We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Riga
novid_manu
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hotel is a bit far from the city centre and is not in a very posh area of town but still it is a good hotel if you ae travelling on a budget or just prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of the old town. The hotel is located near a super market and the breakfast is good value for your money. Staff are very nice and helpfull.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank novid_manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    204
    66
    32
    9
See reviews for
67
166
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Good budget hotel, Pleasant rooms,very clean, good pancake breakfast. Easy to get to from centre of Riga, public transport excellent, trams and buses. Can be a bit noisy at weekends though
Reasonable price, and great value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is at a far end of center, nothig special or bad about the place. Rooms a bit small but clean and all must need was there including free wi fi. Parking in front of hotel is free. Center is 10 mn away by car.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were 2 couples and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.Very clean and new-rooms were small but as cost £20 pn could not complain,Very near a new modern shopping centre-about 10 mins walk with cafes so did not need to try breakfast.convenient for trams-1 day caught 1 to near train station and went to Majori-seaside town with white beaches and shallow sea about 40mins away. Small corner shop directly opposite you can buy all sorts in there. and a cafe/bar to left of hotel as you face it-has an umbrella in alleyway-nice lady serves coffee/alcohol(cherry wine is 1 lat and very good)/salads. All in all this hotel is a bargain as so easy to get in and out of old town via tram. Area reminded my husband of 'The third man' but it was quiet and safe-police station is just up the road!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto a west side are quieter as there is a barking dog in a nearby garden on the east s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place is okay - just okay. I got it a little cheaper (I think) by booking it on a last minute website, so I think I paid about £25 a night, which didn't include breakfast (which, from reading other reviews, sounds very overpriced).

I found the service pretty average - in some cases, terrible. I barely got a smile out of the receptionists some days. The rooms are okay, but there was a dog barking non-stop the whole time I was there (four nights) which was annoying. On one of the nights I was there, there was a huge group of people spread out over three/four rooms who kept yelling/laughing/going into each other's rooms and despite me asking them three times to close their doors, they didn't. I went to reception and asked them to help me, and the security guard was helpful and asked them to keep it down and close all their doors. This seemed to calm them down a lot.

There's no fridge in the room, which was disappointing, so there was no way I could store fruit to have it for breakfast without it going off. The rooms are pretty bare, and I could only find one English-speaking channel - BBC World News - on the TV. You can also hear EVERYONE thumping up and down the corridor.

The location is fine. I didn't have a problem with the neighbourhood (I found it quite endearing) and it's very safe. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into town, or about 15 minutes by tram (if you are catching a tram home at night, be prepared to wait for up to 10 minutes - it is probably quicker to walk if it's summer and you're keen to get back).

If I was in Riga again, I would look for alternative accommodation. This place isn't terrible, but it's not that great either.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Spent three nights at Dodo hotel in July 2012 with a friend in double room. The hotel was a really pleasant surprise, was not expecting such a super nice hotel with such a low price. The staff was great, very helpful and nice. The room felt brand new, everything was tidy, neat, clean and did not feel like a budget hotel at all. Although it seemed that the hotel was quite full, there was no disturbances. The only thing that bothered was a dog that barked quite a long time at night, but we handled this with just putting our earplugs on. Also, the room was quite hot (but it was also +30 celsius on all three days in Riga, so this is understandable). Just had to leave the curtains closed for the day, so that the room wouldn't be so warm at night.


The breakfast cost 4 lat, only had it on the morning of our departure. I thought the breakfast gave pretty good value for money, was not great, but not bad either. There were eggs, sausages (not very appealing though), cucumber, two types of cold cuts, cottage cheese and other types of cheeses, tomato, yoghurt, cereal, crepes, different sweet jams. Coffee and tea.

Location was good in my opinion considering that the trams 3, 7, 9 go right in front of the hotel from the centre. Would not have walked from the centre to the hotel, the walk would have been too long after a day of walking in the Old Town. The minus side is that the trams don't go to the hotel anymore after 00.30, so after that, a taxi is the only alternative.

Absolutely would recommend this hotel to everyone, great value for money, really clean and trustworthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKkatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was consistent with description and pictures. Very nice and professional staff. Clean and tidy. A little small rooms but we knew that already. Good price and great value for money. Can recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay here next time we visit Riga, this amazing city :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 109 in Riga
180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#61 of 109 in Riga
232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#65 of 109 in Riga
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#47 of 109 in Riga
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#48 of 109 in Riga
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 109 in Riga
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing