We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thus is a 3 star hotel at best. It is a long way from the old town in quite a run down area. We paid for a deluxe room with 'city view' the room was huge but we had a view of the internal courtyard. The receptionist said there is no cityview just a street view which isnt very pretty so don't waste your money. The breakfast was good,plenty of choice. The bar is a joke and the receptionist is expected to do both. He was the only person on duty on a busy Friday night. I wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linpinGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent visit.
We are pleased that you found so many positive aspects that you enyoed during your stay with us, but equally disappointed that there were some things not to your liking and we would like to express our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have perceived in our standarts of service or facilities.
Once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope that all things considered you will decide to revisit Wellton Gertrude Hotel in future.

Kindest Regards

Matiss Cesnieks
Assistant Marketing manager
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Completed a 5 night stay one week ago and were pleased with the service, the room, secured parking and the very complete breakfast. The renovation going on in another part of the hotel was not a bother though the stairs which were used by the workers were not as clean as the rest of the hotel - this did not hamper our stay in any way. Close enough to city center and the Art Nouveau District, the extra couple of blocks is worth the cost savings. Comfortable beds, updated en-suite bath, WiFi and refrigerator. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at the Wellton Gertrude Hotel.
We apprecite your feedback regarding your stay. At the Wellton Gertrude Hotel, we continuosly strive to meet your needs and expectations: therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back at one of Wellton Hotels.

Kindest Regards
Wellton Hotel Group
Matiss Cesnieks
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

6 of us stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013 for my stag weekend! This is a small hotel but is well looked after. The rooms and bathrooms my group had were all recently renovated and were everything we needed. Bed was comfy, bathroom was nice, there was also a TV and a minibar.

The hotel isn't too far from the airport and is a short walk from the centre of Riga, maybe 10 or 15 minutes. To walk this in the day time is fine and it's quite a nice walk but we got a taxi back on the nights which was around 7lats (£8.50ish) to be on the safe side.

Hotel staff were efficient enough, never smiled at us much,but we were on a stag do so either they were just jealous or we annoyed them...

Breakfast is buffet style and had a good selection of cooked and continental items. The lobby has some nice sofas to relax on and there is a small bar there too. Hotel also has free wifi which we had in our rooms and not just the lobby.

To sum up this hotel is a great place to stay for the price bracket and we thought we got really good value for money. Riga is an amazing city with enough to keep you occupied for a weekend and offers cool nightlife with plenty of pubs and clubs and if that's not your thing there is plenty of history to look at instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your letter and for your kind words regarding your stay at the Wellton Gertrude Hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of high standard, especially hotel services. We would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our room amenities and breakfast buffet food quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. It is a wonderful hotel; everywhere is immaculately clean and tidy. Room was large with a really comfortable bed. Great breakfast with both hot and cold buffet and the coffee is superb. There is a little bar on the ground floor and a PC giving internet access. The staff were all helpful and friendly. And the whole thing was such wonderful value - we would certainly go back again.

It’s maybe a 25 minute walk to the old-town where there is an abundance of architecture and is full of restaurants and bars. If you don’t fancy walking that far, then 5 minutes north of the hotel is a tramway which takes you east to the old-town. You can buy a ticket good for unlimited travel on all public transport for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAMA-a1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standard. We would also like to thank you for comments about hotel amenities and team members who provided you with excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Wellton Gertude for 4 nights in Sept - location of hotel is a little out of the centre but only took us 20 minutes to walk into the old town so no real problem. Room was very compact but all newly redecorated and the bathroom was all new too. Very clean.
Breakfast was good - a wide variety of cooked and cold food with fruit and bread. Something for everyone.
Hotel is being refurbished at the moment so only half seems to be open while rest is being worked on. Noise didn't start till after 8:30 am so no problem there.
Staff all very helpful on reception.
Just one suggestion - coffee in room would have been nice - only tea is provided which is unusual.
Overall a good choice of hotel if you don't mind the walk into centre.
One piece of advice if you travel back to the airport by the Shuttle - order in plenty of time as ours was caught in heavy traffic and we only had a little time to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Our room on second floor was very small but newly redecorated and very clean. If you want more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanGenieXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standard. We would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our team members who provided you with excellent service.

Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of Wellton Group Hotels in the future.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend visit to Riga in July. The hotel is pleasant, I wouldn't say it's luxurious or anything, but is of a good quality for its price bracket. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, Vladamir always greeted us with a smile, and was happy to help with any queries (eg ordering us taxis, letting us know good places to go). The rooms were of average size and beds ok, the rooms appeared clean. The decor was nothing special, but again, I think it's about having the right expectations, so wouldn't mark the hotel down. Breakfast was a buffet, served in a large dining room, there was plenty on offer, both hot and cold, the only thing I didn't like was the 'lift' music being played in the background. The hotel is a little bit out from the centre of town, but is more than walkable. There is a small bar, downstairs by reception and the rooms had mini bars in (at reasonable prices). One minor point, which I'm hoping will be resolved is that I left an item behind, and made initial contact with the hotel, which they responded once, but they have not continued to follow up on my subsequent emails, I'd like to think the good service we received while staying would be extended. Overall, I think this hotel is a good place to stay if you're looking for good value for money, aren't expecting a five star hotel, but want good friendly service in a decent hotel. I would not have a problem recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeeterskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to learn how much enjoyed your stay at Wellton Gertrude Hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Custumer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to recieve such praise.

Once again thank you for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of Wellton Group Hotels.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is situated a bit away from the tourist attractions. It turned out to be a good thing since the walk to the old town was interesting with a lot of stores and shops which you probably wouldn't have found othervise.
Our room on the top floor was spacious and very clean with a nice view over the city. We had some issues with the AC, it wasn't cool enough. There was a big fan to help out.
The breakfast was ok (they did have sparkling wine though!) and the staff was very friendly.
The bus station was located just outside the front door.

Room Tip: We loved our room at the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review of your experience at Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

We are delighted to read that Wellton Gertrude Hotel has made a wonderful impression with you.Thank you for highlighting the hotel location and services. Gertrude Hotel is primary residential area and the hotel is within walking distance to the wonderful restaurants, bars and shops that near area has to offer.

Once again, we would like to thank You for sharing Your feedback. We look forward to welcoming You back at Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 110 in Riga
600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
2.1 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 110 in Riga
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#38 of 110 in Riga
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 110 in Riga
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Gertrude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Gertrude Hotel

Address: Gertrudes iela 70, Riga 1009, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Gertrude Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#22 Business Hotel in Riga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £12 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Gertrude Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel is located within the central area of the Riga city in a nineteenth century Art Nouveau style building, which was restored recently. The Hotel offers 79 bright and spacious rooms with excellent soundproofing. All this make Rixwell Gertrude Hotel attractive for Riga guests and travelling families with children. Riga is an amazing city with European heritage and authentic charm. Its visitors are simply destined to fall in love with its parks, churches, canals and Art Nouveau buildings. Make sure that for your stay in Riga you choose a place that speaks the same language with the city and its people. Whether you are visiting Riga for business, leisure, social or family purpose, in Rixwell Gertrude Hotel we are commited to providing you with the highest quality of hotel services! We know that little things do matter when you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Gertrude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fg Gertrude Riga City Centre Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing