We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My pleasant stay in Riga” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Riga
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“My pleasant stay in Riga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

I visited Riga the first time. I have only pleasant impressions about hotel Dodo.Polite and unobtrusive staff, comfortable room, quiet and cozy. And a very good price for room).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    198
    65
    29
    9
See reviews for
63
164
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

The DODO hotel is situated not far from the city-center. You should take a tram to get there in 10 min. The place is calm and quiet. The hotel is new and modern. The hotel stuff is careful. Our room was not very big, but comfortable and clean. We advise You to have breacfast in the hotel, it's delicious.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nata-future
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I have just come back from a stag weekend, there were around 15 in the group, being a cheap booking I was not expecting much, however there were certain things that I would expect, first of all there was not a fridge in the room, the towels were not changed and breakfest pretty bad.

The worst thing thing about this hotel was it's location and surrounding areas, the hotel was around a 10min cab ride to old town (city centre) the area in which the hotel was located looked like a scene for COD (call of duty) which although produced some good pics, was not at all safe to walk in after 7pm, we were warned that alot of muggings happen near this hotel.

Do not stay here if you are a family, there were four stag parties including us.

Riga is fantastic, if I was to go again I'd stay in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Great hotel! Staff very friendly, efficient and speak English well. Rooms tidy and comfortable. Showeroom/WC clean and modern. Thoroughly recommend. Will stay again when in Riga.
Kyri Costa

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayCeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseilles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Rooms are clean, modern, warmy in atmosphere.
Bathroom is very practical, everything working as it should.

Given opportunity to return to Riga I will return to the Dodo.

Think information about how to reach Dodo with tram 7 (where to catch from Central station were bus drops you off from airport and where to hope off) could be improved maybe.

As to staff: polite, friendly and very professional.

Don't want to add more from fear of sounding "over enthousiast", just hope they'll keep overall "offer" and service just as it is.

Rating 9/10 (wifi disconnecting sometimes).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beniboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel is located little away from the city center, but easily approachable with the nearest tram station.It hardly takes 10 mins to reach to the center on a tram .
The rooms are tidy and the service is good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav_masand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmansam
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed here with friends on a 2 night break. Rooms were fine, price was right, a little way from town but cab or tram took you in to the centre in no time. The only problem we had was a lot of stag do's use this hotel. When a group came in at 5am making a ridiculous amount of noise jumping shouting basically acting like idiots who should be embarrassed we just could not get to sleep. We tried to ask them to be quiet directly however to no avail, securtiy went up a couple of times but were not willing or able to control the situation. We were moved the next night to a quieter area so good work then. I was really close to leaving a 2* review.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#35 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#42 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Superbreak UK so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing