We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally reopened again, but needs more management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here about 4 years ago, and then suddenly the bank took possession and it was vacant for a number of years. As I had another visit of three days in Riga I thought I might revisit, as the last experience was a good one. I knew where it was so the distance from town did not concern me, and you can even take the 22 Bus from the airport which comfortably stops opposite the hotel - ask the driver to tell you when to get off. The hotel seems to have kept all of its previous oddities, such as a big (huge) white elephant in the Atrium - maybe they have not heard what the English expression of a white elephant means. Reception was fine, room more than adequate for one, maybe a little on the small side for two. Now then of course my pet hate - shower over the bath, except here the bath is even taller than usual, so a real battle to stay respectably clean. When will hotel managers and developers finally realise that the population is getting older, and that these arrangements can be a real danger. Nevertheless, next morning during the breakfast service (adequate but not as good as it used to be), the manager brings in two workman who now start turning tables upside down, and with loud drilling noises start repairing. Then the wonderful smell of glue, as they had found a table next to me where the trim had become lose - surely they could arrange for repairs outside the breakfast period. Room service was fast and efficient even at 1.00 (kitchen open until 03.00). Then the next problem - could I have a later check out than 12.00. Very positive answer - yes till 16.00, I mentioned that I only needed it till about 13.00, to be then informed that any time after 12.00 and before 16.00 the charge was 15.00 Latvian Lats, so thank you but no thank you. Final insult during check out I was presented with a bill from the restaurant which was not mine - but the way this had to be resolved with the intervention of 4 different people, making you really feel that they did not take your word for it, even though it had a totally different signature than my other bills. Housekeeping is also very slow, most days well after 15.00, even though the "please service room" was hanging there from about 08.30 - their explanation - more important to service check out rooms. Plus points, no problem having printing of boarding passes done by reception. Watch the breakfast buffet, because without warning the shutters all of the sudden go across the buffet, bad luck if you wanted some more coffee. Surely, as happens in most hotels someone could inform guests that the buffet will be closing shortly so that they may get anything else they might have needed.
As I mention in the title - more management, less supervision will get rid of some of these attitudinal service problems, hopefully just teething ones, and this hotel will reach its potential again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you that once again stay with us at Wellton Elefant Hotel as well for taking your time and shared your comments with Tripadvisor readers. Like to say that we are sad that generally you was not satisfied with your stay with us. We like to explain that all your comments already was forwarded to cvorresponding hotel departments as well we will start constantly improving our services - including personal trainings. We hope that personal trainings for current - Food & Beverage department will raise additional cumunication and tehnical skills.
Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding services once more.

We as well understand that maybe because our mistakes next time when you will visit Riga try other hotels but we will be more than happy to welcome back


Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were on a road trip and stopped here for the night.

Restaurant was quite elegant with large variaty of dishes.
Recommending warm starter: salmon with potato pancakes.

Staff was a bit slow, but not in a disturbing way.
Got a feeling like they were still learning how to operate.

Room we got was a basic, spacefull, clean, windows all the way from floor to roof, giving a nice view to Riika/Riga.

Safe undergroung parking. Not much space, so book a place early.

And this is where it got interesting:
After check-out, we were called back via phone.
When I got to front desk, I was told that our dog (small JackRussel) had an accident, and we should pay for cleaning it. I requested to see the "accident", knowing our dog has not made accident since it/he was 10weeks old. :)
I was escorted to room where there was now 3 managers and cleaning personnel.
I asked to show the accident and I was pointed to bed day cover that had few dog hairs on it... Also hand towel had few faint pawn prints...

Hotel that accepts pets, should realize the humor I found with these findings. :)
What should we do? Shave the dog or keep it/him in a bag during the stay?
Only person who understood the hotel finding versus customer satisfaction was the young desk manager/staff, who told me everything is ok, they are sorry and we can go.
Thanks to her, I give 4 stars for the hotel instead of 2.
We would be happy to return to hotel if she is still working there!

Room Tip: Ask to city direction with high floor. Also book parking place in time from garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Went for a short three day city break and chose to stay in the Elefant hotel. It is located equidistant between the airport and the old town, slightly too far to walk into the city but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel where each fare is 0,7 lats. The bus takes 10-15mins but a taxi takes 5 minutes.

Overall quite impressed with the hotel. Clean and modern rooms with a good selection in the mini bar. Breakfast is also relatively good, with a variety of foods available, running from 7am -11 am.

The only negative I had for this hotel was the staff at times were not as friendly as I would normally expect. On occasions not even a simple 'good morning' was given by staff at breakfast.

Overall a fairly decent hotel, but if I were to visit Riga again for a few days, I would stay in the old town itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were transferred to this hotel from the sister hotel Gertrude on our first day. This is the one we should have stayed at, great hotel, food good, fantastic rooms but hotel is a little too far outside Riga for people that cannot walk. In saying that you can catch public transport, buses and tram not too far away. There is an outside drinking area when the weather is warm.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Budda_Vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A very new hotel (by Riga standards). Close to Spice shopping Mall, and perfectly located for the airport. Not too close, not too far. A bit too far for a comfortable walk to the old town, but a 5-10 minute taxi ride. Would definately use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCapindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Latvia, we flew over a Beauty Trade show and stayed in the Elefant.
The hotel is wonderfully chic, warm, modern and comfortable, the hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. We arrived from the airport at 11pm and were delighted with the large, bright spotless rooms with ceiling to floor windows on two walls and white fluffy bathrobes.
We had seen when booking the hotel that they're restaurant stays open until 3am, we were shocked to find that they serve a full menu until 3am and not just a snack or room service menu like most hotels. We choose Beef Tongue for starters which was gorgeous and then fish and salads for mains and ice cream for desert, followed by a fabulous cocktail.
After a great nights sleep breakfast was buffet style and was constantly topped up and provided plenty of choice.
This hotel is a little outside the city but Taxis are so cheap that its worth it, I would highly recommend everything about this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel is lower priced compared to other hotels in the area. They have a great free breakfast buffet open most of the morning, a free gym and restaurant/bar. There is also someone to give massages, (for a fee). The rooms are the size you would expect in America. They also have an arrangement with a taxi service to get you to and from the airport, (the same price as you can get if you just pick any taxi at the airport). Generally, this is a good hotel, though some of the staff members seem to have been trained in the Stalin School for Hotel Management.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowaaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
2.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 112 in Riga
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
2.9 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 112 in Riga
948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 112 in Riga
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Elefant Hotel

Address: Kalnciema iela 90, Riga 1046, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Elefant Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riga
#11 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £27 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rixwell Elefant Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Elefant Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel and it is conveniently located between Riga International Airport, which is a 5-minute drive away, and the Old Town. The rooms are bright and modern. All rooms come with a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities,a safety deposit box and ironing facilities, as well as a direct dial telephone. The private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Breakfast buffet is available in the mornings. Guests are welcomed to dine in the on-site restaurant "Elefant". A kids menu is also available. Rixwell Elefant Hotel offers guests access to a fitness centre free of charge and a wellness center, where guests can relax and take advantage of various treatments - all at an extra cost. Parking is possible on site at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing