We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel or Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hotel or Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

An excellent hotel very centrally located, ideal for tourists. Close to all bars, restaurants and cultural sites. The rooms are well appointed and fitted with quirky artwork and theatre props. the staff are very friendly and helpful and speak perfectr English. Iwould thoroughly recommend and stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: We booked a taxi to take us to and from the airport, when we booked a walking tour and a full day Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faldereee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    254
    68
    12
    10
See reviews for
101
279
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
419 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and found this hotel to be fantastic. Our room on the top floor was very cosy, comfortable and quite quaint with its unique touches. The staff were so friendly, helping us to plan our day trip to Sigulda by looking up the train timetables for us and even printing out a map as well as helping us to check in online for our flight. It is very centrally located near all of the interesting sights in Riga and there's no shortage of restaurants nearby. We ate at the restaurant (Aleks) one night and the food was delicious and quite reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast was also very tasty with a good selection of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at Hotel Justus for three nights and had a generally positive experience.

On arrival, we were put in a room (502) with a large air-conditioning unit outside the window; this was quite noisy, and we asked to be moved, but were told the hotel was full. We had a poor night's sleep because of noise, and moved the next day to a much quieter, albeit smaller, room. Still, I'd rather have quiet than space.

The hotel has bags of character, with lots of quirky touches, and a good degree of comfort. Rooms don't have wi-fi, but the reception and bar areas do, and anyway, Riga is full of places offering free wi-fi, so it wasn't a major issue for us. Service was polite and efficient, and with its location in the heart of the old city, it's a great base for exploring Riga.

Room Tip: Although room 502 was an excellent size, we found it too noisy. We moved to 302, which was smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed here for one night breaking up a trip from Lithuania back to the UK. The staff were courteous and the room was superb. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatterinleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
540 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is in a very secluded part of the inner city, the street has a couple of quaint restaurants and the no 1 jugend hotel nearby. The rooms seem to vary quite a bit in size, ours was fine with an large bathroom with a good shower cabinet. The TV was somewhat small and the only english language channel is CNN. The beds are soft enough but on the small side. Everything was very clean and the interior decoration of the common areas is really original and inspiring (see photos). The breakfast table is good to my mind, youghurt, eggs, some russian specialities (I think), cheese, ham etc. There is some hot food as well. The only problem for us was that on the morning the kitchen staff had not arrived so we had to wait for half an hour. A consequence of this was that all the stuff did not arrive to the serving area until we were finished.
The price of the room was modest, 62 lats per night (ca 85 euro).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Housed in a building with much history , tastefully renovated in 2009, and In an excellent position for visitng Riga,, staff were friendly & helpful - & the rooms were comfortable and spacious . . Highly recommended! The ONLY' downside' was that the wardrobe in our room ( 217) was rather small - OK for staying a couple of nights - but for 2 people for a week,, a little cramped.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for 4 nights - great refurbishment of old building..the best thing is it is actually facing Hotel Neiburgs, yet it's half the price!
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, Aleks restaurant offers hotel guests a discount if they eat there. Best value on Jauniela street!
Great location, a stone's throw from where all the live music is, but still very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finnscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing