We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with a youth sportsteam”
Review of Aleksandri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aleksandri Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Tartu B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed with a youth sportsteam”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The rooms were clean but on the ground floor very cold. Asked for a heater and the nice receptionist gave me the one she used. The reception area was quite draugty. Breakfast was served on the top floor, very hard to find. Selection not so good and the boiled eggs were all raw. The hotel was fully booked with other sportsteams and the bowls were mostly empty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taivo N, Manager at Aleksandri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2015
Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We appreciate your feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Tartu and Alexandri hotel, rooms were clean and staff quite friendly and helpful (they helped us to get the train tickets, and packed a nice breakfast pack even though we left before official breakfast started). One big annoyance - bar next to hotel entrance was blasting "music" until late into the night. At least they could offer some free earplugs like hotels in Tallinn center!

Room Tip: Request something away from the street and the bar, or plan to use earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed here when at a conference in the city centre, and it is not far to walk to the main part of the town. The room was nice, with a fridge, microwave and kitchen-type sink. The bed was comfortable. One negative thing is that the shower is a bit awkward, and controlled by the sink taps. It was one of those where the bathroom floor is the shower base, so after you have used it the floor is wet. There was no air conditioning, but a great ceiling fan! The price is good, and I got a discount, so I was pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed in the beginning of June with a small kid one night Room was clean, large enough and the stuff was very friendly. We took the room on the first floor cause of the kid so the view from the window wasn't quite good, some garage or something. But should be ok from upper floors. We got a nice bed for the kid.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor if you prefer a better view form the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very kind service. There was umbrellas for us in a rainy day. Adjoining restaurants worth visiting too. Walk to old town takes about 15 minutes, and taxi costs under 4 euros. Brakfast is a bit expensive, do not expect finnish style breakfast buffet

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We went to Tartu in August, with temperatures between 30C and 35C. There was no air conditioning in the room and only one window in the ceiling. Moreover, to open the window more than a small bit, we would have to detach part of the mosquito net (and there were a lot of mosquitos in the area).

The second problem was that the bathroom was tiny and there was no shower curtain. If one of us took a shower, the floor would be wet all around the bathroom. The third issue was noise from a nearby bar/club.

On the positive side, the location was quite good and we did not have any problems dealing with receptionist or other hotel staff. The room was reasonably nice, too.

Due to the lack of air conditioning and mosquitos, this has been our worst hotel experience in recent years. In more reasonable weather, this might be an average budget hotel. In a hot weather, I strongly recommend avoiding it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tartu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2007

I attended an academic conference at the University of Tartu, and my wife was traveling with me, so we decided to stay at the Aleksandri Guesthouse. The arrangements were all handled very well, and our room was ready when we arrived, even though we came in quite late. All the staff was very helpful, and spoke excellent English. The room was compact but fine except that the shower upstairs was leaking down through the wall, soaking the carpet in part of our room (215). The next day, we were moved to another room (108), but here neither the television nor the phone was working. Also, there is a bar attached to the hotel, and when they close about 1:30 am, the patrons hang out in front (just outside the windows) being loud like drunk people are and listening to car stereos and waiting for taxis. Other evenings, we could hear the thump of the dance music in the bar in our room. If I go to Tartu again, I think I will either pay a bit more for a better hotel in the town centre or save some money and go with a hostel.

  • Liked — helpful staff (and wife liked the spa)
  • Disliked — stuff that didn't work & a noisy bar
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Tartu
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barclay Hotell
Barclay Hotell
#14 of 21 in Tartu
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Starest
Starest
#12 of 21 in Tartu
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#6 of 21 in Tartu
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antonius Hotel
Antonius Hotel
#2 of 21 in Tartu
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Aleksandri Hotel

Property: Aleksandri Hotel
Address: Aleksandri 42, Tartu 51004, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aleksandri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aleksandri Hotel is located in the centre of Tartu, close to the Emajogi River and just a short walk from the old town and the shopping centres. Built in 1880 and turned into a hotel in 2002, the Aleksandri offers free wireless internet access and free use of internet-connected computers in the lobby. There are free guarded parking spaces. The hotel features an a la carte restaurant, a beauty and health centre with infrared saunas and a solarium, and a room for people with allergies. Guests can enjoy live music in the hotel pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Aleksandri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing