We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about the hotel, thumbs up for the restaurant”
Review of Hotel Kolumbs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kolumbs
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Liepaja
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Generally, it’s a nice and modernly decorated hotel, trying to keep up with it’s 4 stars status. High-class and not overpriced restaurant adds up to a pleasant side of the stay (highly recommended!). The head of the staff Janis was especially sincere and helpful, giving additional charm to the experience. Breakfast, maybe not very rich from the first sight, proved to be unexpectedly tasty (selection slightly changes day to day and you are given a possibility to expand it even more by ordering some extras from the breakfast menu). Our room was big and came equipped with all you need for a comfortable stay (apart from fixtures) and had a big empty fridge. A/C unit was working effectively and we were using it as an additional heater.

But our visit didn’t start all that pretty. We chose a room with Jacuzzi, which proved to be a huge disappointment, because it was spraying pieces of dirt, totally spoiling the expected romantic experience. Bathroom itself was very cold and came equipped with a motion detector for light installed somewhere in the ceiling, so that light would go off every time you spent there more than 2 min and to get light back you need to be waiving hands frantically in all the directions for a while. What a strange idea! Bed was a bit too soft and night sleep resulted in an aching back. The corridors felt almost chilly enough to catch cold. After a failed attempts of the romantic evening and good rest, I tried to work (it was a business trip after all) but this wasn’t especially successful either. Light was hardly sufficient for reading, while for the wi-fi it took around an hour the first evening to establish a decent connection.

Despite all the shortcomings we came to like this hotel and wouldn’t mind prolonging our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel is very average with no special character: ok hotel with ok rooms. The receptionists are nice and helpful. The food was terrible and when we complained about it, the answer was "okey". (Not even a cup of coffee offered as compensation.) Next day the receptionist told us that normally everyone likes their food, but last night had been exceptionally busy and maybe thats why the food was so bad. I would't risk eating there another time thought, busy or not busy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We arrived at the Liepaja Autoosta (bus station) from Riga and, not knowing that the tramvajs (tram) could have taken us to within a couple of blocks of the hotel, ended up walking with our luggage to Vecliepaja (Old Liepaja) and the Hotel Kolumbs. It took us about 45 minutes to make the trek. This walk provided a good tour of the city. By the time we left Liepaja a few days later, we had learned that we could take the tram all the way back to the bus station. It cost .4 Lat (40 santims) for the tram.

It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the beach. The beach has very soft sand and the surf was very mellow during our stay. There were a couple of bars in large tents right on the sand where we relaxed with beers and fresh-made mojitos.

The elevator at Hotel Kolumbs was not working during our stay, but Janis from reception helped us with our bags to our room. The first room we were given overlooked the main street, which was cobblestone. We were concerned about road noise and asked for a room off the main street. We ended up on the fourth floor in room 418. The room had a comfortable queen (?) size bed. The bath did not have a shower, but it did have a large soaking tub with a shower hose we could use when sitting in the tub and holding the hose over our head. There was a decent-sized closet in the room, but we could have used a few additional hangers in the closet. The room had a fan mounted high on the wall that we used at night to help keep the room cool, without having to keep the windows open. We enjoyed two restful nights at this hotel.

Breakfast each morning was in a room off of the sleek, modern and light-filled restaurant/bar. The breakfast was very good, with a selection of cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, etc. The highlights were the made-to-order omelette and the self-serve coffee machine. We regret we didn't have a chance to have a glass of Uzavas beer in the bar, as it was one of our favorite beers in Latvia and was on tap at the bar.

Janis from reception was very helpful, advising us how to take the city bus to Karosta north of the city, where we spent a day walking the very long pier and exploring the ruins of the late-19th century concrete fortifications that are crumbling into the Baltic Sea.

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, you may want to consider a room not overlooking the main, cobblestone st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kANDsErgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Good hotel near the sea and the center of city. About 10 minutes walk. Good hotel for staying for a few days and if You want to travel around the city. In reception very good service and friendly personnel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NauryRiga_Latvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Everything with this hotel was good.

Very friendly staff (who helped us with both bike rental, sightseeing tips and a shuttle bus to Riga), nice location, very nice rooms/bathroom, excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicByte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It is quite nice hotel with comfortable rooms. It seems that it was recently renovated. Breakfest is quite good. Internet free and good quality. Multilanguage staff. And really excellent reception srevice - very helpful and kind.
Really reccomended place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is one of the best in Liepaja. Modern design and relatively new. Good rooms. Alright breakfast. Central location and quiet during the night. Few guests, though, probably due to the crisis. Prices here are somewhat higher than many other hotels in Liepaja.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liepaja hotels
0.9 mi away
Europa City Amrita Hotel
Europa City Amrita Hotel
#2 of 15 in Liepaja
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Liva
Liva
#3 of 15 in Liepaja
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#1 of 15 in Liepaja
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fontaine Hotel
Fontaine Hotel
#9 of 15 in Liepaja
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roze
Roze
#4 of 15 in Liepaja
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fontaine Royal
Hotel Fontaine Royal
#13 of 15 in Liepaja
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kolumbs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kolumbs

Address: Kur u iela 32, Liepaja 3401, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Kurzeme Region > Liepaja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Liepaja
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kolumbs 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in one of the most beautiful cities of Latvia in pearl of the region of Kurzeme in Liepaja. The hotel Hotel KOLUMBS has been unveiled on 2007 it is a place for your: relaxation, work, entertainment. We wish You have a nice stay in Hotel KOLUMBS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kolumbs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing