We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor and Expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Poor and Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Well the Baltic Beach hotel was renovated after the Soviet Era. However it looks like the administration decided not to invest a penny into the renovation again and they try to make as much as possible operating what they have at the moment. The season in Jurmala is very short – June, July and August when the prices are really high. During the low season the hotel (from my point of view) is not profitable enough. So they save their money and don’t invest much into renovation. As a result the tear and wear are everywhere.
It is not 5 star of course. At the same time the hotel is extremely pricey. It is strange taking into account low service and accommodation.
Talking about good points – the hotel is the only one located at the first line with the direct access to the sea beach. But the central location means really a lot of people and overcrowded beach during the summer time. The rooms (most of them) have a really cool sea view from the balcony. The hotel is also located in the center of Jurmala's night and social life – Jomas street is 5 minutes by foot from the hotel (with a lot of restaurants and bars). The hotel has also relatively good opportunities for business meetings (conference center) and corporate events. The hotel is also known as VIP so when you worry about your status – it may have a sense to stay here. But in terms of price/quality/reliability – I would not recommend this place.
SPA is big and offers different programs. But it was not WOW at all. Bath and water complex look not clean enough and a bit smelly.
The restaurant is totally overpriced (just because it is 5 star on a paper) – be aware of mosquitos in June. I would not recommend using this restaurant because you may find other places with better quality and price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussianConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Beach H, Executive Assistant Manager at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear RussianConnection,

Thank You for posting feedback about Your experience at the Baltic Beach Hotel. I very much appreciate the time You took to share Your concerns about the stay back in June 2012.

Concerning Your comments about price level, I would point out that our prices are in line with other 5 star establishments throughout the country and are constantly monitored to ensure we remain competitive. However, I regret to learn that the level of service was not to Your satisfaction on this occasion. Also, I appreciate Your comments about the hotel restaurants, but let me assure You that our Food & Beverage team and the Executive Chef are constantly working on improving the quality of both service and food; and I am proud to say that the Caviar Club restaurant was announced as a Restaurant of the Year within the annual contest The best Latvian Trader 2012. I very much hope that we have You as a return guest in one of our restaurants to demonstrate the improvement.
I am very much delighted, however, to see Your positive comments about our conference facilities. Also, it is lovely to learn that You found location of the hotel so convenient.

Once again, I would like to thank You for taking the time to share Your experience with us. I sincerely hope that we may welcome You back here at the Baltic Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Oksana Terlecka
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    131
    68
    29
    20
See reviews for
127
134
35
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I gave 5* mark to this hotel in though it was officially only 4*.It was done due to 25 meters swimming pool with sea water ,SPA and even dental clinic.The service corresponded 5* level too.
The only disadvantages i saw ,was rather poor breakfast with necessity tio pay for expresso ,for example,and old property itself.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have side sea view ,some suites have fron view.Better to ask high floor and closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Beach H, Executive Assistant Manager at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear alexander49,
Thank You for posting the comment about Your stay at the Baltic Beach Hotel.
Looking through Your feedback, I am delighted to learn that You have had such a pleasant experience with us. In actual fact, our hotel offers 3 different accommodation categories - 3, 4 and 5 stars, followed by 5 star facilities within the complex, and I am exceptionally pleased to see that You felt this. It is lovely to know that above all You appreciated our 25 m swimming pool. Concerning Your comment about breakfast buffet, we endeavor to keep selection of food and beverages varied and qualitative. There are, however, more options available within a la carte menu that come with additional charge and get cooked on individual basis. I hope You appreciate this; nevertheless, should You wish to expand on Your opinion, we will be glad to hear from You. Despite this, it is a pleasure to the overall level of service was to Your absolute satisfaction.
Once again, I would like to thank You for Your time. We look forward to welcoming You back at the Baltic Beach Hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
Oksana Terlecka
Executive Assistant Manager
Baltic Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We were both impressed by the good reviews (about the Luxury part, where we stayed) and concerned about the Soviet-style appearance in the photographs. While the architectural style is Soviet - in this sense, it's a piece of history since Kruschev and Breznev vacationed here - the renovation has been deep. Only the corridors in our floor (fifth) were still quite cold and Soviet-style. The suite was very comfortable and elegant, although the bed may have been softer. The view from the balcony was magnificent. The spa services were of top quality, with a very friendly staff. Both the Egyptian Room and the Japanese Room were ideal for romantic couple massages. The Caviar Restaurant was extremely good - it would not even have been over-expensive except for the black caviar, but the genuine article is expensive everywhere. The Italian restaurant was Italian enough and reasonably priced. A good experience and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Beach B, Executive Assistance Manager at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear LordLister,

Thank You very much for posting Your comment about the Baltic Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor.
Looking through Your feedback, I am exceptionally delighted to learn that You and the partner have enjoyed Your stay with us. It is lovely to see that despite to some concerns, You have appreciated the renovation works that had been done. I am pleased to see that You were happy with the suite and indeed, the view. Concerning Your comment about mattress, we are planning to change the mattresses in the near future. Also, it is great to see that You have had such s fantastic experience at the SPA and in both restaurants. I will certainly pass Your comments on to the SPA Manager and our Executive Chef so they could share those with their teams.
Once again, I would like to thank You for Your time. I am very much pleased to see that Your a planning Your return visit, so we all look forward to welcoming You back here at the Baltic Beach Hotel.
Sincerely,
Oksana Terlecka
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is real 5 stars hotel. Luxuary SPA, top class restaurant and royal interior. There is diferent kinds of buildings. I was many times in this hotel, but only in "A" building, it is sea view room's building, I didn't try garden view building's rooms, (I saw some pictures of that kind of rooms only in reviews). Me I my family wery like this hotel, we viziting it in winter, cause of prices. In the summer prices are quite high.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in building A (sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miks1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Beach B, Executive Assistant Manager at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Miks I,

Thank You for Your comments about the Baltic Beach Hotel in Jurmala.

Looking through Your feedback, I am exceptionally delighted to see how pleasant Your experience was. It is great to know that Your family has enjoyed all our facilities including SPA, restaurants and indeed Your see view room. Also, I am glad to note that this wasn't Your first stay with us. Concerning Your comments about rates in summer, we introduce special offers on a regular basis and I invite You to follow those on our webpage which is going to have a new stylish design very shortly.

Once again, I would like to thank You for Your time. We all look forward to welcoming Your family back here at the Baltic Beach Hotel.

Sincerely,
Oksana Terlecka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel is comfortable easy access to spa which appears to be a separate entity. Food in the restaurant is delightful. Recommended for families and couples looking for a weekend or a week away in Jurmala. The hotel itself is nicely refurbished some of the rooms are slightly dated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon_Vivant_LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Beach B, Executive Assistant Manager at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear JURIS-LV,

Thank you for Your comment about the Baltic Beach Hotel.

Looking through Your feedback, I am pleased to see that You have enjoyed several facilities offered by the hotel. It is lovely to note that You find location of the SPA so convenient. Also, I am glad to learn that You have had a delightful experience at one of our restaurants. Concerning Your comment about hotel rooms, we are currently planning a new refurbishment phase which would make our accommodation facilities look even more attractive.

Once again, I would like to thank You for Your time. We all look forward to welcoming You back at the Baltic Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Oksana Terlecka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Very relaxing and professional SPA.
They have medical lisence and you feel it even when making a massage.
25 m swimming pool with sea water.
Nicely fournished cabinets.
Very close to the beach.
25 minutes by train from capital.

Half price comparing to Riga.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_marko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Beach B, Executive Assistant Manager at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear julie_marko,

Thank You for Your comment about SPA at the Baltic Beach Hotel.

I am very delighted to learn about Your pleasant experience with us. It is lovely to see that the level of service You have received was to a high standard and the massage treatment was so professional. Also, I am pleased to note that You have enjoyed the swimming pool with sea water- isn't it a great opportunity to swim in the Baltic sea in winter?

Once again, thank You for taking the time to post Your comment on TripAdvisor. We all look forward to welcoming You back at the Baltic Beach Hotel.

Sincerely,
Oksana Terlecka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Quite run-down hotel.

If you expect to have comfortable and luxurious stay (as it should be in 5star), this would not be the place.

Good breakfast and breakfast stuff.

Front desk stuff - I had a feeling that guests are "by the way". Main efforts was to get your credit card number at check-in. My questions was answered "by the way".

very run-down feeling.

elevators way too small and way too little. If hotel is even half booked, you should use stairs as it is almost impossible to get into it if living on middle floors. Hardly 4 thin adults (without bags) fit in it.

Painted areas in room were overpainted several times without removing or fixing previously painted surface. These places looked really ugly.

Quite a lot visible rust on pipes in bathroom.

Room door as well as balcony door was hardly to open and close. Room door just stuck against floor outside. Balcony door needs to be hardly adjusted and doesn't have handle on outside.

bath pipe totally dirty with piece of hair on it.

a lots of different type of advertising papers, brochures in the room. Like selling one single flat, yacht. Night clubs etc. not connected to hotel amenities.
-------
I would consider it as quite ok 3star property with good location in Jurmala for a price of 5star hotel.

If you travel a lot and mainly are staying in 4-5 star hotels, then this hotel is not for you. You will just be very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
2.5 mi away
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
#1 of 23 in Jurmala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
3.0 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#7 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
8.9 mi away
KRC Jaunkemeri
KRC Jaunkemeri
#12 of 23 in Jurmala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA

Property: Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
Address: Juras iela 23-25, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jurmala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jurmala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA is nestled on the shore of the Gulf of Riga in the dune area and is adjacent to the well-maintained private beach with full guest service. Thanks to its ideal location in centre of Jurmala, easy reach of Riga’s premier attractions, and being 15 minutes away from the international airport, the hotel became the preferred destination for many travellers. It boasts 165 elegant guest rooms, many with fantastic sea views and private balconies. Only here, at Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, guests have a unique opportunity to enjoy the sound of waves from the open window of their rooms. For those who love sunbathing, hotel offers direct access to its private sandy beach, equipped with comfortable large sun beds and parasols. Chilled cocktails, summer salads and fresh meat from the grill - all offered directly on the beach at the summer Beach Bar & Grill. One of the largest spa centres in Northern Europe - the certified medical Baltic Beach SPA – is the hotel’s unique facility. It has over 4.810-m2 area and offers more than 400 treatments & relaxation options – all are tailored to individual needs of each customer. Guests have the opportunity to experience authentic Russian bath with its healthy body treatments or relax in the saunas of water complex the Garden. Gym with cardio- and heavyweight machines as well as 25-m sea-water-pool is also available onsite. Fine-dining and gourmet dinners are an integral part of hotel services. Guests can enjoy lunch or dinner in the cosy Italian Restaurant il Sole or have an elegant evening accompanied by live-piano music at Caviar Club Restaurant. In summer guests can enjoy raw oyster bar and sushi menu at the Seafood and Oyster Terrace. All restaurants have stunning panoramic view over the Gulf of Riga. At Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA, our team offers everything you expect and even more. It is always important to us to make sure that you receive the best deals and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baltic Beach
Baltic Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing