We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viktorija 91(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Eiropa Hotel(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elina(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Concordia(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
269
201
92
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
201
92
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomnice hotelspa zoneswimming poolrenovated hotelwarm waterkids clubbuffet stylecar parkinglobby barper daybig hotelfamily vacationclean roomssteam roomplay areaparking costs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Very nice budget (not in peak season!) accommodation in Jurmala. Hotel is completely renovated and became a property with modern interiors/exterior. Definitely visit terrace restaurant "Balta Kapa" on the 10th floor - you will be rewarded with beautiful views of the Gulf of Riga and Jurmala itself, stuff they cook is also very good, but choice of beer is very poor... Breakfast is served in separate area - on the 1st floor and it is quite rich with a big choice of hot food and snacks. Hotel is located close to a beach in silent residential part of Jurmala. But if you want some more movement - Jurmala's famous Jomas street with huge amount of restaurants and other entertainment options is located not so far away - 2 stops by train. I stayed in standard room, but it was nice and clean, it also had a small balcony. So, in conclusion - I recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Plus side- Room itself was a bit basic but spotlessly clean, Breakfast was great, loads of choice, hot cooked breakfasts, fruit, cheese, meat, cereal, toast,etc. Rooftop restaurant - don't expect quick service but the two guys who run it do their best and it was great to sit up there in the evening with a cocktail or two watching the sun set over the beach and treetops on the veranda.Beach is really close and superb- flat, clean, sandy, goes on for miles, sunsets that were fantastic, beach taverns dotted along it, plus loos and changing cubicles. Russian National Ice Hockey team staying/training at the hotel for their Summer Camp while we were there. We didn't use the hotel pools/gym, etc but they looked ok.
Downside-You had to get a bus to go to the centre of the main 'action'/restaurants/clubs but that was only 10 minutes and really cheap. No air conditioning but reception told us it was exceptional warm weather (Russian heat wave blowing over apparently), temp certainly in the high-30's while we were there for the beginning Aug, normally its cooler.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackiemac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed two nights at the Lielupe while travelling in Latvia. The staff were all extremely helpful and we felt very comfortable during our stay. We made good use of the two pools (indoor and outdoor) as well as the sauna and spa. We loved the location - just near the beach, local shops and restaurants. The walk down the beach into Majori was an easy 40 minute stroll.

It isn't cheap compared to other places we stayed at in Latvia, but we thought the extra expense was worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Have just returned from a three nights stay at hotel Lielupe in Jurmala, me and my two girls of 8 and 11. We enjoyed Jurmala a lot, as it was mostly sunny and warm, but the hotel was not more than ok for a short stay. It's close to the beach and in walking distance to small shops/ market and a few cafe/ restaurants as well. There is both indoor and outdoor pools, which my children enjoyed, and a spa which i didn't use.The hotel is rather run down and very big, lot of walking to get to the room. We got a big room with a separate bedroom. Though when checking out they tried to charge me for two extra beds when I've booked a double room with one extra bed. Luckily I had the copy of my booking to point out to the staff, and they had to obey, of course. The cleanliness is nt very good either, I must say.
One could easily feel lost beeing scandinavians, as the majority of guests were russians or latvians, but in fact it was not a pleasant place to spend your leisure time. Late in the evening there was hardly no lights on, and loud music in the bar. I spent half an hou there for wifi connection only. The breakfast was the real let down. There's enough food and easy to find a table, but the food is mainly russian based and very poor presented, it looked like someone had thrown the food onto the serving plates and onto the table. The staff looked over worked and rarely smiled.
The staff at the restaurant on the 10th floor seemed not too interested in their guests, if not beeing rich and vdka drinking russians. The menu was not at all child friendly and as they didn't offer any alternative, we left very quickly and found other restaurants beeing very nice and child friendly.
I'd like to return to Jurmala, but would choose another accomodation. Spending most of the time at the beach or out and about, we were ok

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamta66no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed here for 1 night on christmas with my family as we were passing through Latvia. This was nothing short of a soviet hospital.

As it was cold, the stairs leading ointo the hotel were all iced up and there was no effort by the hotel to clean them down, presenting a dangerous situation. The walls were painted colors that you would see in a hospital and the staff walked around wearing orderly uniforms witrh bad taste. All staff spoke only russian which was disappointing as we wanted a chance to try some Latvian phrases and where we struggled they jumped straight to russian. As you walk through the hotel, most lights are switched off (saving electricity!) so be careful not to trip and hurt yourself.

We went for a swim and it was not something so easy as you would find in a western hotel, with hotel staff again in orderly uniforms registering you in to the pool area. We at one stage thought we were going to be rushed into a room for an enema. The pool area was nice though but the sauna was shutdown for the night because it was Xmas...Something we actually took the room for as we were told it was working at the front desk.

The hotel probably has a capacity of 1000 people but I would guess that there were 20 guests there that night. The hallways were eeire with silence and the cheap, worn out carpets again made it look like a soviet hospital. With such a low occupancy we still had to paid what I would say was too much for a 2-3 star hotel (my rating) which was about 60 USD a room. The room was cold at night and no extra pillows or blanketing in the room available. The mini bar was empty maybe due to off season and the showers also just had cold water.

For such a large hotel only a small amount of parking spaces were available, typical what you see for apartments in the central districts with cars piling on top of each other. Luckily in the morning we were not one of those with cars parked directly behind us.

Also, we were going to our room in the lift and a condom was lieing in the lift and we managed to distract our kids enough for them to not see it ew..

Only good thing is that it was in a nice location. It needs a professional hotel outfit to buy it out and transform it from a hospital into a proper hotel. If you are used to western hotels, this one is not for you but you may get some good laughs and giggles out of the joke it is.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OZTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews