We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for good price”
Review of Ala Hotel & Hostel

Ala Hotel & Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ala Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #87 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The main advantage of that place is its location: old city, quiet street, near railway and bus station. Something between hotel and hostel, with a common kitchen and toilets for 3 double rooms at every floor. Quite clean. Small room with comfortable bed. Good wi-fi. The reception is open 24/7 because the first floor is actually a nice café open 24/7. The girl there looks good. The guy was very helpful when I needed. Always someone in the area to help. The price is good: i paid 43 lats for 3 nights during Easter 2013. Breakfast is not included. I tried it once for some lats. Good choice but not very good kitchen. You can find better and cheaper not far from it. But the café is comfortable. Perhaps because of the period, the hotel was almost empty, which is good because it seemed very noisy as soon as someone speaks in a neighbour room. You can hear all the conversations through the thin walls. I would probably rate it lower if I was there at a peak period. Special attention to the decoration: it's done such a way that it's nice and original though it probably didn't cost much for the owners.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good to avoid the noise of the café but there is no elevator and the building if h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay, but not very social like most hostels. The rooms are neat and clean. The showers does require a clean tho.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Discovered this wonderful hostel whilst on a recent trip to Riga and it was a delight. Great bar, fab and funky decor and the friendliest staff..particularly Karlus. Also a great singer, Alexis who had an amazing voice and wide repetoire of songs in many languages. There's also a quaint courtyard in the back which was a sun trap...perfect spot to relax in ! Unfortunately I didn't get to stay in the hostel...I just visited every evening for some good company, great music and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KILKENNYKATIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I suspect you need to wear earplugs to sleep if you're going to bed anytime before 7am in Riga, so I won't deduct points for noisiness outside the hostel.

Our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. My only complaints are that the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all while we were there (2 nights), and it started to look gnarly. Also, the doorbell wasn't working during one night of our stay without any note indicating a problem, which caused a good deal of drunken distress/confusion upon return early in the morning. My friend had to bang on the glass for us to be admitted in.

The free Wifi didn't reach our room a few floors up. (Be prepared to walk up many flights if you are above the second floor.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Great and helpfull stuff, nice rooms, quite clean but with strange smell in the shower room. There's also a pub/club/disco downstairs so it's very loud at night.
But you will get ear-plugs (!!!) to sleep softly in a quiet reality ;-)
No brekafast included is a great minus compensated by localisation of a hostel.

Good place to stay for a acceptable price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

very good reception --> receptionists are very nice and accommodating and friendly :)
gives good recommendations on where to go and what to see and where to eat :)
room is colorful, but there was no room service and daily housekeeping.
in the center of old riga.
the reception service is the best!!! :D
they didn't clean the room... toilet and shower room were not so clean as well, but not really dirty, though.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Rooms are clean, roomy and well furnished. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Everything was in very good working condition, the shower room was excellent. Very central location, within easy walking distance of the train station. Highly recommended. The staff went beyond the call of duty to help.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh_and_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#21 of 150 in Riga
67 reviews
0 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 111 in Riga
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Hotel & Hostel

Address: Audeju iela 11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £35 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ala Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Hotel and Hostel is the least expensive option in the Old town. Specially designed rooms and natural materials and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ala Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing