We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend staying”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Everything was just excellent except that the breakfast is a little bit pricey for a person. The room was very good and comfy. There's also big plus for the hotel for free internet connection. I think it's the best in Riga for me at the moment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VilteSabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We took the 22 bus to the old town and then walked, it took around 15 minutes to walk to the hotel, it was easy to find, but you would certainly not expect to find it in the area in which it is!

The locality looks very run down and seems disconcerting, but we like many others who have reviewed had no problems.

The hotel itself is very basic but modern. The rooms are small but perfectly functional, the bathrooms are small but the shower is hot! What more could you want for the price.

Our only qualm was with the radiator in the room, whilst hot, it didn't heat the room effectively considering we were greeted by a very Baltic -16℃! A visit to reception resulted in being handed some extra duvets which made it a bit more cosy! Some people moan about them not being brought up to the room, maybe they should consider spending more and staying elsewhere!

The hotel offers breakfast which we didn't have, there are vending machines selling coffee/croissants/snacks which was more than adequate.

The hotel lacks any kind of bar which is something I think they're missing a trick on considering the nearest bar is a tram ride or 20 minute walk away. There are a couple of convenience shops directly outside the hotel, however the shop keepers aren't the most friendly, and asked in broken English if we were staying at the Dodo and proceeded to grunt and frown at us, which was interesting.

Overall the hotel is fantastic value for money, staff are friendly and the beds are comfortable, things like free WiFi are great touches, and the keycard wallet has tram route information/taxi contacts to help you on your way.

We used the trams once we'd got our heads round how to use them. All forms of public transport in Riga are frequent and cheap. We paid €7 for a three day ticket on all transport types, but you can buy tickets for just one type or set amount of trips. Best to get these from the machines when you arrive or dotted around the city as the out of town stops don't have them and you'll end up buying single trips from the driver which may work out more expensive.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kdhurst380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

hotel is very clean, all the staff was very helpful.
rooms are good, clean, bathroom are small.
breakfast was not worth having to be fare the only let down of the hotel.
defo stay there again.
riga was such a lovely place.
much try is the KHL bar and the KIWI bar
just be very careful of the taxis

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rnscooby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

On the plus side you have the price, obviously. On the minus side there's the location (only a short tram ride downtown, but in the nearby area there's not much to see) and the lack of an elevator. Make sure you're not travelling with heavy luggage if you stay here.

The standards are pretty basic, so if you need a pretty cheap hotel and don't crave high standards, this might suit you well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

October, 2013. I spent two nights there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The area is frightening at first view, but I walked a lot ( daylight) and nothing problem/trouble. The room was small, but clean as the bathroom too. The walls are little bit thin, but I was tired enough for sleeping every nights. The old town walking distance, the airport catch by bus from Centraltirgus station ( near Stockmann Shopping centre, distance from hotel cc 2,5 km ), Airport calls "Lidosta". Or take a taxi, it was 7-10 LVL ( around 10-12 EUR ).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is not very difficult to get to (we walked from a bus station to the hotel and it took as about 20 minutes - it was quite a fun to look at the Latvian wasteland). The area where the hotel is located is full of heavy industrial buildings and poor wooden houses you'd expect to meet in a Russian village, not at a capital of European country. That's why I was afraid that the hotel'd be as scary as it's neighbourhood - but it was not! That was just like a sunbeam at the grey sky, so tidy, modern and light! We managed to proced with check-in early in the morning for additional payment and went to a wonderful breakfast which offered various dishes. Really great! The room was amazing, enough of space for twin beds with neat furniture and comfortable bathroom (bathshower, not bath). The sleep was good as well.
A couple of supermarkets and the Lido are located not very far away, we used our feet to get there - 30 min to walk along the highway.
Though the neighbourhood looks very dangerous, the hotel itself is very comfortable having a tram station just in front of it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I chose the cheapest room. It was small, but had it's own bathroom. Small drawbacks were the TV had to be mounted at an awkward angel because of the size of the room, and I would have liked a chair instead of a footstool. But the bed was very comfortable & I was impressed with how clean the bed & room were. Were I to return I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
3  Thank Denovan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 110 in Riga
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#49 of 110 in Riga
189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#62 of 110 in Riga
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#67 of 110 in Riga
115 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#91 of 110 in Riga
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £20 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing