We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best service, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not the best service, could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 12 noon. The first words from the receptionist was 'you are early'. It felt like a telling off. I couldn't help the bus schedule. I was not expecting to get in early but that would have been nice. However there seems to be not chance of that at this hotel. From previous hotel experience there is often an effort to look up a room or ring housekeeping to see how far away one in, but there was nothing in this case. At 2.30 we came back, she gave us a room, and when we got there the room had not been cleaned. When I returned to reception it felt like she did not believe me because the computer said it was clean. It was not. They did try to make it good. We got vouchers for a free meal, champagne and chocolates. And I did appreciated that. Wellton group, please try to be more flexible and welcoming to your guests. Now I have a bad association with the group name. Our experience of the restaurant was also not great. We were sitting next to the big elephant and while waiting for our food a big group of 40+ came in. Every time the main door opened a gust of icy wind blew through leaving us very chilled. I also could see that other guests at the restaurant were not comfortable. The food was generally tasty but it was bare luke warm. So I would not recommend it to anyone. It took us over 1 and half hours to get served our soup, main and dessert. One positive, the guy at the bar was lovely and explained the local booze and we tried some while waiting to be fed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Mr Pieter S,

Thank you for your feedback!
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused. We believe in the importance of customer service and are working on its improvement. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!
We hope to see you in one of our properties in order to restore your faith. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.


Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska
Wellton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    218
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
96
175
57
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We'll not forget this hotel for the very best of reasons. We really enjoyed our 4 night stay.
Reception was welcoming and efficient, we were too early to access our room but the facilities of the hotel and how to get to the Old Town were explained to us. Our room was on floor 5 and faced the main dual carriageway. Blackout from car lights was very good but there was noise.
The room was clean and had ample storage, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a good powerful shower although there was a leak into the bath room from the sealant round the shower cubicle.
Breakfast was satisfactory, there was a good selection of items but the quality of the fruit varied and the orange juice was insipid. Food provided in the evening was a lot better. It was tasty and beautifully presented and was a very good price. The quality of food compared most favourably with specialist restaurants in the Old Town .
The hotel is approx. 4 Km from the Old Town but there is a frequent bus service from local stops. The return stop for one bus line is on a street behind the hotel so don't be surprised when the bus turns off the main road with the hotel in view.
This hotel is an excellent base from which to explore Riga if you don't mind the bus ride to or from the centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Location is perfect between centre of Riga and airport. Room is small, two single beds. Only one chair. Wifi is free but was not working 80% of the time..."router problem". Bathroom is roomy with a goo shower. Breakfast is satisfactory. Staff were kind and helpful. Minibar was well stocked and prices were reasonable. Taxis are plentiful and prices are good. My only complaint is that the adjacent busy road is very noisy and sleep is impossible. Choose your room with care!! Would I stay again? Only if I could stay away from the noisy side and if wifi was working.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road side or else sleep will be impossible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused. We are working on the internet problem. Please do not hesitate to contact hotel directly for any kind of requests (for ex. quite room).
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in one of our hotels in the nearest future.


Best regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager
Welton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed a the Elephant Hotel for one night arriving after late night flight. I got a very good price of EUR 30,- as a last minute deal from Booking.com, breakfast included.

The location of the hotel is very good if you have to catch an early morning or late night fight as it is half way between the city centre and the airport. Not so good if you want to do sightseeing as the hotel is too far from city centre (not walkable) and there isn't really anything to see/do in the area. The Wellton hotel group has got their own taxi service, drivers are really pleasant chaps, it will cost you EUR 10,- to go either to the old town or to the airport, EUR 15,- to anywhere else in the city.

The rooms are pretty standard, nothing to report about, clean, have got all the necessary facilities - kettle, hairdryer, ironing board etc. Internet access free of charge in room. Liked their jazzy soap dispensers in the bathroom.

The public areas of the hotel are spacious, modern with elephants of various sizes and shapes distributed all over the place. The staff are polite, pleasant and multi-lingual. The kitchen serves food till 3 am which is a nice touch if you arrive late and are hungry.

Breakfast buffet had a nice selection of cold and hot foods, cereal and fruits. The only criticim I have is that some of the fruit were not fresh, the sweetcorn was literally inedible, they would be far better off just using one out of a can, the champagne (well, sparkling wine more like) was flat but I had 2 glasses of it anyway because I needed it badly for my hangover.

All in all I had a good experience with this hotel and will stay again if such necessity will arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagnijaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very nice and clean hotel a bit far away from the city centre tho! Breakfast is really good! Staff are very kind and helpful. Good and free wifi and storage room. Clean and very tidy with lots of facilities. Nearby about ten min walk is a large shopping mall the Spice, you can find everything there!
Avoid rooms situated above the bar area as they can be noisy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaceisblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Handy location in between the airport and the city centre, with the 22 bus stopping just outside and going to both. Friendly and helpful staff (Julija was particularly pleasant to talk to) and a reasonably priced bar with a good selection of snacks and meals (although a pretty poor choice of appealing vegetarian food). The breakfast was decent, with a good selection of food- although I recommend just waiting until they bring out the pancakes, then stocking up. They go fast!
The room was fairly cosy, but nothing out of the ordinary. I'd recommend this hotel for business trips or short breaks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beerpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've stayed there for 2 nights in November for business visit. I like it very much.
Pleasant personnel always ready to help, professional and affable either on reception or in the bar or in the restaurant. Room was always perfectly clean including lavatory seat and bath in bathroom. The breakfast is rich and with many many options. But the most of all I liked the location - in the very middle way between airport and the city. And all this for more then reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.6 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
2.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
2.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Elefant Hotel

Property: Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Address: Kalnciema iela 90, Riga 1046, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Elefant Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Riga
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rixwell Elefant Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Elefant Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel and it is conveniently located between Riga International Airport, which is a 5-minute drive away, and the Old Town. The rooms are bright and modern. All rooms come with a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities,a safety deposit box and ironing facilities, as well as a direct dial telephone. The private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Breakfast buffet is available in the mornings. Guests are welcomed to dine in the on-site restaurant "Elefant". A kids menu is also available. Rixwell Elefant Hotel offers guests access to a fitness centre free of charge and a wellness center, where guests can relax and take advantage of various treatments - all at an extra cost. Parking is possible on site at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing