We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Situated in a quiet part of Jumala, the Amber Sea Resort is only a stones throw from the lovely beach to the east of the resort and the Baltic Sea. The front desk staff gave us a warm welcome and we were soon taken our very comfortable and well appointed room. The restaurant provides a buffet service with a wide range of options at breakfast and dinner. The quality of the food is very good and there is plenty of it. There is also a bar serving a good range of wines, beers and spirits. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very helpful and obliging. The hotel has a small swimming pool and a Spa treatment facility. Bicycle hire is also available at a small cost, ideal if you want to go to the town centre which is about a half hour walk from the hotel. There some very good walks near the hotel along the wide pedestrian avenues and in the forests next to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jugface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good location, comfortable room, clean, beautiful garden around the hotel, enough parking places, friendly staff, Thai massage, nice spa, and extremely good restaurant, which exceeded our expectations long way. The Chef must be very experienced in the field of fine dining. As the weather was nice as well, we prolonged our stay at the Amber Sea Hotel :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank IllimarPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for the price. I am currently living in Riga, but wanted to take a break to visit Jurmala when we had visitors. The hotel was similar to an American Motel 6, with slightly more character. The restaurant food was good if you ordered off the menu, but subpar for both the breakfast and dinner buffet provided with the cost of the room. The wait staff is incredibly slow, and speaks very little English. The color scheme looks great in the pictures on the hotel's website but the carpets are very worn and the whole hotel looks a little worse for the wear. Visitors should know that the front desk staff do speak some English, but are quite nervous about it. The location is quite close to the beach, but as other reviewers have mentioned it is a 15-20 minute walk to most other restaurants, and the main shopping district in Majori. If we go back to Jurmala, we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Hotel isn't too large and therefore very good for nice calm vacation. It has all what you may need for carefree relaxation - good and various breakfast, dinner for any taste and wide choice of dishes, even for kids. Beach is about 3 min. and main street of this resort is only 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
I liked cozy and spacious room (Marine Suite II) with large terrace with sea view and balcony on the park/forest side.
In hotel's SPA I was pleased with good and various choice of procedures and very competent and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you'll choose room with terrace on top floor, you won't need to stay at the beach for sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed for a weekend to enjoy Jurmala,
The hotel is quiet and it is, must say 15 min walk from the main street of Jurmala ( Jomas street), but beautifull white sandy beach is reachable in 5 min walk, so thats great!
One thing was disappointing, as we ask for a taxi at reception, we got BMW without a taxi sign and got ripped off by, as I assume, a friend of receptionist.

Room Tip: Quiet hotel, pine trees around :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakizuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I stayed here for a training course and the hotel was excellent, the food quality was high, medium sized room with nice view of forrest, nice furnishings, amazing spa and all staff were extremely friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euroscot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Baby friendly hotel: baby beds available. Elevator.
100m from beach. Access to the beach little bit difficult. But if you walk 150 m more, you will find easier way. Quite fare from center: 20 to 30 min walking.
Very nice hotel. Quite modern from the outside. Inside is OK. Very friendly staff.
Very good quality vs price. Breakfast is perfect. Dinner is OK but not really high quality.
Possiblility to rent bicycles. Pool is small and water rather cold. In our case standard room was big enough for having 2 babybeds. Free wi fi internet available.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecile24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
1.5 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
#1 of 23 in Jurmala
546 reviews
4.9 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pegasa Pils
Pegasa Pils
#17 of 23 in Jurmala
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wooden Villa Aparthotel
Wooden Villa Aparthotel
#12 of 23 in Jurmala
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Sea Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Sea Hotel & SPA

Address: Dzintaru prospekts 68, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Sea Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish comfortable hotel invites You to spend vacation in harmony with Nature. Elegant and cosy Amber Sea Hotel & SPA made for quiet and relaxing family holidays. Perfect location in surrounding of pine forest , restaurant, SPA center with wide range of face and body treatments,Thai massage studio with masseurs from Thailand,indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, friendly staff,free WiFi Internet, private parking,children's playground and wonderful grass plot and just 100 m to the beach - everything You need for a pleasant vacation is here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Sea Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing