We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the first choise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I believe it was a good hotel in "old times". Now it is just old. I spent only one short night there. I can´t say, that rooms were bad, but they were very simple and old. Again this word. And the walls are very thin. There was a group of students on my floor and I felt like I was in the same room with them.

The good thing is, that Jurmalas main attraction is beach and this hotel is very close to it. Unfortunatelly it was not very warm yet.

My conclusion is, that it might be ok hotel, if you want to party, spend time in beach and in some of many restaurants in Jurmala and the room is just for sleeping.
If you want value from the hotel too, I wouldn´t go there.

PS! One good thing is, that all rooms (I think) have balcony)!

Room Tip: May be on higher floors and closer to the beach. And ask the administrator to give you the room to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tarx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

On our recent 8 day trip through the region this hotel stands out as a big disappointment.

It is a Soviet era hotel with a recent refurbishment & looked great on arrival. However:

Warm beer in the bar, cold coffee at breakfast. It is a taxi ride to the center for good bar restaurant choices.a major walk to the train station & no water or coffee facilities in the room which you would expect if this was truly a 4* hotel.

The hotel seems to be popular with Russians & best left to them

Room Tip: Hotel claimed they do not have many double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I don't think that this could be beaten as a busy yet peaceful hotel within easy reach of the airport, Riga and the sandy beach, the latter reached along one of many paths snaking through the pines covering the dunes. The views from the upper floors across the top of the tree canopy were spectacular. Functional rather than pretty-pretty building. Lots of space in the public rooms. Plenty to do in the area. Meals were good, and the hotel met my three key criteria for a pleasant stay - hot water, easy wifi and quiet at night. Simple safe. Good hanging space. Usable desk. I would be very pleased to return to this hotel on my next visit to Latvia

Room Tip: On really sunny days - it was 28C during our visit - keep your curtains and blinds shut during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crw197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was very skeptical about the hotel after I read all the reviews, but in reality it is decent hotel after severe refurbishment. Yes, there is still a certain amount of post soviet shabbiness outside, but inside it is regular european hotel.
Staff is very nice and can speak at least in three languages, breakfast is very good with wide selection of hot and cold meals, rooms are clean with modern furniture, contemporary bathrooms and magnetic locks.
It is a bit far from the city centre but it is still reachable but cheap taxi or local train (2 stops). The area around hotel is very clean, peaceful and natural. Seashore is very close.

Room Tip: Pick the ones on first 3 floors, those are renovated the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here only one night but it seemed to me so comfortable and nice that I will stay here again with great pleasure. Everything in this hotel looks very stylish - hall, restaurant and rooms. There is not luxury but there is a Baltic style (see my photos). I returned from Israel and it was a very hard night after flight. But the sleeping place was so comfortable that in the morning I was ready to visit SPA with a swimming pool before breakfast. Breakfast was rather varied and tasty.And frankly speaking after Israel this hotel seemed to me an example of perfect cleanliness and service))))Furniture in the room was simple but not shabby.There was a balcony with a view to pine-trees. Calmness and peace. Maybe a bit far from the centre.I'd like to see the famouse Jurmala's tortoise but ....a lack of time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice hotel in Jurmala for normal price. Hotel located in 300m from beach. We stay with children in the 9 floor in superior room which is ~36 quarted metrs. The living room is big in each room have TV. The hotel is renovaite in 2013 and have the big good SPA area with pool in 25m. In restaurant in breakfast and diner is good meals offer.
The staff is too much helpful very nice reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viltiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Cheap,old, however it was the best trip with my friends ever. I guess for the Youth it is probably the best place they can take, rooms was cozy, pretty spacious, must to mention: clean. Smart choice for those who came have a nice time with friends, to get tan and just looking for the inn to sleep.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
2.5 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
5.9 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
2 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wooden Villa Aparthotel
Wooden Villa Aparthotel
#11 of 23 in Jurmala
12 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sanatorium Jantarnij Bereg
Sanatorium Jantarnij Bereg
#16 of 23 in Jurmala
25 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#7 of 23 in Jurmala
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semarah Hotel Lielupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semarah Hotel Lielupe

Address: Bulduru prospekts 64/68, Jurmala 2010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jurmala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jurmala
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Semarah Hotel Lielupe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SemaraH Lielupe Hotel is located in one of the most exclusive places in Jurmala, surrounded by forest of century old pine trees and just a few hundred meters from the sea. Jurmala is one of the most popular places of the Baltic Sea cost - an ideal place to relax.Hotel is fully renovated in 2016. There are 264 elegant rooms, spacious wellness centre with pool, sauna and spa area, as well as large and modern kids club, restaurants and conference facilities. Restaurant "Lielupe"delights its guests with an extensive international, Latvian and Russian cuisine. You can enjoy your meal on the open terrace during the summer months. Enjoy a relaxing leisure and boost your energy in our spacious Wellness Centre!We offer Spa treatments,salt chamber,25m swimming pool,kids pool, jacuzzi,finish sauna and turkish bath,modern gym, yoga and pilates hall. Your kids will be excited about the modern equipment, wide choice of games and toys in the Kids club! Two active entertainment areas for kids and babies, interactive hall with a variety of nowadays games and separate room for celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Semarah Hotel Lielupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lielupe Hotel Jurmala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing