We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Elina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elina
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

THIS HOTEL IS VERY BAD AND DANGEROUS
Toilet broken, shoer broken, wiring and socket ahnging from wall, bed bugs, light under curtain- when switched on burns curtain
No wardrobe to hang clothes
Broken cabinets
Filthy dirty
Terrible staff
No food and no breakfast
Please do not book this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    6
    1
    12
See reviews for
7
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We booked the room by mail, and everything looked fine, but when we arrived there, there parking was unavailable (Though they told us there is a parking lot). The office was closed and we couldn't find any staff memeber. Luckily we had a cell-phone, we called the number we had, and a girl showed up. She showed us our room, that was very small and uncomfortable. Everything looked very old, and it looked more like a bad HOSTEL and not at all a 3 stars hotel. There was no breakfast served, and there was no fridge in our room. We were very unsatisfied and asked if there is some other room available.

The girl checked and told us there is another room. It was in another place ~2 minutes drive from the hotel.

It didn't look good but looked definetly better than what we had before. There was a fridge, a small kitchen and a quite big leaving room. The room looked like someone lives there and left for the summer. The furniture was old.

All of the above could be bearable until the moment when we entered the WC. THE WATER WAS STINKING!!! It was impossible not to feel this bad smell. We couldn't take a shower 3 days. We brushed our teeths and washed face with mineral water. It was totally unbearable.

Everytime we had to find a staff member (to get more toilet paper, to pay the bill) the office was closed, and we couldn’t find anyone without calling them.
When we found the staff members there were nice and friendly but that was the only good thing about this hostel.

Those were our last days in Latvia, and we didn’t want to waste time on looking for a new hotel but now when we think about it, we understand that we should’ve find another hotel.

This was the 4th hotel in our trip. The 3 hotels we were in berfore were wonderful and were cheaper for this one.

We don’t recommend to anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff members - when we found them.
  • Disliked — Water smells very bad. Like sewage.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't even come close to this hotel.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Гуляка
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jurmala hotels

Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
247 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, booked via email w/Elina staff. This is overall a nice property, with a few minor flaws that weren't dealbreakers. We had a large room with a large balcony to go out and sit on, plus a separate bathroom ("WC") with tub and shower. The place seemed fairly new and the staff was nice; the female manager, Anita, spoke fairly good English and was helpful. We paid 35 LATs/night for our room (about $60 USD/night)

Room was nonsmoking as requested. Hot water wasn't really that hot, but it was very warm outside so that was fine. Water quality isn't the best, but that's the case over most of Latvia. No shower curtain on the tub, which has a spray shower on a cord so you might spray water all over the bathroom if you aren't careful. Our bed was an oversized double, but it had a depression on one end, and upon looking underneath we discoverd t he boards were broken. Didn't affect our sleep though. No air-conditioning, but the windows opened up and we had nice breezes.

We had one snafu due to our very late arrival around midnight. We got there and the office was closed, despite being assured by email there would be a night administrator on duty. We rang the buzzer on the front door but couldn't get anyone. We finally knocked on another guests' door, a family from Finland that was still up. They called some cell phone and got a hold of the manager, who did finally come and showed us to our room. If you have a late arrival, I recommed you be very clear with them about it and know what to do/who to call if you come that late--the Finnish family said they had a similar issue. But that was relatively minor.

You walk down the street about 2 minutes to the pedestrian-only Jurmas iela, which is many blocks long filled with lots of good restaurants and some shops. Great choice in cuisine and Latvia is very cheap (compared to US) for eating out. Many bars too. The beach is maybe 10 minutes at most walk away. The beach is great for walking and playing sports, sunbathing, etc, but the water we wouldn't dare go into--there's no waves just still water and there was about a 5-foot layer of slime the entire length of the beach at the water's edge. Some people were going in, but I wouldn't chance it. Still, the sunsets were incredible and you could walk or bike on the beach for miles.

The wooden architecture is really fabulous, and the area is a real study in contrasts--fancy newer homes, older nicely-kept historice ones, and some that were long since abandoned back in the Soviet days. Great tree-lined streets that were a joy to stroll on. Jurmala is very safe and we felt comfortable out walking even late at night.

The train station is about 10 minutes walk (Majori station) and trains run regularly into Riga and then out to Tukums; fare to Riga as 55 cents for adult. Buses and smaller microbuses run constantly. Public transport was clean and always on-time. Jurmala is a good spot to stay at--very lively, great people watching, lots to do (in summer at least)--and you will save money vs staying in Riga where you wouldn't get this quality of accommodation at this price. OVerall, a give a strong recommendations to Elina Guesthouse. There's also a small store and a restaurant/bar on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 May 2006

We stayed three days there and I can recommend to anyone. Room was clean and there were many bistros,restaurants and shops nearby. Parking area was safe.It took about ten minutes to walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
0.4 mi away
Concordia
Concordia
#8 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parus
Parus
#9 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#13 of 23 in Jurmala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balta Puce Hotel
Balta Puce Hotel
#20 of 23 in Jurmala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.4 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiropa Hotel
Eiropa Hotel
#21 of 23 in Jurmala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elina

Property: Elina
Address: Lienes iela 43, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Elina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elina Hotel Jurmala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing