We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Me and my partner stayed here in December for a cheap prechristmas break. We grabbed a deal last minute and this was the hotel we stayed at. It is in a very good location, not in the city cente but certainly on the outskirts and litterally a 5 (maybe ten in traffic) minute taxi journey from everything. Its lovely and clean and although the rooms are fairly small theyre quiet, warm and comfy. The staff are friendly and the hotel is in a safe neighborhood with good tram links, although we used taxis due to it being very cold in December!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyam_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    198
    65
    29
    9
See reviews for
63
164
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed at Dodo for a week over NYE 2011. Rooms are small and seem to get very hot even though you can slightly open the window and turn the heating off (and it was winter). We didn't try the breakfast as it was cheaper to eat out. There is a mall close by (apx 10mins walk) and they have a coffee club which do good breakfasts. The housekeeping staff were quite noisy and there were repairs happening close by our room - so that was a bit annoying. The staff were ok, nothing special. The water in the tap was wonderfully icy cold (always nice!) There is no elevator. Taxis cost 3lt into Old Town and the tram is about 70cents, so not too pricey to get around. The area looks quite dark and dodge, but we never had a problem. Would recommend Dodo for couples on a budget visiting Riga for a couple of nights only, otherwise perhaps look for an apartment...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Pros:
- Location is not that bad. We were worried but the walk into the Old Town took us about twenty minutes and we were strolling as looking at the churches and buildings in the area.
- Tram is efficient and runs many times an hour and goes from right outside the hotel. Travel for five days on all trams at any time was 6 Lats, which we bought from the machine outside arrivals at the airport.
- Taxi from the airport was 10 Lats, to the airport was 8 Lats.
- Hotel and room were modern looking. Comfy bed, small TV, cute bathroom with a good shower. Housekeeping everyday left the room looking good and gave us fresh towels everyday.
- Breakfast was good. Lots to choose from. Tasted nice.

Cons:
- The soundproofing in the rooms. We were woken up early by housekeeping/children/people in the corridor/people being naughty in the middle of the night, etc.
- As the hotel is a little further out from the centre, it would have been nice to have been able to go and sit in a bar in the hotel for a few drinks when we returned from town; we didn't stay out too late and found we could have done with something back at the hotel for a couple of hours.
- There is no safe in the room so we resorted to carrying almost all of our valuables around with us for the whole trip.
- There is no bath in the bathroom.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Excellent hotel for good price ;-) We'll back soon :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We`ll very happy to stay in Dodo again! It was clean, quiet and comfortable room, not so big, but enough for me and my boyfriend. The hotel is really near by Lido, Mols and Old Riga.The staff is professional and friendly. We like Dodo!=)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikusja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

1. Room was clean, it is important to us. Excellent bed for kids!
2. Breakfast is good, breakfast had pancakes (for children is the best).
3. Excellent location of the hotel, all nearby.
4. The friendly people at reception!
5. Good price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I are very familiar with Riga, but had never stayed at a hotel there. We were very impressed and pleasantly surprised by Dodo! We found the front desk staff very friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel was very clean and new-looking. Our room was small, but it had all the basics and it was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a nice shower with hair dryer on the wall. The room decor was simple, but tasteful and modern. The hotel can be reached by a short (no more than 10 min.) tram ride from the centre of town. There was no lift in the hotel, but we stayed in a ground floor room, which made things very simple. There is a vending machine and a free phone to order pizza delivery, as well as a couple of grocery stores right outside the hotel, but we did not use those as the center of Riga is so easy to reach. The breakfast was all-you can eat, coffee, tea, juices, crepes, boiled eggs, porridge, bread, cheese, etc. We definitely will stay there again!

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, remember there is no lift. The ground floor is called "first floor"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMADC-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#35 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#42 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing