We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opera Hotel & Spa
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Lovely hotel and spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for New Year and enjoyed it very much. Beautifully furnished and clean room, very good bed. Nice small spa for relaxation and good treatments. The hotel staff was kind and helpful. We will book this hotel again next time in Riga.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    315
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
117
247
51
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights, a great experience!

The staff is nice and friendly, the rooms clean and nice looking and the spa is good. We had a superior room, with access to the spa area for 1.5 hours a day ( treatments are not included). If you plan to relax at the hotel this is worth the little extra amount of money you pay.

The breakfast buffet is ordinary, neither a positive or negative experience.

What makes this hotel special is the relaxing atmosphere. The staff is great, and small things like making your bed ready for the night and placing a chocolate at your pillow while you're out dining in the evening, gives the extra touch that makes you want to come back!

When you get all of this, and have walking distance to everything in the center of Riga, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel in downtown Riga!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I visited Riga for the first time last week and stayed one night at Opera Hotel. The hotel was excellent, rooms (facing the park, Opera, and old town) elegant, beds great, Spa clean and beautiful, and staff in the hotel, restaurant, as well as in the Spa very nice and helpful, speaking fluent English. That was the case in all restaurants and cafes I visited in Riga.

Room Tip: Standard rooms don't have a view. It is better to have one facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed three days to explore the city, the location is perfect. Breakfast buffet is very extensive and fresh! The beds were good and there was no noise coming from the station (which is next door). The only problem we had was the sewer-smell in our bathroom, and the lack of a curtain for the shower. But overall we were really enthusiastic and if I ever come back to Riga I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingto-euhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

we were with my wife in a Cosy room under roof. We could open fully roof window and see astonishing view of Riga. Very friendly staff. Good location, few minutes from old town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martttt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here with friends and we had a good time.

The location is good - it is very close to the train station, close to the bus station (a walk even with heavy cases) and close to the old town. We walked from the bus station, as we had travelled from Tallinn, and it took us about 10-15 minutes! You pass the hotel on the way, and therefore it is easy to navigate your way by foot.

The hotel is very nice inside, definitely a modern feel. The rooms vary in size, we had 2 room between us, completely different layout. Our room was smaller, but the layout was better. All room have wifi - or should have. We had a room at the end of the corridor and it was out of reach of the signal. Apparently, this was just a problem for the weekend we were staying, but I have my doubts. Our friends had a room on the 4th floor and this was hit and miss with the wifi also. The rooms are very clean. The bathroom looks great, but it is impossible not to flood the bathroom floor - so watch out for that!

The staff are friendly at the reception desk.

The breakfast was good. There was quite a variety of things and the croissants were warm, always a good sign.

You have to pay yo use any of the spa facilities, even the pool, although the cost is quite minimal. You do have to book if you want to use it - as the pool / sauna / steam room area holds no more than 10 guests.

We visited the Occupation Museum, which was very interesting. Lots of detailed information regarding both the Soviet and German occupation. Similar story to the Estonian occupation, obviously, but the museum here was presented in a better way, and was much bigger.

Riga was lively in the evening, perhaps due to the fact it was the weekend and there were many hen and stag parties. Lots of music was played live in different areas of the old town, so worth finding one of these spots for drinks or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiger7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed for a night at the hotel. I booked a superior room, but received a room with a standard size. When I asked why I was given a standard room, the staff confirmed it was a superior room, just a smaller one. I still wonder why the homepage then states that all superior rooms are 30-30m2 in size...I feel betrayed.
The room itself was ok. The bed was cosy and clean, mattresses were clean, so was the bathroom. Though they should dust more carefully and the bathroom would need some renovation (paint chipping along the sink, bathtub and door).
Breakfast buffet was ok, could have been a little bigger.
The staff was friendly and the location was very good. Just a short walk away from the old town and bus station.
I would stay in this hotel again, in case I really get what I booked.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatV81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#40 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Property: Opera Hotel & Spa
Address: Raina bulvaris 33, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Riga
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#24 Family Hotel in Riga
#29 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel And Spa
Opera Hotel Riga
Nordic Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing