We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
Review of Cafe 53

Cafe 53
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Jurmala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Cafe, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We live in the US but have a home here in Jurmala and family in Latvia. We ate here one afternoon and it was ok. Our local family does not come here but we wanted to try it based on reviews. Everything was average. Not super tasty, not cooked to perfection. But good. For example, the chicken Kiev was slightly dry and not succulent and juicy. Service is slow, but that is typical here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank edmondsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    89
    52
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful little restaurant on the main street in Jurmala. The staff were very good and spoke excellent english. They had some more traditional Latvian food and some main stream as well. Beer was cheap at 2-3 euros a pint. Most dishes were from 5-10 euros.

The place seemed clean and washrooms were also clean.

I would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Really cheap restaurant full of local specialities”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On our first evening in Jurmala we were really hungry after a long trip. So we decided to eat at Cafe 53 after their pizza add on the wall. But what we found out was a great gem! List full of eastern european(and especially Latvian) specialities. Beef tongue, chicken liver, Seljanka, variety of Juliennes, many different foods in hot pots.

But the list doesn´t stop there, they also serve great breakfast menu from 9am to 12am. Many people here recommend pizza, which is good, but try the other specialities also.

We ate here five times as the menu was full of good things.

Also the coffees are good and I have to recommend Hooegarden(0,5L priced 2,90€uros).

Also our kids loved to eat here, there is no childrens menu, but everything is so cheap that you can order from the adult menu.

Service is also really good and fast.

Location is also great, very close to Jurmala Spa and lots of tables outside where you can watch people go by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Special Pizza”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

One of the cheapest places to eat in Jurmala. But cuisine is great, beer is wonderful. My recommendations.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great for people watching on a sunny day and yummy pizza”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Visited on a really sunny day (after a morning at the water park) and were lucky enough to get an outside table in the sun - a real sun trap! Good range of food and drink and not too expensive and you dont pay extra to sit outside (like you do in other holiday locations!) We both had the mixed pizza - really yummy - would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 53 also viewed

 
Jurmala, Riga Region
Jurmala, Riga Region
 
Jurmala, Riga Region
Jurmala, Riga Region
 

Been to Cafe 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing