We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel riga”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice hotel riga”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Riverside is a small hotel about 15-20mins walk from the old town but there are trolly buses and buses running every few mins couple mins walk from hotel. Staff at riverside are really friendly and helpful and speak good english. rooms are fine really warm as we stayed in feb when snow was lying. The breakfast needs a makeover, very little choice and it was cold,(though for all it cost it was better than nothing). Riverside has a sauna and jacuzzi which we booked at reception and it took half hour to heat up, This cost us about £7.50 for the private use for an hour which was really worthwhile after a hard days sightseeing. I would def use riverside hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetjen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    82
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
93
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Riverside is very good balance between price & quality, we stood there 3 times. Hotel staff is helpful and always friendly, rooms are comfy with modern, clean bathrooms, free wi-fi, cable channels, good breakfast. The big plus is a guarded parking (for only 1,4 Ls per day, while they charge 10 Ls in the center), can also recommend their sauna. If you don’t feel like 15 min walk to/from the center there is a bus stop (something arrives every 2 minutes). We stood in 2 other Riga hotels higher class, but came back to Riverside.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaMoscowRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I was also on the trip with Blackcat180 and I agree with all he wrote. I would like to add a bit more information. The Hotel is about 20 minutes away from the airport in good traffic, though it took us 30 minutes to get back due to a wierd one way system in rush hour. if you use the hotel for taxis for the airport (flatrate) it cost 10 lats (about 14.50 euros) just for less hassle we paid the driver dirct and it cost 8.60 lats. but if you have no local currency it is easier to use the hotel option. A taxi back from thr city centre cost between 2.80 and 4.50 lats.It is an interesting walk to the city centre most times we went the direct way and once we went near to the river, but all times we hit the Central market. The hotel provides cheap, but quality room service. The reception staff are very good and gave great tips for our stay. I would stay there again no problem.

Room Tip: On the ground floor the nearer you are to the reception the better Wifi you get. Good rooms 11 and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Myself and three friends stayed in this hotel for two nights Oct/Nov 12. We hall had double rooms as the prices were very competitive. Everything about the hotel was great, staff, reception and room were worthy of a higher star hotel. We used the taxi service provided by the hotel and mad trips much easier. The hotel is located about 20 min walk from the centre of Riga so it s good for your head to clear up. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here for one night in between Air Baltic flights to somewhere else. It's not on the riverside - it's set back a fair distance, behind a big road, and the river is not that picturesque anyway. But I don't think that matters. It's in a quiet corner 5 to 10 minutes walk from the bus station (the bus from the airport terminates there) and 15 minutes walk (at most) from the old town if you cut through the market. We got a very good value rate and stayed in a standard sized twin room that was fine. Breakfast was fine and included some hot food e.g. fried eggs. So a good standard place to stay as part of a stopover and have a look at the old town.

Room Tip: Don't recall there being a lift, so upper floors (goes up to 4th) not accessible to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Riverside-Riga is located in the centre of Riga, you can check it on a map, and it is 15 minutes more or less from the Old City, you can walk or take trolley n°15, but is not really worth, while walking you discover the market which is the biggest among the Baltic countries,it's a very cheap and colourful market where people can find from glasses to fruit... and if you cross it you'll find a quicker way to the old city.
The hotel is small, very clean, the room is quite comfortable, the bathroom very modern excellent shower. The breakfast is very complete, (the pancakes with that Latvian toffee syrup are delicious!) and there is a spa: jacuzzi and sauna, it's €6.50 an hour per room, as guests reserve better in advance, and the spa is just for you, very very nice!
The girls at the reception are really kind and helpful, they speak different languages, and Arta, one of the receptionists is really nice, she is ready to inform you about any topic concerning the country or Riga, she speaks very good English.
At the airport we went to Information and there we were lucky to find a lady whose name is Inese, she was absolutely nice giving us all the clues about the transport, etc. The price from the airport to the centre is 10 Lats by taxi. Remember 1 Lat is €0.70
We really enjoyed our stay and if you're looking for a little, nice hotel this one is correct. The only inconvenience is that there is no lift, the view from the room window is the parking or a kind of green space, but who cares? By the way, there aren't restaurants near the hotel. But there are so many in the Old City!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doradi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we found the hotel on trip advisor and the reviews were accurate. it was perfectly adequate. the room was big enough. it was clean. breakfast was fine. price was very reasonable. The neighborhood was not as bad as the reviews indicated. It felt perfectly safe to us. we sometimes walked to town and sometimes took a trolley. both ways to the old town were easy. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leni43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#36 of 109 in Riga
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#39 of 109 in Riga
517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#48 of 109 in Riga
136 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#75 of 109 in Riga
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Natana Barkana iela 5, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is located in a quiet and calm district in the center of Riga. It takes just 15 minutes by bus to get to the airport, just 5 minutes to get to the central train station and 7 minutes to the passenger harbor. Our friendly hotel's staff will make your stay comfortable and pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing