We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolonna Hotel Cesis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kolonna Hotel Cesis
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cesis
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

First impressions are of a classy hotel as you walk through the main entrance into reception. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. The hotel lacks a bar, but there is a good cafe in the basement. Breakfast is good and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    38
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Classic interior gives your feeling that you in an old movie, red carpets and hangings in huge windows, lovely. You have everything that you need. Rooms were clean and quite big, existence of bath was also plus. The best thing there was a bread in the breakfast. It was the most delicious bread I have ever eaten, truly!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. No ac but generally not needed. It was a hot night but we just left the window open. Hotel set next to a lovely garden and pond with fountains and resident black swans. Good breakfast.
Very close to old town and castle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_of_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Located in a nice old style building just in the center of Cesis.We came here because all hotels in Sigulda área are full.We didn't regret.The hotel was nice.Not luxury,but good enough.Not very expensive.
Good room in 2th floor .No elevator..hehehee..The girl on the reception was very kind.
Very nice breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfilcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

As others have noted this hotel is part of a chain and ticks all the boxes. We had few problems, the prounciation of the receptionist a little iffy - did she say 32 or 42 was the room rate? Actually it was 42 for a nice room on the first floor facing the front. The town is quiet so we had no trouble sleeping at night. The second night the hotel was full, so we would of had to move to a ground floor rear facing room. The manager was very honest and said it would be a little noisy from the pizza place on the terrace. We decided to stay at Province instead at 30 Lats at night. Breakfast buffet was fine, although I am not that fussy as long as there is good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have stayed there two times. First about a year and half ago it is a lovely building and old style when you enter. It was good. However I stayed there is three months ago and was not very happy. My room was tiny very close to front door, remote for TV held with tape. Overall just not worth the money. Breakfast was good and lots of choices. Staff in dining area no expression, no eye contact, no smile nothing. Reception staff, I experienced three behind the desk and different times all robotic except one who actually smiled. The location is wonderful but I will not stay again. They have a really good beer and food area beside the hotel you can access from the street or inside the hotel. It is worth a visit and relax.

Room Tip: Just hope you dont get the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were staying on a really gloomy, dark day - that is why the contrast was really nice. We had booked the voucher (bought the room for the discount) and that is why i will not be able to say what is the price if booked for example in booking.com. But clearly the price that we pay'd was adequate quality. Breakfast was very tasty: the choice was from warm and the cold food - eggs, sausages, herring, a variety of cereals, cheeses, salami and so on (definetly best breakfast I've eaten a 3-star hotel).
The room was cozy - definitely not the biggest one, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was wide and had a bath. View through a window was very beautiful - I suggest taking a view of the park (if possible). I do not know exactly what negatives to say, because except for a few small details like - television remote control that is not operating properly and wine bottle opener absence of room. Everything was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I suggest to go across the street there is a small chocolate/sweets shop called "Laima", it had a very kind and lovely seller. Actualy everyone in the town was quite friendly and helpful.
The only thing maybe i can not suggest you is going to the "restaurant". The price for the food was very high and kinda not worth it. We did not try out the "Cafe Popular".
The sauna and the hotel's other facilities we did not try out.
And as I said in my topic - this hotel had the best bed I have ever slept in a hotel. Wonderful!
P.S The Hotel has a Free of charge Parking zone.

Room Tip: Higher floor + View of park - You wont be sorry :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cesis
5.6 mi away
Karlamuiza Country Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hotel Wolmar
Hotel Wolmar
#1 of 2 in Valmiera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atputa Hotel
Atputa Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cesis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Sigulda
Hotel Sigulda
#1 of 10 in Sigulda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
20.6 mi away
Dikli Palace Hotel
Dikli Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dikli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katrina Hotel
Katrina Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cesis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolonna Hotel Cesis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolonna Hotel Cesis

Property: Kolonna Hotel Cesis
Address: Vienibas Sqr. 1, Cesis 4101, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Vidzeme Region > Cesis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cesis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kolonna Hotel Cesis 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cesis is one of the most beautiful towns in Latvia with an ancient history and traditions. It has a unique combination of gardens and parks, historical buildings, narrow roadways, wooden houses and lovely squares. Kolonna Hotel Cesis is situated in the very centre of the town, near the city park. The historical scenery of the town is adorned by the Castle of the Livonian Order (1206), Cesis New Castle and St. John’s Church (1284). This hotel was built 1938 and its first name was Tervete. Later it was renamed Hotel Cesis. In December 2005, the hotel became a member of the Kolonna Hotels Group. Kolonna Hotels Cesis offers 40 rooms and can accommodate up to 77 guests. For the guests comfort, hotel offers cozy and comfortable sauna and solarium. The hotel accepts payment in Latvian lats, major local and international Credit Cards: Euro Card/ Master Card, American Express, Visa Card, Visa Electron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kolonna Hotel Cesis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing