We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in central Riga. Close to the old city and sights. . but no A/C”
Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opera Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Located in central Riga. Close to the old city and sights.
Rooms are modern and most facilities besides fitness.
The rooms are spacious, the only thing I missed was a coffee machine.
The breakfast is standard and is served in the hotel restaurant.
Spa section is great, with all possible treatments, but is overpriced.

Room Tip: During summer the rooms facing the street is absolutely terrible in terms of temperature. There is n...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NO1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Opera Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

With beautiful rooms and a professional staff, I recommend this hotel to everyone planing a trip to Riga. The price is not taken into rating because the stay was payed by my employ. A romantic trip with your better half, or just checking out Riga, this is the place to stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Kimoestgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I did stay there for 3 nights. Hotel absolutely lovely, clean, staff friendly, food amazing. Walking distance to all must see places ( saving on taxi fares ) like old town, central market, monument of Freedom and shopping malls and central station ( for airport or traveling out of Riga..)...., the view from window absolutely amazing ...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ivitareinkopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is tough. I actually really like this hotel, it is modern, clean, very well positioned and the staff friendly and helpful. The problem is for the three nights we stayed here we had horrendously bad sleep. That is the point of a hotel!

The reason for my difficulties was the heat of the hotel. It is just unbelievable. We strip off as soon as we enter our room. There is air con but the controls do nothing. Meanwhile there is underfloor heating in the bathroom almost constantly on. We were forced to have both bedroom windows open at all times or we would have melted. We still almost did. Being at the front of the hotel on a busy junction meant we were at the mercy of some horrendous traffic noises. Finally, they have lovely thick curtains. Normally thin curtains are a pain in hotels. The problem is we had to leave them open as they stop the air coming in from the windows.

So, in short. Ridiculous noisy, hot, light and pretty pathetic pillows combine to terrible sleep. I can't wait to get home and be able to sleep properly. Such a shame.

Now, you might ask did I complain. Well yes. On the first night I went down and was told the underfloor heating worked with the lights. Maybe it is meant to bit it heats up quickly and down slowly if it does. I was told that as it was a heatwave (20C) and the air vents hadn't been cleaned out since winter (!?) the air con was not as efficient.

The icing on the cake was being told to leave the hotel door open to allow a through breeze from the windows. At 23:00 heading to bed who on earth would sleep in a hotel with their door open!?Madness. The girl I was speaking to was absolutely lovely or else I would have been furious... and no, she wasn't joking!

A few other things. The spa is open from 8-10 for guests. Don't expect a pool you can swim in.
The bar is remarkable good value. I think they underplay this as there is not a price list anywhere and even although there are two bar staff and no one in the bar it is remarkably hard to get a drink.
You can walk to everywhere of note in minutes from the hotel and are right next to train and bus station if you are travelling on. A Baltic air €5 airport bus leaves from the hotel or the staff said they could book a taxi and it would cost €15.

This could be a really nice hotel. You just can't excuse or overlook the reason you are there. To sleep!

The coxy_gj unique hotel ranking system. In my view can tell a lot about the care and quality of a hotel by the care they take over cooking their eggs.

6/10 for Opera Hotel.

Two types of egg but the scrambled had obviously been burnt in parts in the pan whole having a 3 & 5 minute boiled egg choice is a nice touch if their is actually a difference. Both seemed pretty hard boiled to us.

Room Tip: Tough. I would ask if the air con is working. You get a fantastic view on the front but if you have...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location, helpful staff, breakfast excellent, rooms very nice and a lovely spa. We had a front room and although this hotel is at a busy road junction, there is no road noise. Everything is on your doorstep - trains, buses, trams, shopping galleries, plenty of restaurants and the hop on hop off bus stop 1 is just across the street. The Old Town is a 5 minute walk through a pleasant park. The free use of the spa until 10am was very welcome and my husband and I had a steam and sauna every morning before breakfast. The breakfast choices were excellent and set us up for the day. We couldn't have picked a better hotel for our 4 day stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were a family party including 2 small children in Riga for a wedding. We had a few days to fill and the hotel looked after us admirably. We all loved the spa. Good location . Rooms were excellent. Loved the beer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is located in central Riga, so it is within walking distance to most attractions in the old town. The hotel staff was really helpful during our stay and even upgraded our room for free. Excellent !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 110 in Riga
906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Address: Raina bulvaris 33, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Riga
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#24 Family Hotel in Riga
#31 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £40 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Riga
Opera Hotel And Spa
Nordic Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing