We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold!”
Review of Hotel Westa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Westa
Ranked #85 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Reviewed 14 October 2012

No heating in the hotel in October and was told by the receptionist this is normal and not my fault. Shower luke warm again told this is normal. No T.V in room as discribed on booking and hotel is located in a dingy area. Very unplesent stay luckly just for 1 night but I would not recomend staying this time of year.

Room Tip: No heating in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashmerjar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Clean rooms with good showers (pressure and heat) but located just off the central market. The location is good during the day as you can pick up fresh cheap fruit but when the market shuts down the area does take on a completely different feel....and not a good feeling. The bus station is a five minute walk making it good for early morning departures. Old town is a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithHusbandInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

very nice hostel. rooms are big and clean and staff is friendly. internet and wi-fi are free. breackfast not included, but they is a nice restaurant under the hostel.
Position: it is very closed to the market and during the day is nice, but during the night it is full of homeless people and is not safe walk through.
5 minutes walking from the old town and 5 minutes walking to the bus and train station

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sil_via_hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Very nice hostel. Located in Riga's market just 5 minutes walk from the bus station. The old town about 10-15 minutes on foot. Despite the location, the evening is very quiet. Very friendly staff. On the ground floor restaurant. The food is delicious and cheap. Excellent breakfast. Non rustic but clean and spacious. Recommended for a brief trip to Riga by bus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

stayed at the backpackers many times. nothing fancy just a basic hostel. clean and for us a great location. just out of the old town over lookin the market. great in the mornin sat on the windowsill just watching the locals and life go by. we usually only go in winter so it is very quiet then. this year we will be visiting again in aug so should be in full swing. would recommend trying to find the flea market ...an eye opener to say the least.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed there for 1 night while waiting for a flight. The hostel was very quiet, it seemed to be empty. In winter time a twin room was a little bit cold. It is really close to bus station which is convenient for a transit stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eglelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank unwichtig2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#21 of 150 in Riga
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Hostel Knights Court
Hostel Knights Court
#16 of 150 in Riga
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 112 in Riga
808 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 112 in Riga
613 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westa

Address: 5 Negu Str, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly Backpackers Planet Hostel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: £23 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Westa 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel of 3 rd category offers low-cost accommodation with modern comfort. Egually attractive for individual travelers, big groups and families. To guests it is offered car parking, internet-Wi-Fi using of kitchen and more.We offer to our guests 28 cosy and modern rooms: TWIN room, guadruple room, and also rooms with five and six beds(dormitories). Hostel is eguipped with elevator. For maximal convenience of our guests each room is eguipped with 24 hour connection with administrator and also with WC and shover. For an additional payment Backpackers Planet offer to our guests to eguipped room with cable TV, small fridge and mikrowave oven. For big groups Backpackers Planet organize early breakfasts and late suppers. Hotel is eguipped with 1 Handicapped room that is located opposite elevator doors. Room is intended for 2 persons and eguipped with special sanitary tehnician and handrails. Backpackers Planet offers you to visit our Beer Bar, where you can try Traditional Latvian " live" beer and various cold snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Westa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing