We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget so don't expect too much”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Checked in o.k. quite late on a Friday night so wanted to get out and experience the night-life promptly, was held up with lots of form filling asking for every detail, including passport numbers. Had twin room which had just enough clearance at the bottom of the bed to walk past (if you turned sideways). Bathroom was small, just enough room to turn in. When one of our parties shower fell from the wall (no fault of his own) due to a loose wall bracket and smashed the shower screen the receptionist tried to make us pay 80LATS damage and 40LATS for a new room. Got manager involved who reduced cost to 30LATS, we reluctantly paid as we didnt want to spend the whole night arguing. I'd say go there for a weekend, certainly don't stay here if you don't like stag/hen parties with rowdy noisey people. Didn't use the restaurant. Hotel is a good 1 hour walk into town (St Peter's Church area) but even the locals don't recommend going out near the hotel at night (area a bit like down-town Baghdad). Shop across the road did a roaring trade, would go there often for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We got towels change everyday and everything was very clean. Staff was very helpful and made our stay comfortable. We did not get any disturbances either from outside noise or annoying staff members, privacy was respected.

It was a bit away from the center, but with good transportation links.
If you like to walk though, it was well withing walking distance to most attractions.

I would go back there again.

Room Tip: It was a bit away from the center, but with good transportation links. If you like to walk though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KobaTirkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We got towels change everyday and everything was very clean. Staff was very helpful and made our stay comfortable. We did not get any disturbances either from outside noise or annoying staff members, privacy was respected.

It was a bit away from the center, but with good transportation links.
If you like to walk though, it was well withing walking distance to most attractions.

I would go back there again.

Room Tip: It was a bit away from the center, but with good transportation links. If you like to walk though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Only just returned from Riga where we stayed in Dodo Hotel for 2 nights. Hotel was great with only a 5 minute journey to the town center. The only downfall was the breakfast. As we dont eat pork we were literally living off bread and tomatoes. apart from that was a great hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cengaliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Nice , clean hotel, with TV and WiFi at the room. Close to the tram. Much to see if you walk to the downtown area. Could be more light in the room, hard to read. If we are going back to Riga, we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode Pakusch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

there was a large group of us who booked this hotel for the ice hockey in february.
the hotel is not in the best of areas but we had no problems all the staff was really friendly and the hotel was very clean and tidy. defo stay there again. very cheap. breakfast could be looked at it was not great. disappointing . would go back and would love to see more of riga such a lovely city

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rnscooby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

At first we found the neighborhood rather scary - especially during the late evening. However, the hotel offered several conveniences that can easily otherwise be taken for granted:

1. Secure and reasonably priced parking facilities
2. Quiet neighborhood
3. Tram station right outside
4. Hotel located only 3-4 stops away from the city center - barely a 12 minute ride!
5. Breakfast is decent; but at the ridiculously cheap price I think it's a bonus to have been included anyways
6. Cute, basic and charming in its own way

My girlfriend and I picked this hotel mostly because of its name (an affectionate nickname for her too!) - and if I ever visit Riga again, although I might think of trying out someplace new, I'd definitely spend one night here for old time's sake!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rohannarula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 110 in Riga
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#49 of 110 in Riga
189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#62 of 110 in Riga
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#67 of 110 in Riga
115 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#91 of 110 in Riga
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £20 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing