enjoy the dish. Wine sauce was on the plate surrounding mashed potatoes, so complicated to get sauce on the meat without porridge. But sauce tasted well. Only 2 red wines available by cup, should have wider selection. Pavlova was too wet, hard to eat by cake fork or spoon. Good ideas but weak execution. Service was very nice!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The daily menu may be nice, at least it is differ from standard Estonian lunch. But... there is no English menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gadi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Went there with high hopes because I had read some great reviews, but I was quite disappointed with the food. Service was nice though and the place is lounge-type and relaxed.

Starter bruschettas were fine but nothing special. For mains we had veel filee and minced lamb. Veel had burned veggies with it, but filee was very nice though. Lamb was quite raw. For dessert we had creme brulee (which I think had waited for someone to order it quite some time) and apple crumble (apples could have been cooked more).

Helpful?
Thank ruikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner at Noir”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The cafe was recommended by a local citizen and we must admit we really enjoyed our evening there. Nice small restaurant with good service and delicious food. I had the rabbit in red wine sauce at a price of 9.20 Euro my husband tried the salmon with vegetables in a very tasty mustard sauce at a price of 9.30 Euro to that a bottle of French rose wine at a price of 19 Euro. We couldn't resist trying the dessert...warm apple crumble with ice cream -wow the yummiest we have ever had ! The price for it only 3.00 Euro. A memorable experience and we can certainly recommend Cafe Noir

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank winniebjornhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want to eat good light meal without loud music and to noisy people.go to Cafe Noir”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My favorite inTartu.If you want just to eat in good placeand like to talk with your friends,it;s good place to go.Not very spetsial or very trendy,but nice and friendly.Atmosphere is the best in Tartus cold winter evenings.Like you sitting in somebodys living room with nice strangers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Noir also viewed

Tartu, Tartu County
 
Tartu, Tartu County
 
Tartu, Tartu County
Tartu, Tartu County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing