We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kmh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“kmh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Good, clean hotel. Good service, staff was very friendly and helpful.. Breakfast was excellent. I recommend.Walk to the old town was not long. Little stores walking distance from the hotel. Lido restaurant was nearby. Rooms was cleaned every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krist3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    210
    80
    8
    13
See reviews for
85
209
40
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Room was recently renovated, as well the hotel itself, all looked and felt like new. Room had a large double bed which was very comfortable. There was mini-safe, big cupboard, writing desk, small table and a chair in the room. Bathroom is small, but with bath.
Room was in the courtyard side and very sunny. Although the central heating was not on, the room was very warm (although it was not warm outside). Room had a local air-conditioning unit.
Breakfast buffet has a large variety of food and with breakfast you can have Latvian produced sparkling wine.

Hotel is located in the smaller street not too far from the center. It takes around 25min to walk to the Old Riga and sightseens. There is also public transportation nearby, so hotel is easily accessed by trolley-buses as well.

Beside all good things written above, and beside the fact that the hotel was fresh, clean and cozy, it should not ear more than 3 stars for following reasons:

There was no hot water. The higher the floor then less change to have hot water. Sometimes the water was warm enough to take quick refreshing shower, but sometimes it was freezing. In that sense you can’t understand the point of having the bath-tube in bathroom, since no-body could take a bath filled with cold water. Bathroom tiled floor was not heated, so temperature in bathroom was pretty chilly. There was no bathroom utensil like shampoo, shower-gel, and body-lotion etc, just liquid soup with smell of flower.

The promised free interne came and left on a free will. The speed was sometimes low even to download e-mails with attachments, connection got lost in continuous basis.

Serving the breakfast was kind a chaotic. The tables were not cleaned and full of used tableware. You literally had to clean the table for yourself. And because tables were not cleaned, there was a lack of clean glasses, plates etc. Seemed like the personnel in breakfast table had no much clue how to deal with the job in a proper manner. Of course on weekends the people do not go to have breakfast at 7am, but at 10am (breakfast was served till 11am) and of course there will be many people there at the same time, but it seemed like a huge surprise for the personnel who simply didn’t know how to act.

Part of the hotel is still under renovation, and on weekend morning you could hear someone drilling the walls.

Paid for the hotel 40eur per night and for that money we were satisfied with the value. But if would have paid over 55eur, I guess in such case there would not be value for the money, at least at the moment.

Room Tip: To be sure to have hot/warm water in bathroom, better to have room in the most possible lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRigaPalace, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for leaving a loyal comment!

It is vital for us to receive your review and opinion about the hotel’s existing advantages and it’s minuses as well. We had some problems with hot water for some period due to renovation works. At present time the problems with hot water is resolved and temperature is on the right degree.

We took appropriate actions to avoid all inconveniences which may be caused for our guests.

We are committed to providing the best service and make our guest stay enjoyable. If you have any further queries please be free to contact me on email address manager.gertrude@wellton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were a party of four couples visiting Riga for three nights from Sunday to Tuesday. The hotel was booked on previous reviews and we were not disappointed indeed during our visit a small bar was just opening next to the reception which improved the facilities especially coming back after the cold evening walkabouts. The staff were friendlly and helpful while the rooms were a good size with a well stocked mini bar offering excellent value. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom a decent size with good showers. I really enjoyed the breakfast with a wide range of food and drinks including champagne if you wanted it. As a group we really enjoyed Riga, which also offered value for money, and would have no hesitation recommending both the hotel and the city. The river and canal was frozen solid which illustrates the temperatures in mid March and one of our party went up to the coast and could not believe the sea had frozen too!

Room Tip: Higher you go up, better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brando2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Gertrude is a lovely hotel and great value. The room we had was very large, warm and cosy. The bed was really comfy and the room was nicely decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was great (there was even free champagne), though the staff did get a little overwhelmed on the busy weekend.

The hotel is a little way from the city centre, but this is not a bad thing. We walked to the old town in about 20 minutes (even late at night). The area is quiet and there are one or two restaurants and cheap supermarkets near by. The Lido restaurnt just down the street is a great canteen style restaurant that serves good, cheap Latvian food.

This hotel was great value and I would highly recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennynumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a 5-person sport club visiting the Gertrude on Feb 2013. Service was good, rooms were clean and it was really nice to get an early breakfast 30 mins before the "official" breakfast time. And very near to the hotel there is a Very Good place to eat and spend the evening, Lido Restaurant. Area is calm and the walk to the old town is not too long. I will come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTeravai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Having stayed in highly praised Hotel Centra the previous time, we didn’t expect much from this hotel as it was much more modestly rated. And so during our stay we couldn’t help ourselves comparing the two. In our opinion, Gertrude beats Centra on almost all the fronts. It’s got much more character and style, the breakfast is far superior, it’s less noisy and more budget friendly. It would be almost perfect … if only teleported closer to the center. Alas, it is situated outside the old town in rather meaningless part of the city and long walks in the cold spoil all the fun. For those who found themselves stuck in the same district, we would like to list what can be found down the same street: Latvian self-service eatery Lido, Georgian restaurant Marani, Italian place Olive, bakery Martina Bekereja, and two food stores Rimi and Maxima, both 300 meters away. In any case, taxi to the center is only around 3 lats.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Room was clean and nice but hot. Air condition did not work. There was a fan in the room. Receptionist told that air condition doesn't work because hotel was full. Breakfast was below average and very small breakfast room. Had to wait some time for table. Trolleybus goes in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miveliino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Gertrude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Gertrude Hotel

Property: Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Address: Gertrudes iela 70, Riga 1009, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Gertrude Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#22 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Gertrude Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel is located within the central area of the Riga city in a nineteenth century Art Nouveau style building, which was restored recently. The Hotel offers 79 bright and spacious rooms with excellent soundproofing. All this make Rixwell Gertrude Hotel attractive for Riga guests and travelling families with children. Riga is an amazing city with European heritage and authentic charm. Its visitors are simply destined to fall in love with its parks, churches, canals and Art Nouveau buildings. Make sure that for your stay in Riga you choose a place that speaks the same language with the city and its people. Whether you are visiting Riga for business, leisure, social or family purpose, in Rixwell Gertrude Hotel we are commited to providing you with the highest quality of hotel services! We know that little things do matter when you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Gertrude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fg Gertrude Riga City Centre Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing