We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel- but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is a 15 minutes walk to the old town although a variety of public transport can be used to get there, including the number 1 trolleybus which stops outside the hotel. The staff at the hotel spoke very good English and tried to be helpful. I had paid for a deluxe room as reading other reviews the standard rooms are very small. The day I arrived the temperature in Riga had been around 30 degrees centigrade. On walking into my room it was like a sauna, but I was pleased to see an air-conditioning unit on the wall. Unfortunately I couldn't get this to work! I also noticed the space for a minibar was empty. I went down to reception but as it was late they couldn't get any one to look at the room. He provided a fan to help us sleep. Unfortunately I didn't sleep well due to the heat. The next day we went out all day expecting our problems with the room to be fixed.... but they hadn't! Down to reception again, only to be told the hotel was having the air-conditioning upgraded and anyway it wouldn't be turned on till July (despite the literature in the room stating otherwise). After a little discussion we were upgraded to a suite which we were told would have working air conditioning..... but it didn't, however as it was not directly south facing it was a little cooler. The deluxe rooms have a kettle but not coffee or creamer and mainly fruit teas. Our original room had a shower but the suite had a very nice bath. Breakfast was of a good standard with a variety of dishes, however the breakfast room is rather cramped and it is difficult to get through it when people are sitting at the tables.
This all sounds very negative, but I did enjoy my stay and this hotel has the potential to be excellent. Riga is an interesting city and I found the people to be very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbobtun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here recently in a triple room. Lots of space, clean and good bathroom. Lots of choice at breakfast and about a 20 min walk from the Old Town, all very easy to navigate!

The only negative was the air conditioning was not very good and we were there a hot weekend! Happily the windows opened but maybe the aircon could be updated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SXD515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Wellton Gertrude in May 2014. The room was a bit small (room 212) but otherwise fine. clean and spacious bathroom with shower+tub. Quiet area about 15 minutes walk from the Old Town. Bus 1 minute away if you're feeling lazy. Good breakfast with eggs, sausages, bacon, pancakes, cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc... And sparkling wine :) Helpful staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel from 24 to 27 April 2014.
First, it was confusing and difficult to locate the breakfast room which was the far side of the building from my room and down a flight of stairs. Secondly, the breakfast room is very small and cramped, and the breakfast choice was very limited with the only hot food consisting of eggs.
Fourthly, I most disappointed and annoyed at check-out to be charged an additional ten euros for cleaning a so-called dirty hand towel, which in fact had only a tiny mark on it from brown corrector cream. When I asked to see the towel I was told this had been sent for cleaning and I was made to feel like a liar because I had queried the extra charge. The receptionist was unsympathetic and unfriendly and the incident cast a dark shadow over my entire stay. Folk staying in this hotel need to be wary of such extra charges which do not appear to be publicised. I have never experienced this practice before in hotels in Riga or elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank intabergmane886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We are very sorry and surprised to hear about the inconveniences caused. Please accept our apologies. Your comments were forwarded to the relevant departments so we would be able to take necessary steps in improving services and facilities.
Despite to the incoveniences caused, we hope that you will give us a chance to restore your faith in us by visiting one of our properties.

Sincerely,
Olga Stavinska
Public Relations Manager
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very nice and cozy hotel in quiet area.
The old building makes you feel like in castle )
Room is big enough and high ceilings are perfect to enjoy your stay.
Walk to the city center - 15-25 min.
Friendly stuff and delicios breakfast even with champagne in the morning - what a nice surprise! )

Room Tip: room facing back yard is defenetely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jevgenija111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed several time in this hotel in 2013. Very good value for money. Confortable and spacious rooms, quiet. 15-20 minutes walk from the old town but public transport is nearby and a taxi cost less than 8 euros to get there. A few issues though with a young girl from reception that spoiled a bit my stay. Other members of the staff are all very helpfull and friendly. My second better option in Riga.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Wellton Gertrude hotel is well located. From the railway station you can quickly get to by public as well as on foot. The service friendly and helpful. Hotel high. Rooms clean, beds comfortable basically equipped. Similarly to the bathroom. WiFi working correctly. Unfortunately, on the minus breakfast - like a nice variety but for us it was not a good thing. To sum up - the average quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you had an overall positive experience with our service. While we wouldn`t underestimate the importance of a cup of coffee in the morning, most of our guests would like to see wide choice of drinks and food.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you soon again.

KInd regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 112 in Riga
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 112 in Riga
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 112 in Riga
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 112 in Riga
949 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Gertrude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Gertrude Hotel

Address: Gertrudes iela 70, Riga 1009, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Gertrude Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#22 Business Hotel in Riga
#23 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £27 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Gertrude Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel is located within the central area of the Riga city in a nineteenth century Art Nouveau style building, which was restored recently. The Hotel offers 79 bright and spacious rooms with excellent soundproofing. All this make Rixwell Gertrude Hotel attractive for Riga guests and travelling families with children. Riga is an amazing city with European heritage and authentic charm. Its visitors are simply destined to fall in love with its parks, churches, canals and Art Nouveau buildings. Make sure that for your stay in Riga you choose a place that speaks the same language with the city and its people. Whether you are visiting Riga for business, leisure, social or family purpose, in Rixwell Gertrude Hotel we are commited to providing you with the highest quality of hotel services! We know that little things do matter when you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Gertrude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fg Gertrude Riga City Centre Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing