We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of Varzob - CLOSED

Varzob
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a great place! The food is delicious and it's not too expencive.
I loved the service, as I understood the server is the owner, he didn't spoke latvian verry well but he was so nice and lovely!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ievabrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“"Interesting" Place, No Credit Cards!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We went here because of all the good reviews, but probably wouldn't have chosen it from the appearance outside. As others have said, this is a very small place with six tables that looks more like a cheap café than a smart restaurant and most of the people in there appeared to be local regulars.
A few items were off the relatively short menu.
We both had kebabs, which were nicely cooked and came with rice and salad. The cashew and raisin balls were really tasty and different for dessert.
The final bill was very reasonable, but they don't take credit cards, so I had to go to a local ATM and get some cash!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must stop in Riga”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Thia should be a must stop in Riga. Restaurant is very small and a little bit difficult to find although it is in the center. The owner attends the business diligently and always with a smile. We tried had lunch and it was simply perfect. We hadn't taken Uzbekistan food previously but we will repeat. We took the rice with fish and the lamb sticks and they were amazing. Bbread is a must you need to taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaribelC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simple and brilliant”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Stop wavering at this point if you like honest food and to try something a bit different from mainstream. Very good value, tiny place with good atmosphere. Soups are recommended with the traditional bread

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerstedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, Highly Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a great restaurant in the Old Town of RIga. Just off the Dome Square, the little restaurant is a sweet place to catch dinner. The lagman soup (lamb stew) is surprisingly delicious. I didn't have high expectations for Uzbekistan food and its spices, but I was blown away. It was delicious! It was a dining experience much more enjoyable than the more expensive places I went to that don't even serve as good meals! Also, the grandpa who owns/waits the restaurant is the jolliest and kindest grandpa! I highly recommend Varzob.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank europe-Jun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varzob also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing