We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good low-cost hotel”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Pros:
- very nice staff
- tidy rooms
- nearby tram station and 10 minutes to the Old City and LIDO recreation center
- 10 minutes by feet to the Mols shopping center
- free parking and wi-fi

Cons:
- bad sound proofing in the rooms, so if you are unlucky to have noisy neighbors who also like to return to their rooms at 1 AM then get ready to wake up in the night
- no fridge in the room
- if you have a room on the 1-st floor you'll have to shut drapes at night, otherwise your room and bed can be seen from street and other windows.

Half-Cons:
- small rooms, but if you only want to spend nights in the room then its really not an issue
- no restaurant in the hotel, but a few cafes nearby, though I strongly recommend go the Mols shopping center and visit Thali restaurant there; in case of emergency there is food dispenser near the reception

Summarizing all pros and cons I would say that this is very nice hotel for its price if you plan only to sleep in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladimir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

Yes, you have to take a cab or a tram from the old town, but it's really not that far and the pay-off is that you stay in a new hotel, with modern facilities, at a reasonable price. Really down to personal preference as to which location/type of hotel one wants to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlinkyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

good value for money, excellent location and connection to the city transport (just 4 tram stops from center, bus, train stations).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We come to the hotel at 1 pm, check in was at 3 pm, on our day of arrival in Riga it was very cold. The staff told us, that we can check in and warm up in our room. That was strong.
Very good internet and very good breakfast. The timetable for the tram is at the reception, so you must not got to the tram-stop and watch for the next tram and the reception is 24 h a day open. Bathroom was very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoahVosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The staff at this hotel are all extremely helpful- front desk-staff even offered to lend me money for the tram, as I did not have local currency. Rooms are clean and fresh and their prices are unbeatable! Stay in htls around 50-60 times a year, mostely 4-5 stars when on business, but would happily swap them for this little GEM of a hotel. Personalized service and friendliness brought up to a whole new level!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALBAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 2 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The hotel is simple - neat and clean. Nothing fancy. It is a bus ride away. They have free wireless internet in the complete hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 112 in Riga
197 reviews
2 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#72 of 112 in Riga
121 reviews
1 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#65 of 112 in Riga
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#48 of 112 in Riga
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 112 in Riga
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#44 of 112 in Riga
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing