We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kolonna Hotel Cesis Latvia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kolonna Hotel Cesis
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cesis
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kolonna Hotel Cesis Latvia”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have stayed there two times. First about a year and half ago it is a lovely building and old style when you enter. It was good. However I stayed there is three months ago and was not very happy. My room was tiny very close to front door, remote for TV held with tape. Overall just not worth the money. Breakfast was good and lots of choices. Staff in dining area no expression, no eye contact, no smile nothing. Reception staff, I experienced three behind the desk and different times all robotic except one who actually smiled. The location is wonderful but I will not stay again. They have a really good beer and food area beside the hotel you can access from the street or inside the hotel. It is worth a visit and relax.

Room Tip: Just hope you dont get the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
37
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were staying on a really gloomy, dark day - that is why the contrast was really nice. We had booked the voucher (bought the room for the discount) and that is why i will not be able to say what is the price if booked for example in booking.com. But clearly the price that we pay'd was adequate quality. Breakfast was very tasty: the choice was from warm and the cold food - eggs, sausages, herring, a variety of cereals, cheeses, salami and so on (definetly best breakfast I've eaten a 3-star hotel).
The room was cozy - definitely not the biggest one, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was wide and had a bath. View through a window was very beautiful - I suggest taking a view of the park (if possible). I do not know exactly what negatives to say, because except for a few small details like - television remote control that is not operating properly and wine bottle opener absence of room. Everything was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I suggest to go across the street there is a small chocolate/sweets shop called "Laima", it had a very kind and lovely seller. Actualy everyone in the town was quite friendly and helpful.
The only thing maybe i can not suggest you is going to the "restaurant". The price for the food was very high and kinda not worth it. We did not try out the "Cafe Popular".
The sauna and the hotel's other facilities we did not try out.
And as I said in my topic - this hotel had the best bed I have ever slept in a hotel. Wonderful!
P.S The Hotel has a Free of charge Parking zone.

Room Tip: Higher floor + View of park - You wont be sorry :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
333 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our average size room had luxious linens and a grand view of the city park and pond with nesting swans. Altough there was a beer garden below, it closed before bed times so didn't create a disturbance. The extensive buffet breakfast was served in an impressive room with views of the park.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Cesis, easily accessible by car, yet peaceful. The building itself looks like a small mansion with a delightful small (public) garden next to the cafe terrace on the rear. The front exterior has clearly been renovated, but the rear exterior was left. Rooms were nice and clean, but without any extra (such as iron and iron table). Breakfast was a good, standard buffet, but nothing extra. Breakfast in a nice dining room or outside on the terrace. Very friendly and attentive service by all staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OsloViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

This hotel is the best accommodation option in my opinion for staying in Cesis. The location is great whether you have travelled to the town by car, or by public transport. It is central to all the attractions and there is a choice of eating out places. The customer service is superb! The friendly, attentive and efficient staff are the hotel's KEY ASSET! And it is spotlessly clean! There is an internet connection by the Reception desk in the hotel's lobby.
However, the rooms are very basic and some are so small that you can only stay there with an absolute minimum of luggage. We upgraded to one of the two existing suites on the top floor of the building and it was roomier, but it wasn't a suite in a conventional sense. Rooms which face the street are rather noisy. There seems to be a great number of young people in Cesis, who start racing in old cars with loud exhausts through the centre of town after midnight showing off to each other. So beware, if you are after a good night's rest, then ask for a room at the back facing the park. Also, we have found that whichever room you stay in there is a problem with the ventilation ducts. Cigarette smoke from a neighbouring room can be enjoyed by the rest of the hotel guests, whether they want it or not. Sound insulation in the rooms is something to be desired too.
Cafe Popular run the hotel's restaurant. In my view - breakfast is simply BAD! If you want a decent start to the morning, go to "Sarunas" - 2 minutes (if that) walk from the hotel - they do excellent food all day long, but for breakfast you will have a choice of omlettes, potato pancakes, normal pancakes and the best coffee in town!
However, on a positive note - cafe Popular offers great service and good choice for an evening meal. You cannot charge meals to the room, but they do accept credit cards (minimum spend applies).
One other downside is that there is no resident's lounge.
We will probably stay again, however while in Cesis in September this year, we had a look around the new hotel, called "Atputa" on Cirulisu iela and it seemed like an alternative to try next time. You do need your own transport though, as it is approx. 5 - 10 minutes drive out of the town centre.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, cigarette smokeand bad breakfasts
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Solveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

Kolonna is a very well-known brand in Latvia. They have the biggest chain of perfume shops, a leading real estate agency and they recently started building a chain of hotels.

I had read good things about the one in Riga and also the first review of their one in Cesis was also very positive. My research showed no other hotels in Cesis were of international quality, so there really was no question as to where we would stay.

I paid Ls42/GBP42/$80 for a double for one night at the height of the season - that's rack rate. In general I thought that it was a fair price for a good quality room in a small town such as Cesis.

The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the heart of the town centre with a beautiful park right behind it.

In general, I was happy enough with the room. The only thing stopping me from giving it a 5* review is that, although the room was very neat, tidy and clean, I found it to be a little generic. It could have been any decent hotel just about anywhere in the world, which is a bit of a shame as both the town, and the hotel itself have a lot of history (the hotel was there for decades if not centuries and was fully refurbished in 2006 from what I understand).

Maybe I'm being picky because my expectations were too high, but the room felt it had been furnished by an accountant rather than a designer. The double bed seemed very small to us (140cm wide - we're used to 180cm). Also the little things were lacking - no extra pillows, no fridge, no aircon (this is understandable considering that in Latvia you only need aircon for about 4 weeks in the year - it just so happened that we stayed there on one of the hot days), plus there were only about 8 channels on the TV.

Although the hotel has been fully refurbished, it appears that they did not upgrade the plumbing as it went from dribble to torrent and back again in a matter of seconds!

Another minor gripe was that the bar stopped serving drinks at 22.00 on a Sunday night, which was rather a surprise.

I don't want to paint too many negatives about the hotel as it was absolutely fine and I hate to think what the other hotels in the town are like. I jut think that it's a shame that there are just a few minor details stopping it from being a truly great hotel.

Still, unless you are on a really tight budget or else you're a masochist who truly wants to experience post-Soviet provincial hotels, the Kolonna is really the only place to consider in Cesis.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — A bit predictable, lack of originality
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank angli4anin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

I recently visited CESIS in Latvia about an hour from Riga to see a big mountain bike race.

We stayed in the Hotel Kolonna in CESIS and it was great value.

Hotel was refurbished to a high standard about a year ago, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. I was given a room on the street but had no problem with noise.

There is a large elegant restaurant overlooking a garden and Park.
Meals were of a high Standard.
A shared computer in the foyer is available for Internet acces at a very reason small charge.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull and despite some arrivals in our group late in the evening went out of their way to ensure they did not miss out on a good meal

Cesis has a great medieval Castle complex and old buildings. Its also a great base for some mountain biking in perfect forest conditions.

Mountain biking in Latvia is a growing sport attracting larger crowds and more competitors. The day of the race their were around 2000 entrants, not all were in professional teams, many took part in the Hobby class which does a shortened less challenging part of the route

  • Liked — Quality accomodation at a reasonable price in an interesting area
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Russelluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cesis
5.6 mi away
Karlamuiza Country Hotel
19.2 mi away
Hotel Sigulda
Hotel Sigulda
#1 of 10 in Sigulda
157 reviews
23.2 mi away
Birini Castle
Birini Castle
#1 of 2 in Birini
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Atputa Hotel
Atputa Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cesis
15 reviews
19.3 mi away
Livonija
Livonija
#2 of 10 in Sigulda
49 reviews
20.6 mi away
Dikli Palace Hotel
Dikli Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dikli
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolonna Hotel Cesis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolonna Hotel Cesis

Property: Kolonna Hotel Cesis
Address: Vienibas Sqr. 1, Cesis 4101, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Vidzeme Region > Cesis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cesis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kolonna Hotel Cesis 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cesis is one of the most beautiful towns in Latvia with an ancient history and traditions. It has a unique combination of gardens and parks, historical buildings, narrow roadways, wooden houses and lovely squares. Kolonna Hotel Cesis is situated in the very centre of the town, near the city park. The historical scenery of the town is adorned by the Castle of the Livonian Order (1206), Cesis New Castle and St. John’s Church (1284). This hotel was built 1938 and its first name was Tervete. Later it was renamed Hotel Cesis. In December 2005, the hotel became a member of the Kolonna Hotels Group. Kolonna Hotels Cesis offers 40 rooms and can accommodate up to 77 guests. For the guests comfort, hotel offers cozy and comfortable sauna and solarium. The hotel accepts payment in Latvian lats, major local and international Credit Cards: Euro Card/ Master Card, American Express, Visa Card, Visa Electron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kolonna Hotel Cesis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing