We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We liked the way we were met by the receptionist. The stay itself was more than we expected from a budget hotel. The room/bath were both small, but nice and clean. Breakfast was the way we like it (coffee was good !). No big sounds or disturbance during night. Surroundings were part of old Riga and nothing wrong with that, only interesting if you are open for it. The tram brings you in few minutes to City center or in the other direction to The Lido Recreation Centre. Where they have reasonable and fantastic range of food for everyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DagPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times. Reception found rooms for us even without reservateion. Very nice hotel for this money. Rooms are not big, but clean and cozy. Close to the city centre and our favorite restaurant Lido. Your can't find better hotel for this price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KerstiP914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Impressive hotel, paid 30 bucks a night, room is small, but decorated nicely and comfortable, close to the city center , very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful, near tram stop, excellent for the price!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myka105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

we stayed here fr five nights staff very freindly especially diane. my husband and i are well travelled and really enjoyed being amongst the locals at a little cafe come bar round the corner ftom dodo. you can get the tram into riga every fifteen mins a lovely experience that really gives an idea of the real latvia. we also caught a train to majori this is a seaside town and beach the train cost one lat ninety return. we dif not like the food very much but there is plenty of choice in riga. all in all we enjoyed the ttrip and would stay here again. trish and damian rugeley oct 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rugely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The is a reasonably priced budget hotel and is located quite far from the city centre. We were here as part of a stag weekend and had prearranged travel to various activates and to the city centre during the evening which made things a lot easier. The hotel itself is modern and provides free WiFi. The area around the hotel doesn't seem too safe however we didn't have any problems. There is a tram nearby which provides access to the centre and there are a few shops where you can by snacks and drinks. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend away as you'll be better off booking somewhere closer in the city. It was however fine for our weekend and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nice hotel, clean and easy to reach by tram or taxi. With this price, it is hard to find a better hotel! Rooms are clean and pretty nice, wi-fi works very well in every part of the structure.
For sure I will come back in this hotel during my next journey in Riga.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here our first night in Riga, and I was a bit disappointed. The pictures make it looks modern and trendy, but when you get there the decor falls flat. It looked cheap, and the room didn't smell good. The location is also not good. It is easy to get to the center on the tram, but there are so many other places you can stay, nicer, and not have to take a tram at all. It appeared clean, and the 24 hour reception was nice, but that's about all I can say for it. Also, when we asked for the lift they pointed us towards the stairs. Oh, and very loud, apparently the person above us had on heels and walked around incessantly in the morning. Definitely wouldn't stay here again, especially knowing of better places for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomanCasalinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 110 in Riga
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#48 of 110 in Riga
190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#62 of 110 in Riga
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#67 of 110 in Riga
115 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#91 of 110 in Riga
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing