We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smart, modern, clean, helpful hotel”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Riga
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smart, modern, clean, helpful hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Dodo worked out really well for us- we booked a couple of weeks in advance on the internet and got a really good rate. It was really clean and the staff were very helpful.
It's not right in the centre but only a few stops along on the tram but you wouldn't want to walk it, esp. at night. We also got ripped off by a cab driver one night who charged us at least double (but we didn't take advantage of the deal the hotel had with Smile cabs which might have avoided this).
Rooms were pretty smart and obviously new. Whenever we came in a 4am the doorman didn't speak much english at all, but this may not be a problem for some tourists (but on the plus side I'm pretty sure any bad guys wouldn't have been able to get into the place with him about!)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    199
    65
    29
    9
See reviews for
64
164
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I stayed in the Dodo with a group of 20 others. My husband is a Morris dancer and the group were visiting Riga for a long weekend and wanted some budget accommodation. The hotel itself was comfortable and clean but the surrounding area was very run-down. One evening we returned to find some young men playing football in the square and it felt a bit daunting! The rooms were compact but adequate and good value. I certainly did not expect toiletries in the en-suite! The breakfast was not to my taste - I can't face cheese and salad in the morning - but there was cereal and toast which was good enough for me. We had no trouble sleeping - in fact the room was too warm - and there was no noise problem. All in all, we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossstitchgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Everything is perfect exept early check up (before 15 o'clock) fee of 5€.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergeikot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Pros:
. modern rooms with comfortable and clean facilities
. location an easy tram ride from all the main sights
. very good rate for rooms
. comprehensive breakfast
. reception staff friendly
Cons:
. you could get better directions to hotel upon booking as it was difficult to catch the tram for the first time (take Tram 3,7, or 9 towards Dole)
. room had a lot of noise from surroudning rooms e.g. could hear tv in next room all night, woken early but room above walking around
.our shower was not very good, no pressure just a trickle

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fl1ghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

A very nice budget hotel in the middle of a run-down part of town, but with a tram stop 50 metres from the hotel, everything is within relatively easy reach. Good service, OK breakfast. The room wasn’t big, but quite sufficient for my needs – and especially at the low prive I paid (Ls 25 per night including breakfast). Unfortunately, the walls aren’t exactly soundproof, so my sleep quality could have been better. The free wifi worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia, Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I traveled with friend and we liked the hotel much. Clean, sunny, comfort beds in rooms, very nice staff. This hotel will suite as families with children so the young companies. I reccomed everybody. Wish nice trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceEniri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I have stayd in this hotel for 3 days and it was all very good.
Now I have planned my second stay already in this hotel for the end of this month.
The personell is very friendly, the rooms are very clean, free wireless internet etc.
Rooms are small but comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwinvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.0 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#54 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing