We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jurmala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priedes Guest House
Ranked #17 of 27 Jurmala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for almost a week in summer 2012. What a miserable week that was. It's been bothering me so much that I had to write this review even though it's been a while.

Location is good, couldn't be any better, actually. Close to the centre Majori and Jomas Street where all the action is, close to the train station yet far enough to not hear the railway. Short walk to the sea.

The flat is very shabby, (but not chick!) everything is worn out and it is clear that somebody is trying to make business but hasn't had enough money to invest. Beds are tolerable but not really good in any way. There is a shower but it's not enticing. The worst thing about the flat is the smell. It's an awful mixture of human waste and drains. The smell was unrelenting.

We did consider to find another place but at the end didn't bother and just spent as little time in the flat as possible.

It had a fridge and a hob and kettle that worked. Considering what the flat offered it was hugely overpriced.

Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atracurium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked an apartment at Priedes described as "two-bedroomed apartment (4 adults and 2 children)" for our family of two adults, one child and one daughter aged 19. From the description of the apartment, the photos on the website and the price we expected a clean and comfortable apartment.
When we were taken to our apartment - room 7 - we were immediately struck and shocked by the unpleasant smell; the grubby look of the apartment; the bad quality of the furnishings and the reality that we could not possibly be comfortable there. There were three rooms with doorways, but no doors, between them - described by the guy as a 'design solution'. The sheets had unpleasant stains. The springs in the mattresses would have dug into us. There were only enough beds for the four of us with no sofa or sofa bed, so not sure how this could be an apartment for 4 adults and 2 children.
There were only 3 chairs - the guy then brought up a rickety folding chair. The apartment looked nothing like, and was nowhere as good as, the impression given by the publicity and photos.
We were very upset. We were transferred to another apartment set on its own across the back courtyard. Though even smaller and the smell was even worse (a strong smell of drains and damp), there were internal doors between the rooms. However, it was still unpleasant, uncomfortable and, like room 7, was grubby looking, badly furnished, with an uncomfortable double bed, a terribly uncomfortable sofa bed that our daughters had to sleep on (with one daughter hardly being able to sleep and the other falling out at times throughout the night) because there were no beds for them, stained sheets and the smell of drains got stronger when it rained. The door to the toilet/shower 'room' (more like a cupboard) was a flapping, sliding door with no lock and no real privacy. There was no table around which the family could eat.
Neither apartment conforms with the description or impression given in the publicity and certainly neither meets minimum, decent standards or expectations.
We could not stay for longer than one night and the local Tourist Information arranged for a cheaper and much better apartment just down the road which was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squid397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

They don´t speak any English. We had pre-paid and booked by booking.com, they made us wait several hours to get the "room" becouse as they said the room we were suppose to have had problems(room no 9). Finally they gave us another room (same as we booked 2 bedrooms+kitchen/living), but they told that the next day we have tomove somewhere else couple of kms away. Next day we had all our stuff packed but nobody said anything about moving so we figured we´d stay. We had booked 4 nights, so the last night we heard a knock and somebody came and told that we have to move somewhere else in 2 minutes, we were very upset and started arguing and questioning, but nobody spoke English exept a guy they had called to get us to move. So, they took us for our last night to most horrible room in a house that was just about to collapse, with no toilets/shower (shared and horrible) and beds with bed-bugs (our son and I got bitten) I was horrified in that place so I couldn´t sleep a minute. As all this happened they seemed apologised and sorry for inconvinience, but due the language-barrier it didn´t really help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

This was not a happy stay. In any way. The only positive was that is was located close to the beach and the rooms had a nice balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruckner70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

The cheapest place I found in april - for 10 lats single, no breakfast included. On the picture it looks rather decent. In fact, it is very dirty and no linen provided! Been there for two nights (night-day-night) and ran away back to Riga.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MarinaT244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrey-FFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jurmala Spa
Hotel Jurmala Spa
#3 of 23 in Jurmala
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jomas 24
Jomas 24
#6 of 27 in Jurmala
9 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Melnais Starkis Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Aparte Lux
Aparte Lux
#9 of 27 in Jurmala
9 reviews
3.2 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priedes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priedes Guest House

Address: Jomas iela 19, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jurmala
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing