We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, just outside city centre”
Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opera Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here a weekend with my mother, to enjoy the spa and some Christmas shopping. We were very satisfied with the standard of the hotel, and although the hotel is situated right next to a main street, our room on the third floor was very quiet. We even had a jacuzzi in the bathroom! The spa treatments were of a high quality, and the girls working in the spa were very sweet and professional. The breakfast was good, with a great variety of cold and warm food. Overall, the staff were helpful and nice, but some of the receptionists could have been a bit more welcoming, although they were never rude or unpleasant. There is a majority of scandinavians staying at the hotel, atleast that was my experience. The hotel is nicely situated, just outside the old town, which is the city centre. There are also some big shopping centres close by, but I recommend shopping in the old town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aurora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

this great hotel and staff
this has been one of my most pleasant stay at any hotel regardless of number of stars

i stayed for a long weekend with friends
we were all ( 2 couples) so satiesfied with everything, no, absolutely no negative comments about this hotel, this is why i write this review 4 years later than the stay itself.

Room Tip: we experienced 3 rooms and they were all more than great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_s190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel looked liked it had been refurbished fairly recently. The rooms were of good size and the decor was very stylish and tasteful. The staff were helpful and attentive. Small downside for us was the room was very hot but luckily we could open a window. Would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Yatesy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Everything about this place was nice. The room was excellent in all manner apart from it's small size. The small spa was free for our budget tariff in the morning. The buffet breakfast was also pretty good with a range of food from different European countries. Location was good in that it was just outside the old town and near the railway station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnimup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Opera as part of few day city break to Riga. Hotel was comfortable enough. Room was quiet, small cosy. Underfloor heating in the shower room was welcomed but the mosquitos were not. Breakfast was disappointing. No decent cereals or fruit. Staff were efficient but there was no sense of welcoming us to their country. Riga itself was interesting to visit. Highlights walking tour, opera house, old town, sky bar at Radisson. Spa not available to us due to work being carried out and we were not informed in advance.

Room Tip: Rooms towards back of hotel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a18frg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

In September of 2013, I had the pleasure of visiting the city where my father was born..Riga, Latvia. One of the highlights of this city is the "OLD TOWN". This hotel location was directly accross the street, to where the Old Town began. Also next to the rail station, shopping mall, and the famous "Central Market". Could not have been in a better spot. After one night, we realized that the room was slightly warm, without much ventilation. We addressed this issue at the reception in the morning, and they moved us to a top floor that had central AC, which was great. Because this was a "Landmark" hotel that had been renovated, they could only legally install AC on this top floor. Overall the breakfast buffet was great and it made our stay phenomenal. I recommend this property highly. Mr. Johnny Herzberg, Playa Del Rey, California, USA

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor with AC, if you are traveling during the warmer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Rooms are nice, modern, clean and spacious but without A/C. It gets too hot during the evening/night and too noisy since you have to sleep with the window open to get some kind of air! We were 5 friends staying in 3 different rooms and we all experienced the same. The reception will provide a fan on demand but it dosen't equal a proper A/C facility. The location is great, close to the railway station, old town and Stockman (shopping center). Breakfast was ok. The next door restaurant "Kilimanjaro" is a well hidden treasure!

Room Tip: A/C only on 5th floor. Poor spa capacity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.2 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 110 in Riga
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Address: Raina bulvaris 33, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Riga
#14 Spa Hotel in Riga
#24 Family Hotel in Riga
#31 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £41 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Riga
Opera Hotel And Spa
Nordic Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing