We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Park Hotel Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
284
269
70
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
269
70
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice shoppingthe busbig elephantwhite elephantnice hotelcity centreclose to the airportriga airportold townunderground parkinghuge windowsbusy roadiron and ironing boardmain roadspa treatmentsjust returned from a night staypublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Me and my 8 year old son were staying in this hotel as a one night transit. I booked it based on positive reviews, price and closiness to airport. When booking on hotels.com, I choose a slightly pricier option "comfort room" vs cheaper "economy". I would like to know now, what economy room would be like, because our room was very small. But let start with arrival. Yes, they have a red carpet from the street to the entrance. But it is there because otherwise how do you know which way to get to hotel, since there is no car access to the entrance door. I was dropped of by a cab ( cost from airport about $15US excl tip) with multiple suitcases just me and a child in the middle of the street left to walk to the entrance, which is about 40m. Thankfully a bus full of basketball players came and they helped us to get to hotel. So bizarre. The check in was uneventfull. The trolley to bring our luggage into the room on 3rd floor did not fit into elevator (?!) a "boy" was called to help us out. Now another bizarre point-you need to use your room card to get to your floor with elevator. It is for security I was told. I get that. But the hotel has a build in large staircase with easy access to and from rooms with no card required, just walk few stairs up. In the way, anybody from the street could walk in and easily access the rooms. Not secure at all.
As I mentioned the room was very small. It was clean though. Bathrooms great, but sparecelly on towels and "complementary toiletries" are 2 disposals on the wall, one soap and other shower gel/shampoo. Not an issue for me, I always have my own toiletries packed, but is was not a 4 star hotel standard.
Very minimalisticly furnished. On the edge of cold and tasteless. Scandinavian style light colored furniture that unfortunately makes it look like a nice hostel but not like a good hotel. Large windows that you actually can open a bit. We liked that. Conditioner and water in bathroom were working fine. Btw, you have to take shower by getting into a large bathtop. This could be an issue for an older person. Also quite slippery when coming out.
We had 2 single beds. We travel a lot and usually have 2 queens, but singles worked ok. Only once I had to get up at night to cover my kid who's dovet fell on the ground. Mattresses were very comfortable though. Fridge comes full, but check the prices first. In the booklet they mention not to drink tap water and recommend to use water from the fridge. It is not complementary though. Little bottle about $3 US.
TV had multilingual channels. English, German, Russian...
The location of hotel was not of importance to us. We left in the morning. However, if you on actual tourist trip to Riga, I would rather stay closer to old town. This one is not walking distance and times when you paid just a few dollars for a cab have passed. I did not pay attention to neighborhood either.
Breakfast buffet was ok. They had something that looked like a salat bar without salat. tomatoes, cucumbers, quark, herring, olives... Had wienner style sausages (tasted great), omelet ( was good too). Bacon not crispy at all-passed on it. Porrage, cream of wheat, plain noodles. The other table offered good variety of fruit, cold cuts. You also had a cerial and granola. Coffee was terrible, which is a big point for me.
And the last point of analysis is service. The front desk girls did great job. The breakfast table people would pass by- no smile, no good morning , no inquiries if we need anything. Very unprofessional. Poor training. And the crawn event was when cleaning team rushed at 10 am into our room when I had a sign " do not disturb" on our door.
In total - this hotel does no deserve 4 star rating. They are a good 3 star hotel with still few things to work on. If I had to stay close to airport I would stay there again, but with lower expectations this time. Otherwise I would look for a deal to stay in old town.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Vancouvermarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear,Vancouvermarina

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are sad to hear that generally you were not satisfied with your stay with us and we appreciate all the feedback we are receiving from our guests. We like to explain that all Comfort type rooms are 22 sq.m, but for those guests who would like to stay in more comfort we always suggest to choose Superior or Deluxe class rooms – as these rooms are spacious and offer more comfortable stay, comfortable seating area and additional bathroom amenities. Restrictions for elevators are due to our guest safety – you can always use your card to use the elevator and we never had any troubles with it. Guests or their visitors also can use stairs – stairs, halls and all the public areas are under surveillance and we have 24 hour security located in the hotel. We are constantly improving our services - including personal training and our product supply quality as well. Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services , and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments . Our guest thoughts are important for us, that’s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards

Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We entered hotel in style..... On the red carpet! Very nice hotel, clean rooms and good breakfast. We stayed over just for two nights so unfortunately we could not enjoy the spa. Parking outside free and safe. Bus stop a few meters away, where you can also find an excellent shopping centre, SPICE. Enjoyed our stay, we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blustatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear, Blustatos

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and even more for your outstanding comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that generally you were more than satisfied with your stay with us an we appreciate all the feedback we are recieving from our guests.Our guest thoughts are important for us, that`s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel aigan and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Kindest Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

An excellent hotel! Located between the airport and the old town. Clean, spacious rooms. Excellent Breakfast with champagne. Paid underground Parking. You can Park for free in a neighbouring street. Quite safe. I liked everything!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear, Vladiz

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that time who spend whit us was good and satisfaid your desire.Our guest thoughts are important for us,that`s how we may know where our services are in need improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

2013.07.06 front desk personel not helpfull they give to fulfill visitors cards and it seems you again enter 20th century USSR with KGB !!! till they was preparing our rooms(at 13 h!!) we was waiting for bar service in summer terrace for 30 min and did not have it.so we need to go inside and order our drinks from there(unless front desk girls say go outside and waiter will come)
Rooms not impressed.A beat worn out.beds with wheels so be aware in the night!!! Room on 5 floor all the day and night is noisy.it seems a turbo jet engine is working on top of your room.As well all the night and day you hear a running water in your room!!! Breakfest buffet not impresed !!!Cold omlet!!!IIn Riga even 3 star hotels have better breakfest buffets.And location.They declare they are in green part of the city.The greenest possibly is petrol station next door and main higway from Jurmala to city center!!!! The staff next morning was pretty helpfull.

Room Tip: do not book rooms higher then 2 floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valerij l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear, Valeri I

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are sad to hear that generally your were not satisfied whit your stay with us and we appreciate all feedback we are recieving from our guests. We like to explain that check in at our hotel begins at 14:00.Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services, and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments.Our guest thoughts are important for us, that`s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga , we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon


Kindest Regards
Assistant Marketing Manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent restaurant, however breakfast could be better. Room was too hot and air conditioning was not managing. Staff were very friendly with good service. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowy-kub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Snowy-kub

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are cerainly glad and satisfaid that your stay was pleasant at our Wellton Elefant hotel.We like to say that at our hotel we constantly improving our services- including personal training and our product supply quality as well. Please accept aur apologies for caused inconvenieces regarding the services, and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments. Our guest thoughts are stricly important for us, that`s how we may know where our services need more of improvement.
We understand that next time , when you will visit Riga, would like to try other hotels, but we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews