We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely expensive for average food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Spa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Extremely expensive for average food.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This review applies to the restaurant only
Have stayed.here some 4 years ago I travelled some 15 km's to eat here again on another business trip to Latvia
Whilst the service was OK, the food and drinks were OTT for average offerings
The final insult was to be charged over 8 lats for a calvados after being told it was the only "Brandy" they sold. No disrespect but I have tasted various XO.s for less and this was no better than French farmers cooking calvados.
This place is aimed well above its punching weight and needs to price itself accordingly
R Smith

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob323186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
21
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kukusik
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed in a Junior suite and was satisfied with my stay overall, there were a few positives and some spaces for improvement at the same time.

Positives
- location - close to the beach, and the train station
- convenience of the gym and sauna, spa (although not posh or luxury)
- great restaurant and service
- friendly staff
- again, people - employees - great folks

Negatives
- no security that I saw of - it means that there were some random folks walking around the hotel at night
- kind of expensive for what it is, you pay for location
- can't make phone calls from the land line (incoming calls only)
- dark, uninviting lobby - not on top of my list, just random

Overall, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We booked this hotel a couple of weeks ago for our stay in Jurmala. When we arrived at the hotel and went to reception to check-in, we were told that due to a "technical problem" there was no room available for us anymore. The man at reception told us that they had booked another room across the street for us, at the same standards at no extra cost. We were a bit upset but could live with it - these things happen! But when we got to the other hotel, what a massive disappointment!! The hotel was an horrible purpose built. And it turned out that a room at that hotel was 45 LTS cheaper than the room we had booked, which Amber Spa didn't mention to us!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MBubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peteris G, Manager at Amber Spa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear MBubu,
I hope all is well for you and you had a safe trip home!
I would like to take this chance and express my sincere apologies once again, for situation occurred.
Please note that under normal circumstances, as far as it is possible, we try to void any out bookings to the other hotels.
Also, I’m sorry to hear that the experience in our neighbor hotel didn't meet your expectations.
As we then agreed on spot, due to this inconvenience caused, we were happy to offer you our SPA and wellness center facilities on complimentary basis.
Regards to the payment, as a booking.com client you always pay the hotel directly therefore the rate of the room is visible to the guests at any time and you wouldn't have been overcharged.
Also, in order to make it less difficult, you were offered several methods of payment.

Should you plan another trip to Jurmala, I would highly appreciate if you could contact me directly as it would then guarantee a return compliment from myself personally and best available rate.
On a different note, I hope the city of Jurmala served you well and you enjoyed your time spent here.

Whilst wishing you a lovely day,
P.Grinbergs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is very nice. Located in a silent place far away from the city center (Jomas street).
From one hand it is good because of full relaxation atmosphere. From the other hand – it is really a challenge to reach center of Jurmala by foot. It may be necessary to use bicycles or taxi what understands payment anyway. You may use local train as well. The hotel is located within 5-6 minutes from the beach. So you have to walk through pines – but in my case this was a joy.
The hotel itself is rather new and has a perfect SPA department. The SPA is really cool. No kidding. The SPA complex offers all necessary relax procedures, pool and a very good Russian bath (which is especially recommended).
The rooms are also nice. We had a superior room – which was large and had a relatively good view. Taking into account the silent location and good furniture I can highly rate their quality of sleep.
The personnel is friendly and easy to communicate (in Russian, Latvian and English as well).
The hotel has a very nice restaurant (My Life) which is also recommended for private visiting. The prices are high (please be prepared to pay something about EUR 50-100 per person) but the quality of food and serving worth it. (National Latvian cuisine).
The hotel SPA complex has also a very good cosmetology and barber shop. It is recommended for woman because of really good quality and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussianConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peteris G, Manager at Amber Spa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear RussianConnection,
thank you for taking time in reviewing Amber SPA Boutique hotel.
It is indeed right that we ar in about 25min walk to the city center (Jomas str.), but once you've mentioned bicycles, let me inform you that we have 8 of them and during summer season we do rent them out to our hotel guests, so the city center can be reached within 10min lovely ride. Also taxi is an option at about 5LVL (~7EUR).

Once again, thank you for staying in our hotel and choosing it as a destination for your holidays.

Hotel manager,
Peteris Grinbergs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is the second time that my boyfriend and I have stayed at this lovely spa hotel (both during the winter). Both times we have been impressed by the comfort of the rooms, the attentativeness of the staff, the delicious and healthy menu and the range of spa treatments. The location of the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the beautiful beach and forest which makes for wonderfully relaxing walks. It was exactly what we wanted from a spa break.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I've been there many-many timed and each visit I was ensured that quality of everything - rooms, clearness, room service etc. was on the same perfect level. My best regards and many thanks to Reception desk staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We didn't stay here, but visited the restaurant. It is recommended, the food was delicious and the wait staff were attentive. The receptionist was very friendly and walked us through the strangely laid-out hotel (through the bowling alley) so we were able to find the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
2.4 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
#2 of 23 in Jurmala
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
2.2 mi away
Concordia
Concordia
#9 of 23 in Jurmala
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Spa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Spa Boutique Hotel

Property: Amber Spa Boutique Hotel
Address: Me_a prospekts 49 | Bulduri, Jurmala 2010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Spa Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining local charm with contemporary style, the sleek Amber Spa Boutique Hotel offers a simple but seductive update on traditional Latvian hospitality. Cleverly blending the hotel into its natural surroundings, using pinewood elements in the hotel's exterior; while in interior there is the full range of warm colors amber is found in, to add an intimate feel and soften the hard edges, oozing the healing properties of Latvia's national gem. With the Baltic Sea just about 50 meters away, the fresh sea breezes and pine-infused air ensure that the relaxing atmosphere at Amber Spa Boutique Hotel is contagious.We will with pleasure welcome you as our guest in your next trip to Jurmala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Amber Spa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing