We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place to escape”
Review of Hotel Jurmala Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jurmala Spa
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Reviewed 28 September 2011

sometimes you need to have a place to escape and Jurmala SPA hotel is such a place. hotel is located within the very heart of the Jurmala resort town (which has about 35km of white sand beach) and just 15km from Riga International airport. Hotel located on main pedestrian street - Jomas in Jurmala and within short walk to the sandy beach.

Rooms - are good size and clean, beds are good quality and offers you a great sleep! restaurant - there is one on ground floor and with good food; i experience slight rush from waiter side, while food was delivered very fast (3 course dinner was over in 30 min - almost).

hotel has a great water relaxation area with 5 different sauna, water cascades, underwater streams etc... + there is pool-bar, where you can order drinks.

spa centre and treatments - are good and reasonably priced.

best time to stay in Jurmala SPA Hotel is right now - autumn, winter and early spring, while there are good rates and you can really relax. If you will miss big city buzz - jump on train or order transfer and visit Riga, while it is only 25km away.

Room Tip: take upper rooms and if you are no on the tight budget - take the room with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel has very nice location. It is in the center of Jomas street, where all the action happens, but at the same time part of it like hidden, so you wouldn't be disturbed by outside noise.
Generally the stay there was very nice and i really liked the SPA and Wellness Center inside, where are 2 swimming pools with different temperatures and lots of saunas with different specifics like salt room, roman sauna, sauna with color therapy and etc.
The personnel is acting very standard way not being so much polite. They gave us bad located room under the restaurant where the corporate party was happening at the night, so we did not sleep till it finished and our baby as well. And when I went to the reception the answer was that they can not do anything and made me angry! They knew I am with baby, why then to give the noisy room?? Except of thet the room was very nice and even had a small sauna inside of the bathroom!
So the place is nice, but the service is average

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We chose the hotel because of the Spa department and the price was very reasonable. The hotel looks like something straight from the Soviet times (and is as well). Rooms were probably quite recently upgraded cause they were clean and spacious. It was also nice to stay at a hotel with a balcony were we could enjoy the view. The spa department was good. A little too much clorine in the water, but the pool was a nice lenght for both playing around in and also exercise swimming. Breakfast was not that good, a lot of russian dishes, and we felt that we didn't have that much to choose from.
The hotel is quite far from Jurmala town but there are buses running frequently just around the corner. And the train station is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We took the train in to Riga, very convenient. The best thing with this hotel is that it is so close to the really excellent beach. Because of that I would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerntraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The staff in the hotel is very friendly. The breakfast is various and the dishes are very tasty! The hotel is situated in a very nice place in the center of Jurmala and very close to the sea. The bed is comfortable, sheets are tender and super soft. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariatih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It was the second time I visited this hotel, and I will come back for sure. Normally, I like variety, but in this case I would not change the hotel just to see something new. Jurmala SPA is perfect. First, location is great.
The whole hotel and the rooms are stylish, very cosy, spacious enough. The breakfast is great, very delicious, with great range of courses. Fresh cottage cheese and cream, very tasty pastry...everything!
Staff is very friendly.
You can choose - whether you want to go to the bar, or enjoy swimming pool, or go to hairdresser...anything!
SPA's menu is really big. The only problem was, that girls at reception booked for me aurveda massage and facial treatment one after another, which is totally wrong. After aurveda you should relax with oil on your face and hair, not wash everything away (I didn't know it before). Also I was late for the second treatment because of aurveda. It caused confusion in the schedule. SPA receptionists should be aware of the time and specifics of every treatment.
Another problem was, when I opened the window in the bedroom, appeared noise of ventilation or something technical nearby in the roof of the hotel, which didn't stop at night. It was impossible to close the window, because it became hot and airless in the room.
All-in-all, my stay was lovely, and Jurmala SPA remains my favourite hotel!

Room Tip: room 726 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ekaterina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

One word : Brilliant. It has a GREAT swimming pool.GREAT food.Very clean rooms.Perfect Service. (and my fave thing was the air made smoothie things on Floor 3 I think)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryPotterGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel has great location and it is quite new. Economy rooms quality is average to 2+ star hotel standard. Deluxe rooms with balcony are much nicer and bigger. Only thing is poor in both room types, is shower room. Small, dark, with sticky plastic rope and absolutely low quality shower equippment. Also there is wifi available only in lobby. In the rooms no internet, even with cable. Pool and sauna complex is usable, but looks also a bit dark and tired!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with balcony are the best in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
0.2 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
2.3 mi away
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
#1 of 23 in Jurmala
516 reviews
3.6 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiropa Hotel
Eiropa Hotel
#19 of 23 in Jurmala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jurmala Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jurmala Spa

Address: Jomas ilea 47/49, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jurmala
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jurmala
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jurmala Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jurmala Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jurmala Jurmala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing