We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my!”
Review of Liva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liva
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Liepaja
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Liva Hotel

Far from 3* superior 

Stayed in this hotel for just one night but this might be my last stay there.
They call themselves 3* superior, well in this case I think the honor of "superior" is far from actual.
OK, receptionist was great and also the location is great but once you enter the rooms, especially on the third floor. Oh My! Rooms are run down, tho bathroom was in excellent condition. 
If you have windows towards the street you might have a two choices:
1) Follow everything that is going on the street, as I was staying the from Saturday to Sunday it was quite a "fun"
2) You cold also follow things that happened in the hotel if your windows are closed. I thought the walls and floors are from thin paper - if someone, in the room next to me was moving around, I had a feeling that it actually happened in my room. Also you could follow couple bath rituals, especially if guys under you were drinking, they needed toilet breaks quite often. You can witness all the sounds without prior consent.
In addition, sign that hotel has free wifi in rooms is just decorative as if there is one then its probably hides somewhere in public areas. 
As this hotel was the only option for this weekend, if I will need to come to Liepaja again, this will for sure not going to be my next choice, and if this again will be my last choice I will have to get very drunk or get some sleeping pils, or will come later.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank KasparZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

A good base for exploring town and hinterland. Secure car park. Resteraunt was closed when we arrived late evening as was most of town on Sunday, However, after wandering around the town we asked at the Promanade Hotel , whose resteraunt was also closed , where we could eat and were directed by the very friendly manager to Baron Bumbiers not far from the Liva. What a find. We ate there the following night as well. Brilliant. So the hotel liva met our basic needs with clean clean safe accomaodation and we had brilliant food across the square at Baron Bumbiers .Try the soup in a loaf of bread yes... in a loaf of bread. Must be some latvian traditional dish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

If i`ll come again to Liepaja i`ll choose this hotel definitely!!! Very good location, great service, clean and lovely room. Everything was perfect, even price was very good for the city centre.

I stayed there for 4 nights and If i needed something employees helped me always in any time.


I recommend this hotel to everyone! i had EXCELLENT vacation with Livas Hotel help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina1972_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Chose the middle option, price was quite low and it was mine concearn of the service, but everything turned out really good. Staf pleasant and the standard class room stayed in was great. I hoped that in Liepaja would be more snow, but thats what you can not effect. .

Room Tip: Standard class double room to streat side/ center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Rooms in good standard with normal price. Big bathroom (shower). Good service. You can exchange your money on the hall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piopawlowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hotel is located in city center, stayed in standart double room which was big enough and very lovely. Staff was friendly and nice. Breakfast excellent.
Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georges J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed in an economy king room, which was very affordable and quite comfortable too. The room was large, with a lounge suite, small TV, small fridge (which wasn't working), and a decent bathroom. The hotel is right in the centre of town and only 15mins walk to the beach. The staff were friendly enough. The restaurant was a bit disappointing, not very expensive but the food didn't taste very fresh. In fact we didn't find one decent restaurant in Liepaja, where you would expect to find fresh seafood galore. As a summer destination, Liepaja would be quite nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liepaja hotels
0.4 mi away
Europa City Amrita Hotel
Europa City Amrita Hotel
#2 of 15 in Liepaja
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#1 of 15 in Liepaja
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liepaja Travellers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fontaine Royal
Hotel Fontaine Royal
#13 of 15 in Liepaja
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kolumbs
Hotel Kolumbs
#5 of 15 in Liepaja
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bura
Bura
#12 of 15 in Liepaja
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liva

Address: Liela iela 11, Liepaja 3401, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Kurzeme Region > Liepaja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Liepaja
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more than 50 years as the leading tourist hotel in Liepaja, Liva Hotel offers affordable and comfortable accommodations in the heart of the city. With refurbished rooms, fitnes center, WiFi throughout the hotel, and modern conference facilities, Liva Hotel today attracts the business traveler as well as the families and romance-seeking vacationers. Rooms The 115 guestrooms at Liva Hotel are furnished and equipped to suite any purse, from the most discerning business traveler to the economy-focused beach seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Liva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing