We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and spa by the river.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good hotel and spa by the river.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Clean and nice hotel at Tartu. Little small but ok rooms. Breakfast was good and ok. From hotel some walking to the old city (10min) Hotel got spa.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangsomset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    155
    71
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
59
20
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The hotel is very close to a shopping mall/cinema and a pleasant 5 minute walk from the town hall/square.

My room directly overlooked the bus station and some building works outside the casino next door. I could hear noise from both but did not find it particularly troublesome on the 6th (top) floor. I think I may have felt differently had my room been much lower. I imagine a room with a river view would be quieter and more pleasant.

Although I was travelling on business, they gave me a room with two single beds, I think most people booking a room for single occupancy would prefer a bigger bed rather than two beds. The beds themselves were soft, which was good, but the strange construction bottomed out a bit, which was not so good.

Bathroom was clean but basic.

The hotel was very busy. It seems to be a favourite haunt for coach loads of retirees. This made breakfast something of a trial as it was teeming. The last thing you need when you're trying to grab some food and get to work because it slows you down.

The food at breakfast was okay, not very varied, but fine.

The evening menu is not extensive, but I did think the quality of the food was good. If you didn't have 2 courses you might not be full.

All the staff I spoke to had really good English to the extent that I would have sworn that one waiter/barman was American. He stands out as being particularly helpful - at one point I asked him a question about the cinema and he found me later and gave me a discount voucher for it. There's service for you.

Overall, my stay was fine and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I'd suggest river view, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herenthere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed in Dorpat for two nights on a seminar trip to Tartu. The location is ok, not in the old centre but within an easy walking distance, right next to two shopping centres. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was ok, but if I stayed in Tartu again, I'd choose some other hotel in the old centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. The other side of the hotel has a view to the buss station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna_helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltics
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel decided to renovate its restaurant - generally good idea! But the problem is, that they have moved the breakfast area into the lobby - temporary tables, servers, chairs as in cheap youth-hostel, only for few people. And there is no space for breakfast nor check-in/out: people try somehow to manoeuvre on non-existent ground in order to get some bacon&eggs and then to distress - whether to eat as on stand-up bar or to take the plate into room (to make a self-room-service!). And all this dissarrangement is without warning when You book your room. And without shame they charge a normal room rate. Avoid this hotel if You can - I would not wonder, if next time the management would have a brilliant idea to renovate rooms - and in order not to earn less profit during this period, 4-5 foreign guests will be accommodated in one single room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank railis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Dorpat is located right at the central bus station, the river and close to the Atlantis Night Club, and the rooms are good basic standard.

The major drawback is that the hotel staff is not very hospitable. The spa has an eerie feeling to it, and the service is like having to deal with an ice machine. The receptionists are all young girls, and are not very talkative or appreciative of guest encounters. The same seems to be true of the restaurant, where the dinner service was anti sociable to say the least. The food is okay, however.

Have stayed three times here. On this 3rd occasion the lobby was under renovation and the window of the room was littered with pigeon faeces. The hotel is to be avoided until 11 April 2012 as the lobby area is a construction site, and there is noise all over the hotel, and the restaurant is going to be closed for ten days.

The best about this hotel is its good basic standard rooms and location. However, have had enough of this place, as there is a lack of hospitality, and next time will stay somewere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurre200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed there for 1 night to explore Tartu and location is very good as exactly beside are supermarket, river and old Tartu center are in walking distance; hotel is located some 100 m from Aura keskus (aqua park) and Ahhaa science center.

Hotel looks very new
~ rooms are quite ok and just basic and simply furniture (like IKEA)

Main restaurant at least have other style and have quite cosy interior.
Dinner dishes really like in restaurant and breakfast I could say is very good - salmon and dessert corner my morning was perfect:)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Dorpat Hotell is a good choice for a short stay in Tartu.

The amenities are as follows:

- next to the river and near center of Tartu.
- parking possible in front of the hotel
- rooms are very good and clean
- breakfast very tastefl

The critical point is that is often frequented by bus groups and conferences. Then it is quite impossible to get a seat in the breakfast room. Also, WIFi was only available in the lobby and not in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlecosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.4 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tartu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antonius Hotel
Antonius Hotel
#2 of 21 in Tartu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art hotel Pallas by Tartuhotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
0.1 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: Soola 6, Tartu 51013, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tartu
#3 Family Hotel in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorpat, a hotel complex bearing the old German name for Tartu. Dorpat, the largest hotel in Tartu and Southern Estonia, features a cosy restaurant with an excellent view, a wellness spa and a multifunctional conference and event centre. The hotel is located in the centre of Tartu, in the Emajõe business district, close to Tartu's main attractions - the Aura Centre and the Ahhaa Science Centre. The Old Town, the main building of the University of Tartu, the Vanemuine Theatre and shopping centres are just a short walk away. Although in the heart of Tartu, the hotel is away from the city's hustle and bustle, preserving the peace and privacy of our guests. Many rooms have a view over the city and the Emajõgi River, which most visitors remember Tartu for. Our friendly team is at your assistance and ready to make your stay memorable and exciting no matter whether you are travelling for business or pleasure. We sincerely hope that the hotel's cosy and warm atmosphere will bring you back to us time and again. See you at the Dorpat - an historically desired destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorpat Hotell Tartu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing