We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop in Riga”
Review of Varzob - CLOSED

Varzob
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must stop in Riga”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Thia should be a must stop in Riga. Restaurant is very small and a little bit difficult to find although it is in the center. The owner attends the business diligently and always with a smile. We tried had lunch and it was simply perfect. We hadn't taken Uzbekistan food previously but we will repeat. We took the rice with fish and the lamb sticks and they were amazing. Bbread is a must you need to taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaribelC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple and brilliant”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Stop wavering at this point if you like honest food and to try something a bit different from mainstream. Very good value, tiny place with good atmosphere. Soups are recommended with the traditional bread

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerstedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, Highly Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a great restaurant in the Old Town of RIga. Just off the Dome Square, the little restaurant is a sweet place to catch dinner. The lagman soup (lamb stew) is surprisingly delicious. I didn't have high expectations for Uzbekistan food and its spices, but I was blown away. It was delicious! It was a dining experience much more enjoyable than the more expensive places I went to that don't even serve as good meals! Also, the grandpa who owns/waits the restaurant is the jolliest and kindest grandpa! I highly recommend Varzob.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank europe-Jun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Without any doubt one of the very best restaurants I have ever, ever eaten in. The food is absolutely outstanding. I had a soft drink with half portions of the lagman soup, bread and plov. The food is beautifully flavoured with a delicate balance of herbs and spices. The meat was so tender and tasty. It was heaven. My bill came to only 5.30 lats in total. What a bargain. Magnificent restaurant. The owner, staff and chefs should be very proud.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TubbyTabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Possibly the best value food in Riga”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Very tasty food and very cheap for Riga Old Town. We ordered three main dishes for two of us and were hardly able to walk when we left. 3 main dishes, 1 side, 2 beers and 1 soft drink for just under 19LVL. You can't get better than that!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varzob also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing