I decided to try this restaurant since it had vegetarian choices and a vegetarian section on the menu. However, one of the dishes "Grilled mixed vegetables, baked with parmesan cheese, served with basil pesto" is incorrectly marked as vegetarian because it has parmesan cheese. This is not something would be commonly known among non vegetarians, but I hope it can be made with another type of cheese or without cheese. Grilled mixed vegetables with mushrooms sounds very tasty and mushrooms are easily found in Latvia. The reason parmesan cheese is not vegetarian is that in order for cheese to be called parmesan, it must be made using animal rennet. I am not sure of the ingredients of the pesto at Upe but many times pesto is made with parmesan cheese, so if so also not vegetarian. I had the "Cauliflower – carrot gratin with horseradish and sour cream" but asked them to make it without sour cream which they did. The dish was tasty, but it had some cheese sprinkled on it which I believe was probably parmesan, so not vegetarian. I am mostly vegetarian not completely, so it was ok for me. This dish would be good and vegetarian as baked cauliflower and carrots (with mushrooms). It is an encouraging sign to see restaurants being more friendly to vegetarians and trying to include vegetarian dishes in their menu.
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.