We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad, but ok for stags”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I stayed in the Dodo as part of a stag party in Sept 2008. There were only 6 of us, 5 on the first night, between a number of rooms. Now first thing to say is that the rooms are mostly twin from what we saw and the same price for 2 people occupying as it is 1. ** Unless you get a great deal, It is only good value if you get 2 in a room. ** The hotel also doesn't look as it does in the pictures!!

There have been mixed reviews on the location, it would seem. The tram is on the doorstep and cheap (0.50Lat to go anywhere one way) and that goes into the centre fine. You can also get to other locations as well and although it can get busy, the price negates this in my opinion. Around the hotel itself, there is a tiny shop next to it that looks very 'interesting', but alternatively a big shopping centre and supermarket is a short walk away. There is no fridge in the room (so don't buy milk!), but water and stuff is well priced here.

Around the hotel is the same as most of the Riga suburbs, Russian style, war torn buildings where you feel you could easily be shot at, with the odd bit of westernisation dotted about. The centre of Riga is better, with bars in the 'old town' and a very nice bar at the top of the skyline building (the tall one) on the 26th floor. On the ground floor (Floor 1 when in Latvia), there was also a good casino.

I can see why stags go here but be careful and book your excursions through a reputable third party. And even then don't expect things like club entry and stuff to be sorted for you. I personally wouldn't go back but it was an experience. It's also not as cheap as you think it will be.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldDogNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2008

We arrived at the hotel with a taxi from the airport. This turned out to be a good decision since it’s out of town and not easy to find. The hotel is new and modern. The room and the bed are very small and the breakfast was not that good.

The hotel states that you can walk in to town in just 15 minutes. The tram takes almost 15 minutes into town. The area around the hotel must look exactly the same as it did in 1940. You get a feeling that the area is not safe (maybe that’s why the security man at the hotel has a pistol in his belt) but I don’t know.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

This hotel is the design low cost hotel in Riga. The design is quite nice.

The hotel is located is calm and charming area of old wooden house close the shopping center.

+++ :
- location
- best price in town
- everything new
- clean
- easy and free parking on the street

- - - :

- no restaurant
- only no smoking room

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nata_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

we stayed in dodo hotel in august 2008 and this hotel is perfect for who understand what is a low cost concept. we do not have money to book in 4 stars hotel but we are looking for something nice, clean with good bed where it's possible to reach old riga easily and quickly. During our trip in Baltic state, this hotel was the best value for the money that we got.

we travel with our 2 children (5 yo and 8 yo) and we booked a familly room. 1 double bed + 2 juxtaposed beds in dark wood as the room. the room look nice and we have enough space. (it's familly room, more bigger than the standart one)

there was a lot of young familly with children too. the staff was nice and helpfull.

good things: hairdryer in the room. soft bed clothes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodolph_vermut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Dodo hotel is certainly not in the town center but don't let that put you off...if you are reasonably fit and don't mind getting some fresh air - it is a 15/20 min walk into town. It is also directly on the No7 tram line which runs every 10 mins. It is small but clean and modern and very good value.

The area is very run down but completely safe,however, like in all cities probably best to get a taxi at night. Be careful with the taxi drivers, they are not very honest in the main. Be sure to agree a price before you get in. You should pay no more than 8 lats from Dodo to airport and 3 -5 lat for a trip into town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCDublin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Low cost, but little space.
New building.
The staff is OK.
Nothing to do at the hotel except for eating and sleeping.
Unsafe to take a walk along the street at night time. Taxi not to cheap from central places to the hotel.
Streetcar was cheap.
This was a disappointment.
I can't recommend this hotel because of the bad location in the slum.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JohnnyEinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

The hotel is situated in the middle of slum area populated by Russians. Easy tram connection to Riga centrum. The hotel itself is clean and new. The Staff is friendly and competent, they speak English fluently. No elevator. Rooms are quite ascetic and there is no AC. Breakfast was ok.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank asystole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 112 in Riga
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#48 of 112 in Riga
198 reviews
2 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#72 of 112 in Riga
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#65 of 112 in Riga
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 112 in Riga
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#44 of 112 in Riga
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £17 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing