We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice standard hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Kielce
Level Contributor
387 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice standard hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Wellton Gertrude hotel is well located. From the railway station you can quickly get to by public as well as on foot. The service friendly and helpful. Hotel high. Rooms clean, beds comfortable basically equipped. Similarly to the bathroom. WiFi working correctly. Unfortunately, on the minus breakfast - like a nice variety but for us it was not a good thing. To sum up - the average quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you had an overall positive experience with our service. While we wouldn`t underestimate the importance of a cup of coffee in the morning, most of our guests would like to see wide choice of drinks and food.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you soon again.

KInd regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager
Wellton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    210
    80
    8
    13
See reviews for
85
209
40
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Two couples visited hotel in march, worried when booked as only 3 stars and some of the reviews were not brilliant, but there was no need to have any concerns I think it is probably under rated should be a four star, spotless clean, breakfast was fine location good and friendly staff. I have travelled quite a bit over the years and stayed in everything from tents to 5 star quality hotels and can say this is a hotel I would return to if I went to riga again, would hesitate to recommend it. You get what you pay for at the end of the day and for what we paid we received a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great value hotel about 20 minutes walk from old town or only 5 euro in a taxi

The hotel rooms were basic but nice and featured tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, iron, hair dryer, desk, safe, aircon and modern bathroom.

The staff on reception were very friendly too and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajh0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice clean hotel a little out of town,friendly staff and nice breakfast selection. 15 mins from the main train station on foot.
No 1 trolley bus takes you direct into oldtown,however the walk is not too bad either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I was there with my boyfriend and we are quite happy about this hotel. Rooms are not very big but it is enough for several days.. Bed was very soft :)) You have to wait for about 15min if you want to have hot water in 5th floor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sima Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived late as we got confused getting there.
Hotel should provide better directions to get to the hotel. As once you are there it is quite easy and the tram ride is easier than the bus.
Breakfast was quite good but can be crowded.
They gave us the wrong key when we arrived and that room was large and fresh (air con)
Our room was small and aircon not working - they could not provide a fan to cool the room..
Once orientated the hotel is in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Room was simple but clean and warm. Bathroom is very nice: spacious, bright, warm, with bathroom and shower in it. Good food for breakfast. Allocated a bit away from the hotel , but there is a lot of public transportation available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Gertrude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Gertrude Hotel

Property: Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Address: Gertrudes iela 70, Riga 1009, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Gertrude Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#22 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Gertrude Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel is located within the central area of the Riga city in a nineteenth century Art Nouveau style building, which was restored recently. The Hotel offers 79 bright and spacious rooms with excellent soundproofing. All this make Rixwell Gertrude Hotel attractive for Riga guests and travelling families with children. Riga is an amazing city with European heritage and authentic charm. Its visitors are simply destined to fall in love with its parks, churches, canals and Art Nouveau buildings. Make sure that for your stay in Riga you choose a place that speaks the same language with the city and its people. Whether you are visiting Riga for business, leisure, social or family purpose, in Rixwell Gertrude Hotel we are commited to providing you with the highest quality of hotel services! We know that little things do matter when you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Gertrude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fg Gertrude Riga City Centre Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing