We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of professionalism. The worst experience ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ala Hotel & Hostel

Ala Hotel & Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ala Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Riga
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of professionalism. The worst experience ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

[11:35:47 AM] Hara: Luck of professionalism. We've booked 4 triple rooms, 2 weeks before our arrival and when we arrive with my group, they told us that they have problems with the electricity in our rooms and they booked us in another hostel with lower benefits. After that we've asked them to find us another hotel and after a long conversation with lies we've asked to see our rooms without the electricity and a woman told us finally that they gave them to other people and this is why they told us about electricity. We've called the police as well and they couldn't do anything because they couldn't find any information about the owner. This is the first time that something like that happen to me and It was really a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The main advantage of that place is its location: old city, quiet street, near railway and bus station. Something between hotel and hostel, with a common kitchen and toilets for 3 double rooms at every floor. Quite clean. Small room with comfortable bed. Good wi-fi. The reception is open 24/7 because the first floor is actually a nice café open 24/7. The girl there looks good. The guy was very helpful when I needed. Always someone in the area to help. The price is good: i paid 43 lats for 3 nights during Easter 2013. Breakfast is not included. I tried it once for some lats. Good choice but not very good kitchen. You can find better and cheaper not far from it. But the café is comfortable. Perhaps because of the period, the hotel was almost empty, which is good because it seemed very noisy as soon as someone speaks in a neighbour room. You can hear all the conversations through the thin walls. I would probably rate it lower if I was there at a peak period. Special attention to the decoration: it's done such a way that it's nice and original though it probably didn't cost much for the owners.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good to avoid the noise of the café but there is no elevator and the building if h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benoitm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay, but not very social like most hostels. The rooms are neat and clean. The showers does require a clean tho.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Discovered this wonderful hostel whilst on a recent trip to Riga and it was a delight. Great bar, fab and funky decor and the friendliest staff..particularly Karlus. Also a great singer, Alexis who had an amazing voice and wide repetoire of songs in many languages. There's also a quaint courtyard in the back which was a sun trap...perfect spot to relax in ! Unfortunately I didn't get to stay in the hostel...I just visited every evening for some good company, great music and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KILKENNYKATIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I suspect you need to wear earplugs to sleep if you're going to bed anytime before 7am in Riga, so I won't deduct points for noisiness outside the hostel.

Our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. My only complaints are that the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all while we were there (2 nights), and it started to look gnarly. Also, the doorbell wasn't working during one night of our stay without any note indicating a problem, which caused a good deal of drunken distress/confusion upon return early in the morning. My friend had to bang on the glass for us to be admitted in.

The free Wifi didn't reach our room a few floors up. (Be prepared to walk up many flights if you are above the second floor.)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Great and helpfull stuff, nice rooms, quite clean but with strange smell in the shower room. There's also a pub/club/disco downstairs so it's very loud at night.
But you will get ear-plugs (!!!) to sleep softly in a quiet reality ;-)
No brekafast included is a great minus compensated by localisation of a hostel.

Good place to stay for a acceptable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

very good reception --> receptionists are very nice and accommodating and friendly :)
gives good recommendations on where to go and what to see and where to eat :)
room is colorful, but there was no room service and daily housekeeping.
in the center of old riga.
the reception service is the best!!! :D
they didn't clean the room... toilet and shower room were not so clean as well, but not really dirty, though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
#60 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ars Vivendi Rezidence
Ars Vivendi Rezidence
#43 of 139 in Riga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Hotel & Hostel

Property: Ala Hotel & Hostel
Address: Audeju iela 11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ala Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Hotel and Hostel is the least expensive option in the Old town. Specially designed rooms and natural materials and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ala Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing