We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated and clean!”
Review of Liva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liva
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Liepaja
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
349 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Well situated and clean!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Liva hotel website states "The 3-star superior class Liva Hotel is a leading tourist hotel in the centre of Liepaja. With refurbished rooms, WiFi throughout the hotel, and modern conference facilities, Liva Hotel attracts the business traveller as well as the families and romance-seeking vacationers."

This is not far from wrong - this is just my second day here and already that has become evident. The room that I am in is rather good - spacious bathroom and quiet. Wherever I am in the hotel, I get wifi. My family would have enjoyed staying here. A minute or two of walking and one is at a small mall with superrmarket and a range of other stores.

Breakfast was good with a spread of cereals, salads, cheese and so on. The coffee machine was simple to use and the coffee used is of a good variety. Checking in was a breeze and the staff has a good command of English. They are also very helpful and friendly.

Something which is not so fine is that there was no room cleaning thus far ... will check with reception about that this evening.

Room Tip: rooms on the back is very quiet -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosainnarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
12
29
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great hotel location, in Liepaya center, many shops arround. Good receptionist, helped to solve some of my problems. Also good accommodation for appropriate price. Defenately I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just spent three nights in the Liva, we were competing in the first round of the European Rally Championship, so we were very hard worked and not that bothered about anything except getting food and sleep at the hotel. Spending all day outside in temperatures of -15C and 70km winds, fixing broken race cars will make one appreciate any kind of shelter! First impressions were good, parking next to the hotel and plentiful, a really helpful, smiley receptionist and reasonably smart, re-furbed reception and bar/restaurant area. Our room was a 'superior' double on the 5th floor, apparently the best they do, whilst acceptable it was typically 2 star, small and a bit tired, but warm and with a functioning bathroom and a comfortable bed. The rest of the team stayed on the 3rd floor in standard rooms, which were very tatty and small. Key problem with our room, 516, was a strong smell of sewage, we immediately filled the traps but it didn't make a difference, neither did blocking internal vents. In normal circumstances we would have demanded a room change, but the hotel was full and we just didn't have time to make an issue of it, the only solution was open the windows (-10C...) and dive under the duvet.
The second issue was with the restaurant, food was actually very good indeed, much more sophisticated than is the norm in this part of the world, but the restaurant was completely overwhelmed and waiting times stretched to two hours! This is just a classic management failure, the hotel has been booked solid for this weekend for months, knew exactly what was going on with the rally (they were partners in the event) and yet nobody thought to get extra staff and supplies, or create a special, simple & quick menu for ravenous crews who are cold, exhausted and in a hurry.
So the Liva really needs to get it's act together to take advantage of it's excellent location in the middle of the very attractive and friendly town of Liepaja.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In-Three Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liepaja hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Riga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Liva Hotel

Far from 3* superior 

Stayed in this hotel for just one night but this might be my last stay there.
They call themselves 3* superior, well in this case I think the honor of "superior" is far from actual.
OK, receptionist was great and also the location is great but once you enter the rooms, especially on the third floor. Oh My! Rooms are run down, tho bathroom was in excellent condition. 
If you have windows towards the street you might have a two choices:
1) Follow everything that is going on the street, as I was staying the from Saturday to Sunday it was quite a "fun"
2) You cold also follow things that happened in the hotel if your windows are closed. I thought the walls and floors are from thin paper - if someone, in the room next to me was moving around, I had a feeling that it actually happened in my room. Also you could follow couple bath rituals, especially if guys under you were drinking, they needed toilet breaks quite often. You can witness all the sounds without prior consent.
In addition, sign that hotel has free wifi in rooms is just decorative as if there is one then its probably hides somewhere in public areas. 
As this hotel was the only option for this weekend, if I will need to come to Liepaja again, this will for sure not going to be my next choice, and if this again will be my last choice I will have to get very drunk or get some sleeping pils, or will come later.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KasparZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A good base for exploring town and hinterland. Secure car park. Resteraunt was closed when we arrived late evening as was most of town on Sunday, However, after wandering around the town we asked at the Promanade Hotel , whose resteraunt was also closed , where we could eat and were directed by the very friendly manager to Baron Bumbiers not far from the Liva. What a find. We ate there the following night as well. Brilliant. So the hotel liva met our basic needs with clean clean safe accomaodation and we had brilliant food across the square at Baron Bumbiers .Try the soup in a loaf of bread yes... in a loaf of bread. Must be some latvian traditional dish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

If i`ll come again to Liepaja i`ll choose this hotel definitely!!! Very good location, great service, clean and lovely room. Everything was perfect, even price was very good for the city centre.

I stayed there for 4 nights and If i needed something employees helped me always in any time.


I recommend this hotel to everyone! i had EXCELLENT vacation with Livas Hotel help.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina1972_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Chose the middle option, price was quite low and it was mine concearn of the service, but everything turned out really good. Staf pleasant and the standard class room stayed in was great. I hoped that in Liepaja would be more snow, but thats what you can not effect. .

Room Tip: Standard class double room to streat side/ center
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liepaja hotels
0.2 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#1 of 15 in Liepaja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europa City Amrita Hotel
Europa City Amrita Hotel
#3 of 15 in Liepaja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kolumbs
Hotel Kolumbs
#5 of 15 in Liepaja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porins
Porins
#8 of 15 in Liepaja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pie Jana Liepaja
Pie Jana Liepaja
#13 of 15 in Liepaja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roze
Roze
#4 of 15 in Liepaja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liva

Property: Liva
Address: Liela iela 11, Liepaja 3401, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Kurzeme Region > Liepaja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Liepaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more than 50 years as the leading tourist hotel in Liepaja, Liva Hotel offers affordable and comfortable accommodations in the heart of the city. With refurbished rooms, fitnes center, WiFi throughout the hotel, and modern conference facilities, Liva Hotel today attracts the business traveler as well as the families and romance-seeking vacationers. Rooms The 115 guestrooms at Liva Hotel are furnished and equipped to suite any purse, from the most discerning business traveler to the economy-focused beach seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Liva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing