We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Cooking”
Review of Sue Asia

Sue Asia
Ranked #36 of 98 Restaurants in Jurmala
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Indian Cooking”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was looking for one-dish-wonder and found the tangy, spicy curry from Goa at the Sue's. My Chicken Vindaloo was exaxctly what I needed on a snowy day. Just the Vindaloo, steamed rice, fresh coriander and garlic naan. Oh my word...!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
149 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Th chef is Indian, so go for Indian.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were a bit sceptic about a restaurant having Thai, Chinese and Indian in the same kitchen, we asked and realised the cook was Indian so we decided to try Indian food. It was very good! The lamb vindaloo it's VERY good, if you like spicy food. We were disappointed that they didn't have ay asian beer. Normally this food goes with beer however they did not have one asian beer not one. German beer is not the best for indian food... Anyway the portions are quite good and prices are alright for Jurmala I guess. The service was a bit average they were not very helpful but their English was quite limited.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kika82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

They have Thai, Indian and Chinese food. I've always gotten the Indian food which has been good. But the vegetarian selection of Indian food could be improved. There are five Indian vegetarian dishes and four of them contain paneer. I am somewhat lactose intolerant and cannot tolerate fresh cheeses such as paneer without becoming physically sick. Moreover, the choices seem very limited because there is no lentil dish which is rather unusual as most restaurants have either tarka dahl or dahl makhani, nor is there any aloo gobhi which is also fairly common at most Indian restaurants. It would be great if the Indian vegetarian selection could be expanded to include tarka dahl and aloo gobhi.

The chutneys seem a bit strange and appear to be similar to the sauces I've seen at Thai restaurants rather than chutneys at previous Indian restaurants I've visited. One nice thing is they have momos, both vegetarian and chicken. However, the momos are listed as being a Thai dish. Understandably there is no Nepalese or Tibetan section but momos can be found in Nepalese or Tibetan cuisine not Thai. However, since the chef is from Nepal, it is nice that a Nepalese dish has been included on the menu. It would be good to see more Nepalese dishes on the menu or even Nepalese tea. Having said that, I've eaten here several times and will continue to eat here in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sigulda158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best Vindaloo *****”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We've been visiting Indian restaurants all around the world and can say for sure that the best Vindaloo (lamb) and Garlick Naan is at Sue Asia in Jurmala.

Look forward for the dinner at Sue Asia soon,
Best Regards

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AcostaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good selection of asian food”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This restaurant offered Thai, Indian and Chinese food. The restaurant was nicely set up and had a nice ambience, T.he food was delicious and service was good. The prices were good value as well

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sue Asia also viewed

Jurmala, Riga Region
 
Jurmala, Riga Region
Jurmala, Riga Region
 

Been to Sue Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing