We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a bit out of the way.”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a bit out of the way.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

For the price paid, I would have liked to have given this hotel 5 out of 5. The room was spacious, comfortable, bathroom, shower, all good. Wi-fi always worked fine in the room, which was cleaned very well every day. My reason for not giving 5 is the location. Whilst it's all very well to say it's only about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town, if you do this in the day and the evening.it is pretty time consuming. I realised when I booked it that it wasn't central but did expect there to be something nearby, bar, restaurants, shops etc. I think another reviewer said there were plenty of eating places close by. Were they writing about the same hotel? There is absolutely nothing nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    82
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
93
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Booked this hotel through an on-line deal. The whole experience was very positive. The room although small was clean and tidy, the bathroom modern and good toiletries. The towels were changed everyday,and there was a hairdryer that worked!
The hotel staff were very cheerful and nothing was too much trouble.The hotel is a short distance away from the airport and a single journey cost around 12 euros(incidently you do not use have to order Lats any longer as they are in the E.U!) A decent breakfast was provided with fresh roasted coffee on hand.
It was a short distance to walk into the old town which is where you need to head for . The walk was fine and we felt safe doing so.(We are two women).
As you wander into the centre it is definately worth stopping on the way at the market which is housed in Zeppelin hangers! I must agree with another revue that the area appears grim at first, but then one gets used to it!!
It is also worth noting that you will need to pay a security charge of 7 euros each at the airport when on your return journey. Hope this revue helps, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: top floor quieter but there are no lifts! Good if you want to keep fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteculturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Even though I didn't stay here, I got to use their bathroom and got directions to get to the TV Tower. Thought it was worth mentioning! The surroundings were a bit grim, but it not very far from the Centre and the Old Town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stian Betyr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

So i stayed at this hotel in september for three nights with my partner and i have to say despite arriving late in the evening it was in a central location. The main streets in riga were around a ten minuite walk away from the hotel and i did feel safe at night in the area. The hotel is in a quiet location and hotel staff were always freindly and helpful. The sauna and hot tub room was very lovely, you can hire it out for 10 euros an hour and it has its own shower room, hot tub with lights and steam room with towels etc. Around the hotel is loads of nice places to eat. Reccomended and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed two nights here, its about fifteen minute walk from bus station/old town which was fine. We felt area was ok to walk back at night. Room wss nice but walls a bit too thin, so heard most of next doors conversation! Sauna and jacuzzi was lovely, but staff bit reluctant to give information. Prices for room sevice and sauna and jacuzzi is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We only stayed one night as we wanted to be closer to the centre. A 15 min walk to centre but not sure I'd want to walk it late at night as it was situated in what I believe is a predominantly Russian area, but taxis only cost 5 lats to the old town. Comfortable and quiet room.
Unfortunately the curtains came down as we drew them and the receptionist brought a step ladder for us to sort out without complaint. We also got drinks in our room late at night no problem. They are keen to please.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole8435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First - really great stuff, nice and helpfull!! Second, good roomservice- I usually do not use room service but there was really good one and with good prices. Hotel was clean and modern. Placed aout 15 min walk to the old town. I really can say it is good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patjaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#48 of 109 in Riga
448 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
500 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#77 of 109 in Riga
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Natana Barkana iela 5, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is located in a quiet and calm district in the center of Riga. It takes just 15 minutes by bus to get to the airport, just 5 minutes to get to the central train station and 7 minutes to the passenger harbor. Our friendly hotel's staff will make your stay comfortable and pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing