We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great location just not quite perfect”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #52 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Pros:
. modern rooms with comfortable and clean facilities
. location an easy tram ride from all the main sights
. very good rate for rooms
. comprehensive breakfast
. reception staff friendly
Cons:
. you could get better directions to hotel upon booking as it was difficult to catch the tram for the first time (take Tram 3,7, or 9 towards Dole)
. room had a lot of noise from surroudning rooms e.g. could hear tv in next room all night, woken early but room above walking around
.our shower was not very good, no pressure just a trickle

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl1ghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

A very nice budget hotel in the middle of a run-down part of town, but with a tram stop 50 metres from the hotel, everything is within relatively easy reach. Good service, OK breakfast. The room wasn’t big, but quite sufficient for my needs – and especially at the low prive I paid (Ls 25 per night including breakfast). Unfortunately, the walls aren’t exactly soundproof, so my sleep quality could have been better. The free wifi worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I traveled with friend and we liked the hotel much. Clean, sunny, comfort beds in rooms, very nice staff. This hotel will suite as families with children so the young companies. I reccomed everybody. Wish nice trip.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceEniri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I have stayd in this hotel for 3 days and it was all very good.
Now I have planned my second stay already in this hotel for the end of this month.
The personell is very friendly, the rooms are very clean, free wireless internet etc.
Rooms are small but comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwinvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We were quite impress about the interesting architecture of the district around the hotel. My girlfriend and I are students in Art, that's maybe the reason why we were so receptive. Around the hotel there are some old wooden houses where you can see the influence of Russian and Belarussian architecture especially in some nice ornaments, and also some Jugendstil building with impressive sculpture of nymph. The bad thing (or good?) is that the majority of the houses and building are not renovated yet. According to me, this district could be included in the list of UNESCO heritage. Maybe it will be after renovation ?

I read somewhere on internet it was one of the more safe district in Riga now. Frankly speaking, and at the first view, it do not look very safe, maybe because of the atmosphere of old house, but we walked one full day around to make tons of photos of building and we felt absolutly normal. We didn't see strange people, even at night. The population is mainly old poor people as we can see everywhere in a post soviet country when you escape from the traditional touristic zone. I don't like the building of the hotel. Even if the construction look strong and professional with pieces of wood on the facade, I think it's a mistake to build such modern building with glass facade in a so special historical part.

About the hotel itself, I think it's a good value for money in Riga. It's new, clean and you arrive in Opera (old riga) after just some minutes by tram. What I really loved, it's the breakfast ! I loved to play with the pancakes and let my imagination go on ! Today I invented a special Chocolate/coco nut pancake (see photo). And you can create tons of nice dessert for your breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Really low price for that quality. We have stayed there several times already. The hotel location is especially convenient for those who travel in a car as the parking around the hotel is free. There is also paid parking in a walking distance. Very silent and nice atmosphere, polite staff, small cosy rooms. Meals/drinks inside the hotel are available only during brekfast, but you can order meals 24/7 from on reception from local restaurants. Close to the hotel (10-15 min) walk there is shopping center and also a huge local cuisine pub/restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ismira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

When it's -10 outside and thigh-deep in snow, you want somewhere comfortable and cosy to come back to, and that's exactly what Dodo provides. Ok, the location is slightly out of the way, in the Maskavas neighbourhood of Riga, but if you don't mind a 25 min trudge through the snow into town, or a 2 min tram ride, you're onto a winner if you want somewhere clean, safe, comfortable and - above all - fantastic value for money.
Dodo is right next to the tram stop, ad we had to wait no more than 5 mins for a tram at any one time. Also, it's only 5 mins away from LIDO, a haven of good, cheap Latvian cooking (and it also has a fantastic outdoor ice rink). Although you need to pay more for breakfast (we didn't get the breakfast here...) there are a couple of friendly local shops very close to buy cereal, milk and fruit for breakfast in your breakfast. It's also a 5 min walk away from a large shopping centre, with a supermarket and a few resturants and shops.
All in all, we had a fantastic stay at the Dodo, although the people in the room next door to us were rather noisy in the morning, and the sounds did travel into our room somewhat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishrose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 111 in Riga
193 reviews
1 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#62 of 111 in Riga
233 reviews
2 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#71 of 111 in Riga
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#92 of 111 in Riga
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#28 of 111 in Riga
555 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#61 of 111 in Riga
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £18 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing