We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the airport.”
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The Elefant Hotel is a very reasonably priced hotel near the airport. Very clean, very good service. The only negative - it's not near Riga's Old Town. I highly recommend the hotel to travelers looking to stay near the airport, or to traveler's with transportation/willing to use public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    228
    62
    17
    15
See reviews for
103
188
58
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oppdal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Very nice, quiet and comfertable hotel with nice staff. We did not find the distance to the old town as a problem. Good and cheap conection by train, buses and taxi.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kremly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

It was quite a good business hotel, clean and comfort, focused on minimal design. It''s located not far from the airport, but far away from the picturesque Old Town of Riga. If i ever return to Latvia, i am not sure if i will prefer it again. Buses and taxis stuck in traffic are not what i dream of Riga...

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea_An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I went for a city break from Friday to Monday to Riga. In general it is cheap and easy to use the public transport (bus) to go between airport - hotel - centre (0,4 Lat for one way). Bus station (line 22 or 53) is located about 200 metres from the hotel. The way to the centre isn't within walking distance (~ 5 km) and without any attractions. Restaurant and bar service personnel with moderate engagement. Service desk was friendly and pro-active.
Breakfast was offered up to 10:30 or 11:00 (weekend) on a moderate level. It isn't recommended to use the room without locked window before the busy road and the air-pollution.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schubmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2008

+++
Rooms are very comfortable. Although we stay in a room beside the streets with one of the most traffic in Riga we didn't hear nothing. Very good bathroom with lots of amenities. One of the best places if you stay in Riga for business purposes or do need to wait for your flight as the hotel is between Riga and Airport which are both about five kilometers away from the hotel. Far rates. Parking not

---
- Breakfast can be slightly improved
- not the best place for a sightseeing trip as it is not in Riga downtown (but you can use the bus to get to centre)

  • Liked — service and the hotel at all
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Littlecosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We stayed at the Elefant on a way to Lithuania and loved it. Highly recommended!
Will definitely come back soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank natasha2good4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

New (as of August 2008) hotel with (almost) every thing top notch. This is a modern, efficient, hotel, located immediately by a major highway on the way to the airport, with no old world charm whatsoever, but everything the modern person (who prefers carrying his own luggage) would require. Room superb, lobby area and restaurant very nice. Internet connection very good. Noise from highway, but with the window closed the room is very quiet. Value for money is absolutely excellent, and the receptionist we met on arrival was very helpful in every way.

Would really have liked to give this one top score (for what it is), but we were let down: Breakfast was supposed to be included in the price, served to our room from 05:00 to 06-something. Even though we ordered every thing in written form by way of the supplied form (hung on the door at night) and confirmed at the reception, nothing showed up. We had two rooms on separate floors, no joy in either. And no real urge by receptionist to be bothered.

  • Liked — Hyper modern
  • Disliked — Did not escape typical Baltic attitude towards service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1.3 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#24 of 109 in Riga
510 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
2.9 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Elefant Hotel

Property: Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Address: Kalnciema iela 90, Riga 1046, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Elefant Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Riga
#10 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rixwell Elefant Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Elefant Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel and it is conveniently located between Riga International Airport, which is a 5-minute drive away, and the Old Town. The rooms are bright and modern. All rooms come with a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities,a safety deposit box and ironing facilities, as well as a direct dial telephone. The private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Breakfast buffet is available in the mornings. Guests are welcomed to dine in the on-site restaurant "Elefant". A kids menu is also available. Rixwell Elefant Hotel offers guests access to a fitness centre free of charge and a wellness center, where guests can relax and take advantage of various treatments - all at an extra cost. Parking is possible on site at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rixwell Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing