We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Great hotel - we will use it again.
Clean. Free Internet. Free parking. Good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InkaMandarinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    204
    66
    31
    9
See reviews for
67
166
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

First time in latvia and found the dodo hotel easy to find, just jump on the no7 tram from town after buying a day ticket for 1.90lts. It takes about 7 min from town, and stops outside the hotel. The hotel is very clean our room was just the right size for two people, with en-suite shower room. We cant coment on the breakfast as we didnt eat there.
The hotel had a free phone where you could phone any place in the world for five minutes at a time. We are planing to return to latvia in the winter and hope to stay at the same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank colinchilds34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

If you are looking for a hotel that offers good value, you can book at DODO Hotel. We booked our twin room for 3 nights at Euro 29 nett per night which is the cheapest that we can find in Riga. The hotel is new and it got WIFI even in our room. The beds are good and it has the basics - towels, soaps and shampoos. But watch out, the hotel has no elevator. Therefore, you need to carry your bags if your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor.

The hotel is a 1 minute walk from the tram station that can take you to the old town in 10 minutes. There is a mall which has some coffee shops, money exchange, a supermarket, restaurants, near the hotel - maybe 10 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

The staff in the hotel are very polite, and they communicate well in English. They can help you out if you need to ask questions about directions, places of interest, etc. They can even call a taxi for you if you need one.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hens0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

If you are looking for a nice place to stay and at the same time do not want to pay for something you don't need - DODO can be good solution. I've read many reviews about it and honestly was not sure that i've chosen proper place to stay but for some reason i went directly to this hotel.

LOCATION: Not far from the center/ 5 minutes by tram from the terminal. Bad idea to take taxi. You can buy e-ticket for tram, it's usefull and not expensive. The only thing that can bother you - people around. Most of them are friendly and speak english. But as anywhere in the world - do not talk to strangers:))) So please NOTICE: nothing to do with hotel itself, the situtaion in this country is not safe in general:)) so if you've chosen Riga - just take care.

HOTEL
Very clean, very!! Modern design, comfortable beds, WiFi, .... actually anything globe trotter needs.
Non-smocker rooms by the way. If you need a cigarette - go outside. That what i was doing:)))

Rooms may seem not that big, but cosy. There's no elevator by the way. I am travelling alone so it was enough space for me.

STUFF

Friendly, multilingual, polite.. Especially Nadia :))))))

P.S.
Some people just don't have good manners and i am sorry for them. The only negative thing - russian tourists. I am slavic myself but I'm sorry I respect other people and their privacy. It's really sad that such people think that if they've payed they can do anything they want, make terrible noice, throw garbage on every corner etc. And the worst is that they don't respect people around, especially stuff.


So once again thank you guys!

Surely I will come back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrrinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Usually you get what you pay for, but this hotel have a better standard then I expected.
Clean, tidy and minimalistic rooms, easy to get to by taxi (fix your price before entering the car!) and tram. Also wery helpful staff!

Check out these restaurants: Bellavie (Expensive for the special occation), Province (Nice restaurant with local food and few tables, nice price).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikTvinnereim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

a tram goes in front of the hotel to town. good connection to town.
employees is very very nice!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The location of hotel is good, nearby is a lot of to shop, Lido restaurant is near and to centre/old town is not far away. Recommend to travellers with low budjet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 109 in Riga
180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#61 of 109 in Riga
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#66 of 109 in Riga
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#39 of 109 in Riga
523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#48 of 109 in Riga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing