We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very expensive but worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“very expensive but worth every penny”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

i booked a room for a couple of days, taking the opportunity to visit jurmala and have some spa experience in the hotel well known for its spa facilities (actually recommended by my latvian colleagues). much to my surprise the room was not quite well maintained, although the hotel claims a five star standard, but the most valuable experience (well, literally) was the spa! i enjoyed it so much. the weather was not that good for walking or swimming (water in the baltic sea is 16oC in july...) but two days of spa treatments and massages is something i still remember about. the reception staff was kind enough to provide a complimentary late check-out, considering that my spa schedule included afternoon treatments as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    150
    74
    34
    20
See reviews for
150
165
37
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel compared to US or Europe standard. The brackfast was good and the pool complex and beach are perfect. They have WI-FI but not a bussines center. Rooms are large and clean but maintenance is poor ( broken handle, rust on the balcony). No english papers or magazines ( I got one that was 2 weeks old !!) .The SPA is a 5 star SPA. The standard package included in the 7 day hotel package is poor. I spend approx. 350 EU for add-ons.
SPA prices are high compared to Pieshtany SPA, Slovakia. The staff is very profesional and friedly when getting tip.....
Gabriel, LA California

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7625Gabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed 3 nights for business purposes with some colleagues.
About the rooms, everything was very clean, but bathroom is rather at 3 star level. Beds are too hard for my taste. for the room I would give almost 4 stars. It is difficult to get the curtains 100% lightproof, so who did see the movie "insomnia" with Al Pacino, knows what I am talking about.
Breakfast is ok, really no comments about it. The Staff is friendly, but they don't seem to know a lot about the local sites to visit.
I tried 2 massages at the spa, they were also ok, and they don't seem to look at the watch as a 1 hour massage lasted at least 20 minutes more.
The only thing that really bothered me: the day I left with a taxi, security kept us 15 minutes waiting at the exit barrier to check with the reception if my room was paid. ( hey, if I did,nt want to pay, I could have left easily from the beach side) almost missed my flight due to this most unprofessional behavior.

Room Tip: Try to get a room directed to the west, to avoid early sun awakenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had 3 nights in this hotel, it has a nice private beach with attendants providing beds and towels, you need to give them the 'beach card' which the reception will give you upon check-in. There is a large marquee on the beach selling drinks and food.
We didn't eat at the restaurant, choosing to eat at one of the many restaurants on the main strip each evening. Breakfast is included and 'you name it they have it!' everything from smoked salmon to porridge. The service is excellent.
We used this hotel as a base and didn't hang around during the day, as we went out further afield with our Latvian friends, so didn't use the gym or swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel, saving money, as we were only there at night, the front of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very „hard“ looks soviet architecture building outside and inside. Contrasting to subtle nature, kindly dune and sandy coast. We had excellent room with large terrace and superior sea view. The room was kept very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, good service, food, lovely spa and swimming pool. The whole experience was very good....
I would recommend this hotel…

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litas181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The rooms were of good size and nicely appointed, bathrooms were neat and everything has worked fine. The hotel has direct access to the seashore and main tourist street is just minutes away.

However, getting to breakfast hall requires passing through a long gallery and climbing stairs, a rather strange configuration, probably resulting in soviet era architectural "wonders".

Otherwise, food and service were excellent

Room Tip: Ask for balcony rooms on top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaifaLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is going to be a long review as the hotel really managed to bring out the worst in me, so for those of you who have no time to hear me ranting, here is a short version: this is not a five-star hotel, staff is friendly, but not overly so, only oriented to processes not to guest experience, prices are too expensive for really nothing special, breakfast is awful – it seems the main target group is tourists who don’t (yet) know better – but beware: Russians are also becoming more savvy very quickly – you might be running out of guests to fool! Awful experience and I do wonder who in the Latvian Tourist authority gave this hotel five stars.

A slightly longer version:
Where to start the review of this hotel? Well, maybe with the guard at the entrance to the building who started talking to us in Russian as we were trying to enter the hotel grounds. Now I know that Jurmala is a sea side resort that’s heavily frequented by Russians, but the frequency in which I was addressed in Russian in this hotel became quickly annoying. Anyhow, we managed to handle this "friendly" arrival experience, took our luggage from the car park to the main entrance where we were met by a doorman who did offer to take the luggage of us (in Russian, of course …). Check-in was nice and friendly, if a bit heavy on the administrational side and the most important thing for the clerk was not guest satisfaction or sense of arrival but to have a credit card where the charges could be put to. The interesting part: we booked a non-smoking superior room and were told that only standard rooms are available which are non-smoking and we could have a superior room, but smoking ... lovely! Positive: free internet at a decent speed throughout the complex, bathrobes of good quality. Negative: no-name room amenities – if you want to be a spa-hotel, why not show that in your bathrooms?
When we got to our room (319) I was glad we did book the apparently middle-category superior room and not the lowest category (or for that case a higher category ...) because already this room was absolutely nothing special: old, dirty carpets, Soviet style furniture, a tiny bathroom – one wonders what the standard room would have looked like. Furniture in the room is tired and for once I was happy about the slippers that were provided because the carpet was distinctly yukkie! In the hotel video (which is well done as it only looks at fragments in excellent lighting, never at a place as a whole), and in the professional hotel photography, they show pictures of beautiful rooms, I wonder where they are hiding those. On the plus side, the room does have balcony and sea view – from the far, but anyhow.
The hotel offers a range of spa treatments and two pool areas: the pool that’s free of charge has the atmosphere of a 70’s public bath somewhere in East Germany, the other area with a range of saunas and whirl-pools costs 36 Euros entrance for 120 minutes – after taking in the rest of the hotel, we've decided to save ourselves that particular experience.

Breakfast: the pinnacle of our stay! Served, as we were told on the second floor of the Italian restaurant which turned out to be a banquet room (see pictures), basically all food that should be kept cold for food safety reasons was presented without any refrigeration, let alone talk about a sneeze-guard. The only exception was the butter, which was frozen like a stone, so no risk there … You can buy fresh orange juice (2,90LVL, approx. 4 Euro) and a fresh omelet (3,50 LVL, approx. 5 Euro) during your ‘inclusive’ breakfast, if you don’t feel like spending that money, you will have to make due with dishes that are standing on the buffet in a chafing dish already for hours, look awful and do not really resemble food (see pictures). Service is focused on clearing tables only (there they are doing a good job), but everything else, including coffee and tea is self-service. This easily qualifies as one of the worst hotel stays that I've experienced in many years of traveling and I am not sure which hotel some reviewers were rating when I look at the 'super' reports here on TA! As I said: really wondering who in the Latvian Tourist Authority gave this hotel five stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
2.5 mi away
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
#2 of 23 in Jurmala
397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Concordia
Concordia
#9 of 23 in Jurmala
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#14 of 23 in Jurmala
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA

Property: Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
Address: Juras iela 23-25, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jurmala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jurmala
#1 Spa Hotel in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA is nestled on the shore of the Gulf of Riga in the dune area and is adjacent to the well-maintained private beach with full guest service. Thanks to its ideal location in centre of Jurmala, easy reach of Riga’s premier attractions, and being 15 minutes away from the international airport, the hotel became the preferred destination for many travellers. It boasts 165 elegant guest rooms, many with fantastic sea views and private balconies. Only here, at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, guests have a unique opportunity to enjoy the sound of waves from the open window of their rooms. For those who love sunbathing, hotel offers direct access to its private sandy beach, equipped with comfortable large sun beds and parasols. Chilled cocktails, summer salads and fresh meat from the grill - all offered directly on the beach at the summer Beach Bar & Grill. One of the largest spa centres in Northern Europe - the certified medical Baltic Beach SPA – is the hotel’s unique facility. It has over 4.810-m2 area and offers more than 400 treatments & relaxation options – all are tailored to individual needs of each customer. Guests have the opportunity to experience authentic Russian bath with its healthy body treatments or relax in the saunas of water complex the Garden. Gym with cardio- and heavyweight machines as well as 25-m sea-water-pool is also available onsite. Fine-dining and gourmet dinners are an integral part of hotel services. Guests can enjoy lunch or dinner in the cosy Italian Restaurant il Sole or have an elegant evening accompanied by live-piano music at Caviar Club Restaurant. In summer guests can enjoy raw oyster bar and sushi menu at the Seafood and Oyster Terrace. All restaurants have stunning panoramic view over the Gulf of Riga. At Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, our team offers everything you expect and even more. It is always important to us to make sure that you receive the best deals and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baltic Beach
Baltic Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing